winter bones of herbs and ornamental grasses

A seed-head sangwich!

I read about encasing bits and pieces in a sandwich of rice paper, so I did.  (The book:  Creative Collage Techniques, by Nita Leland and Virginia Lee Williams.)

collage instructions for embedding rice paper

collage instructions for embedding rice paper

rice paper embedded with grass seed heads etc.

rice paper to be encased with ornamental grass seed heads and the winter bones of herbs

layering rice paper

layering rice paper

embedded rice paper

encasing rice paper

sandwiched with brayer

sandwiched with brayer

embedded and turned over

embedded and turned over for a different effect

finished embedded rice paper

finished embedded rice paper

 

And just because I wanted to, circle stickers stuck to onion skin wrong-side-to.

circle stickers embedded in onion skin paper

circle stickers on onion paper

circle stickers on onion skin paper

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pix Under the Oaks
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:10:27

    L the leaves in the rice paper! Awesome! Truly beautiful.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:28:47

      I enjoyed roaming around the winter yard several weeks ago. One of the reasons I love the ornamental grasses is the seed heads that last right through winter, providing food for the birds.

      Reply

  2. neowatercolour
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:45:52

    dem bones,dem bones, as the saying goes – really great work L, I’m so impressed and I can just imagine you roaming around :-) love it also that you provide food for the birds, me too ! :-) xx

    Reply

  3. lahgitana
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:55:32

    oooh, dem bones! how fun! <:-D

    I do love my garden and am thankful every time I'm out there in one area or another. Always something new to look at. Even this spring, when I probably won't do much except minor clean up, I watch the daily changes. All winter I've watched the birds flit around, some quite close to my window….

    how do you provide food for the birds? Do you have a stick-on window feeder for Max? And how is the little fighter?!

    Reply

    • neowatercolour
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 02:12:37

      my bird food has to be high up, out of Max’ reach (which is extensive !) and involves me going up a ladder :-) he does prefer mice and squirrels to birds, thankfully, although having a live squirrel brought into the house can be “interesting”. I’ve never come across Onion Skin paper btw – a really fascinating post L :-) V xx

      Reply

      • lahgitana
        Mar 21, 2013 @ 08:21:18

        bwahahahahahahahahaha! “interesting”!! No! With Max chasing it because his gift to you got away?! hahahahahah no no no!

        Going up the ladder?! Oh dear. Lucky birds, then.

        Onion skin paper used to be used for typing back in the olden days of my youth. Very thin so all those damn carbon copies would imprint. I’m sure this is pretend onion. <:-D (OK, OK, it wasn't onion skin back then; it's called that because of the similarity to onion skin!)

        Here's a site I found while nosing around–a quick explanation. http://www.thepapermillstore.com/paper/onion-skin-paper

        Hi VeeHeeHeeHee!

        Reply

  4. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 17:42:11

    Wow, I simply LOVE the leaves in the rice paper, L!! Hugs to you!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 18:01:11

      Hi Ivy! How ARE you?!

      The idea for the embedded rice paper was to cut it up and use in collage. I like it much better in a window with the sun shining through…. !!

      Reply

  5. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 18:14:06

    Hi, dearest L! How else could I be? Busy as a busy, busy bee! LOL
    Thanks for asking though :-)
    Yup, I can totally see that with the Sun shining through…

    Reply

  6. ailurous
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 05:56:47

    I love the one with the leafs!

    Reply

  7. jacquiefioramonti
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 10:58:14

    That is so effective. I can just imagine the leaves and seeds one framed would look stunning on my wall :)

    Reply

  8. Jude
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 14:16:05

    Incredibly delicate work L!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 16:15:46

      Hi there Miss Jude–I hadn’t thought of it that way–it was quite a rough and tumble affair doing it. Plus kinda squishy! It looks delicate, doesn’t it?

      Reply

  9. speccy
    Mar 22, 2013 @ 03:20:26

    I love these :)

    Reply

  10. IsobelandCat
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 13:31:19

    Really like these, looks like you are having some fun experimenting. Where will it end? :)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

