riddle

Mom emailed this riddle, entitled “A Riddle for Seniors”:

You are on a horse, galloping at a constant speed.

On your right side is a sharp drop-off.

On your left side is an elephant traveling at the same speed as you.

Directly in front of you is a galloping kangaroo and your horse is unable to overtake it.

Behind you is a lion running at the same speed as you and the kangaroo.

What must you do to get out of this highly dangerous situation?

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

Get off the merry-go-round and go home!!

(Yeah sure, you didn’t try to solve it like I did!  If you tell me your answer, I’ll tell you mine!)

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neowatercolour
    May 07, 2013 @ 09:05:28

    Being no good at riddles, I cheated and read to the end first :-) Great riddle though L, it made me smile :-))) xx

    Reply

  2. minlit
    May 07, 2013 @ 11:37:01

    I thought the solution would be to wake up :)

    Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    May 07, 2013 @ 13:33:06

    Oh man. Fell for it! I was trying to pack the lion in the elephant’s trunk and figure out something about ‘hopping to it’ for the roo…

    Reply

  4. nadbugs
    May 08, 2013 @ 04:32:41

    Levitate. That was what I wanted to do. I feel that way a lot, about life. Levitate right out of it. Doesn’t often work. Especially not on merry-go-rounds. You hit the roof. I do that a lot anyway. Merry-go-round or no merry-go-round.

    Horse walks into a bar.

    Bartender: “Why the long face?”

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 08, 2013 @ 06:26:32

      For the longest time with that joke, I always felt sad that the horse was so sad. Never mind that he was in a bar…. >:-D

      It was like that, the joke, wasn’t it? — “Aw c’mon, this is too much to figure out. I’d rather just disappear….” And at the roof, those lights are poky and hot. Sigh….

      Reply

  5. Shakti Ghosal
    May 08, 2013 @ 06:01:08

    Tough riddle and one had to cheat by looking at the end! My answer otherwise would have been, ” Be where you are.” You are safe since everyone is moving at the same speed.

    Shakti

    Reply

  6. iceace
    May 08, 2013 @ 06:05:24

    I’d leap from my horse onto the back of the elephant and let the lion eat my horse! That was before I found out about the merry-go-round!

    Reply

  7. Pix Under the Oaks
    May 08, 2013 @ 06:38:07

    I just scrolled down and then I laughed.. :)

    Reply

  8. Dianda
    May 19, 2013 @ 05:54:09

    I’m not good at riddles!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

