poppy heads

Jude of Jude’s Photography over in the Dordogne in southwest France (“surrounded by beauty in the form of wildlife, rivers, medieval villages and châteaus”), recently posted a photo of Oriental poppies.  Gorgeous!

I love the color!  Orangey-red.  Yum.  Here’s a poppy just opening from last year in my garden:

poppy hat

poppy hat

Here is the state of my poppies right now, a sunny day in mid-April:

poppy fronds

poppy fronds

early spring poppy head

early spring poppy head

poppy head

poppy head

 

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 10000hourstobe
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 22:12:09

    I’ll never think of poppy heads the same way (smile). Thanks for giving us something beautiful to look at.

    Reply

  2. Jude
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 01:44:07

    Absolutely fabulous! You can out out-shine that poppy any day! Await more poppy ‘openings’.

    Reply

  3. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 04:56:54

    Hee hee… A poppy head… I love it! :-)

    Reply

  4. Jude
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 07:37:49

    I want to know why you where ‘lurking’ under those leaves in that last picture?!

    Reply

  5. Pix Under the Oaks
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 12:49:48

    I love it! How fun!!!! It is nice to see YOU and your Poppy Head.. :)

    Reply

  6. Pix Under the Oaks
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 12:50:49

    Your Poppy color matches them Boots!

    Reply

  7. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 17:39:05

    Oh, gosh, I had forgotten about the poppies in front of the house we just sold. We will miss them this year. By the way, LOVE your hair.

    Sorry to have been away so much recently. I’ve been busy moving, moving, moving. We leave for Ecuador two weeks from today!

    I promise an actual post tomorrow! It’s been nearly two months since I’ve written. Yikes! I’ve missed your posts!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  8. Dianda
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 08:17:05

    Wait, where are you in those pictures?! I can’t see you!

    Reply

  9. IsobelandCat
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 06:09:54

    Gorgeous.
    BTW, and quite off topic, have you heard of James Pennebaker at the University of Texas and his work on the healing powers of expressive writing? I heard a programme on the radio about ten days ago and it was fascinating. It may be available on the BBC World Service.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 22, 2013 @ 07:00:57

      Hi Isobel! Thank you! <:-D

      No, I haven't heard of the work you mention. I will go search it out. Thank you for sharing.

      Your comment from some time ago has been heavy on my mind–that I have been healing myself through reading, writing, and art–c'est tout!

      It seems a rather spare list compared to the over-action and over-intervention of modes of modern medicine. But then I *see* those three words–reading, writing, art–and realize that those words are the core of me.

      Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 22, 2013 @ 07:23:34

      I found an article, Isobel: http://www.utexas.edu/features/2005/writing/.

      I agree absolutely with the wisdom–all those very painful efforts I made to organize my thoughts into writing helped me move from phase to phase…. and kept me grounded by understanding myself a bit…. so that I could do something besides think how horrible things were….

      Reply

      • IsobelandCat
        Apr 22, 2013 @ 09:50:20

        In the programme he said we needed to tell ourselves the story of our trauma, to put it into a framework that was coherent and enabled us to understand. Or something like that. I don’t want him commenting here and saying i have it completely wrong! Not sure that you can access this http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01rrc11

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 22, 2013 @ 11:13:46

          Yes, got to listen to it. Makes perfect sense–especially about the *ineffectiveness* of keeping a daily diary that can turn into the rumination he talks about (whingeing, really).

          I don’t suppose you would have the wherewithal to write a post about it? I’d then be cheeky enough to re-blog your post and hope others would too. I’d like to spread the word, but I’m just too tired right now.

          In my Google search, I saw he is collecting data by providing online exercises–like this one: http://secretlifeofpronouns.com/exercises.php.

          Reply

          • IsobelandCat
            Apr 22, 2013 @ 13:53:35

            Double wow. Firstly because you can hear it your side of the pond, and secondly for the online exercises. I mean to listen to it again, maybe a brief intro and a link to the programme? I only heard part of it because I was driving to see Mother.

            Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 22, 2013 @ 14:10:49

          I know–I was so amazed that the player worked for me over here! yaaaaay!

          That link was only one place I saw those exercises. Here’s one more: http://homepage.psy.utexas.edu/homepage/faculty/pennebaker/Home2000/JWPhome.htm.

          There are several menus at the bottom with those exercises, etc. Even a way to submit one’s writing.

          Yes–your idea –a brief intro and why we should be interested in the links! Thanks, Isobel!

          Reply

  10. Trackback: healing powers of expressive writing: James Pennebaker | Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

