lawyers, guns, and music

Friday afternoon, Big Mister arrives home from work, tired both because he worked hard all week and because he is fighting this season’s Weird I Want to Lie Down Right Now Cold.

Right about then, I got a surge of inspiration to go back to the art table, which would make it twice in one day–unheard of!   Of course, had to change clothes because I always get paint on myself.  Stopped by the laundry nook and–no. no. no!–there was water on the floor around the washer and near the hot water heater.

Well, hell, right now I’m not the most flexible tool in the crayon box, so did an unfocused Eddie Izzard dance–go to the art table there or clear up the mess and further investigate here.  Boing-boing.   Rats-buttocks, will have to stay with the watery-doom mess.

{Aggggghhh, I have a tiny window to give myself the gift of art and I have to do this?!  (Yes, self-centered, thankyouverymuch!)}

Kind of moaning to Big about the water–he had only been home 10 minutes and was sitting finally–how unfair!  He sat for a few more minutes, no doubt grumbling inside his head as would be correct, then came over to the wetness, sighed, and said he was going to need music for this.

From the CD player came Warren Zevon, a singer/songwriter (plus conductor!) with a macabre bent I became familiar with in the late 1970s, with songs like Werewolves of London and titles stranger still.  He would have understood Edward Gorey well, maybe collected his art.

Just that morning, I had paused with my coffee, wondering if I should go turn on a CD and see what would happen, if I’d have room for Baroque chorale along with the computer and coffee-sipping.  Nope.  Move along, nothing to see here.  14 months removed from my music….

After I’d done basic cleanup, Big did the heavy lifting to get the machine torqued out of its tiny corner to sit on the back porch.  We figured to let the water show itself from either the washer or water heater, so I returned to my starting place and fiddled with Art.   Big once more got to sit down.

Suddenly, I looked up at Big where, eyes round with surprise, he was grinning at me:  in time to the music, I had, unknowingly, been dancing in my chair, arms waving, maybe singing along!  Long astonished gaze.  Promptly burst into tears of relief so great that only a release like a champagne cork improperly removed would do.

Warren Zevon, “Lawyers, Guns, and Money” from his 1978 album, “Excitable Boy.”  The refrain is:

I’m an innocent bystander
Somehow I got stuck
Between a rock and a hard place
And I’m down on my luck
Oh yea, I’m down on my luck
Oh yea, I’m down on my luck
Oh baby, I’m down on my luck
I’m so far down, I don’t think I’ll ever get up
If it weren’t for bad luck
Oh if it weren’t for bad luck
I wouldn’t have no luck at all

Maybe I’ve graduated to the fancy crayon box with the built-in sharpener?!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 12:55:21

    Chair dancing is under-rated. Off to check off this Zevon. Sounds like he should be in a computer game. :)

    Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 15:01:48

    Bring us lawyers, guns and money! and…ah-oooooo! Werewolves of London :) Yes, ma’am, I do indeed know the tunes :) Glad he brought some bop to your bum :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 07:14:58

      my bum bopness has been broken for so long that I was REALLY surprised! <:-D There's something very funny to me about re-discovering music through Warren Z instead of my 16th century stuff!

      Reply

  3. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 15:02:02

    Chair dancing and gratitude. Great things to share! I know I had a big smile on my face by the end of the post… Have a great Sunday!

    Reply

  4. Jude
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 05:08:34

    Boy was I worried when I saw this post title! I reversed it to Music, Guns & Lawyers, and thought you’d been plagued by neighbors with loud music to such a point that you’d shot them! Hence needing a lawyer! And then I read you’ve simply discovered chair-dancing! Amazing the wonderful things a leaky washer can bring in to your life. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 07:16:52

      hahaaa–that *I’d* shot someone! quite a leap of imagination! yikes!

      yes, thank goodness for a puddle of water in front of the dreaded *appliances*! <:-D

      Reply

  5. Pix Under the Oaks
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 05:28:40

    The visual of you dancing and rockin’ to music in your chair has me laughing and doing my own happy dance for you! I have to check out this Zevon person. Anybody with a name like Warren Zevon has got to be cool!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2013 @ 07:20:59

      Warren Zevon was a character. His death at 56 seems so damn unfair. Click around on different songs and tell me what you’ve discovered. He may not be for everyone!

      I wish I had a photo of my face when I realized what I’d been doing, Pix. Big took especial care to tell me a couple of different ways that he was going to turn on some music. I figured that I’d stop the art if I had to…. but oh joy! Music!

      Thanks for sharing your happy dance with me. Newer visitors would be wondering what all the fuss is about, but I appreciate so much that you old-timers know this is a big deal.

      Reply

  6. IsobelandCat
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 05:23:19

    Oh frabtious day!

    Reply

  7. speccy
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 08:05:47

    Hurrah! I can feel your joy from here :) What great news!!

    Reply

  8. Pamela Goode
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 12:39:12

    This makes me happy!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

