dooodling

In those early November days in the garage studio, freezing my a&& off, I learned to doodle from an enthusiastic and talented doodler who generously posted her techniques online (Joanne Fink, Zenspirations Patterning Techniques).

I remembered that I’m not a natural doodler, but I’ve begun to see how it could add something to an already painted page.

doodling

doodling (on canvas sheets)

At one daily show-and-tell after Big came home from work, I showed him that I had learned to doodle.   He told me I already knew how to do this and pointed to the beaded curtain I had made some years ago:

beaded curtain

I kept messing with doodling, using those markers, color pencils, and Micron pens I’d gathered for landscape design school:

Fibonacci's Spiral; golden mean

Fibonacci’s Spiral; golden ratio (the flip side of the first doodle)

If you’re curious about the Fibonacci’s Spiral or the golden ratio, this site looked great.  Don’t get bogged down by the words–look at the pictures and especially watch the little animations at the beginning.

Nature and mathematics or perfectly-harmonious-but-I-don’t-know-why architecture:  who’d-a thunk it?!  <:-D

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. speccy
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 12:45:57

    I never quite understand maths, but it’s pretty awesome :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 26, 2013 @ 12:49:20

      It IS, isn’t it? Just knowing something is off in a piece of architecture, but not sure why.

      Or, seeing a basic being of the world, a shell, being expressed in mathematics. !!

      Reply

  2. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 14:47:15

    Very cool L, the little animated thing reminded me of blocks of chocolate.
    I was terrible at math.

    Reply

  3. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 15:40:24

    Thanks, L. I went ahead and downloaded her samples and decided to spend my Saturday afternoon doodling for fun. Over and out, my friend.

    Reply

  4. Dianda
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 05:51:33

    The beads look like the first doodling!

    Reply

  5. jacquiefioramonti
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 10:55:48

    You’ve been a very busy bee lately. Wonderful stuff!

    Reply

  6. heretherebespiders
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 11:25:43

    Love it! Doodle on, Dudette!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 27, 2013 @ 14:17:49

      It’s not something I do when I’m just sitting around–never have doodled, but it was really keen to apply the doodling to the spiral. I’d like to remember more often to use it in my paintings, etc.

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Jan 27, 2013 @ 14:40:05

        Never spent a lot of time on the phone listening to eejits, then? Hahaha. My best doodles were done when I worked for a car dealership. Nowadays I have toys on my desk to play with and terrible pens.

        Reply

  7. Jude
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 12:52:24

    Hey Dude! That’s some clever dooooodling! Love it. :)

    Reply

  8. IsobelandCat
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 23:35:48

    Sounds as if your brain is in curious and creative mode Laurel. Good stuff.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 07:17:47

      Hi Isobel! Nice to see you here!

      Just a few weeks ago, I got an inkling of how the abstract work that’s coming out of me unbidden will apply to mosaics.

      When I sit at the art table, I notice feeling curious and creative even as I am still stashed behind a fog. Those moments keep me going during all the other long moments.

      Reply

      • IsobelandCat
        Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:09:56

        I got a nice quote from the woman I sit next to in my poetry class. She has a degree in fine art and says one of her tutors used to say ‘making comes before meaning’, so your unconscious brain gets a chance to express something before the conscous part starts to analyse it.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:16:31

          Makes perfect sense–art would be fraught every moment if we always worked to “meaning” instead of just making.

          And…. sometimes the conscious brain is a pain in the rump. just sayin’.

          Reply

  9. artistsgarden
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 10:11:55

    Lovely doodles!
    I am making an altered book this year as a garden journal – this post has nudged me to add doodles to the pages! :)
    K

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

