speaking of orange

Our good friend and artist, Victoria over at Neo Watercolour, posted a study in orange.  I love orange.  The world needs more!  Her post has inspired me to post.  (Well, too bad I crashed back in mid-December when she actually posted, but it’s never too late to celebrate color!)

lah orangeI had orange put in my hair recently.  That picture was taken at the park where we stayed for Thanksgiving.  I’m getting the orange renewed early next week and will probably feel as if I must show you all about it then!  Maybe even without a hat covering most of it.

We stopped at a thrift store on the way there to do some nosing around.  When we pulled in to park, some lazy-butt had left the trolley in a parking spot, so I jumped out into the cold rain to move it.  Grabbed the handles to shove it away, looked down, and there was a sodden, folded twenty dollar bill.  Good deeds!  Can never tell if you might get paid for ’em!  <:-D

In the shop, rooting through a pile of paper cast-offs, I became vaguely aware that a man had joined me on the other side of the same shelf.  He leaned over a bit toward me, and while staring at my hair, was getting ready to speak.

My mode switched from idle perusing to Oh buddy, don’t even bother me now.  You have no idea what I’ve been going through and if you start, I’m gonna scream.

He started anyway, despite my thought balloon dripping knives and blood.

Excuse me, but I had to tell you.  You shouldn’t have dyed your hair silver.

Blank look from me.

You should have left it orange.

My sudden gust of laughter at his cleverness.

Thanks for the tip!  What was I thinking?!

__________

PS.  If you aren’t familiar with Victoria’s painting, here is one that never fails to make me smile:  How to Sharpen Your Nose.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neowatercolour
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 07:18:30

    Brilliant anecdote, L, the chap in the Thrift Store has hit the nail on the head (he was brave to share his thought with you !!). Look forward to seeing more of your orange hair-do soon :-) best, Victoria xxx

    Reply

  2. linda adelaide
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 11:11:18

    I love the orange and recently did the same with pink! trouble is they don’t last, at least mine don’t. now i can’t at all because of MCS but love them. This is hysterical that he said you should have left your hair orange-how funny! Thanks for the smiles-i am off to see the neonwatercolors, sounds delish. xoxoxo

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 11:37:26

      can you use the temporary colors? they come in brush-tube that looks like a mascara tube….

      I hope you enjoy Neowatercolour. She has some great subjects.

      Reply

      • linda adelaide
        Jan 25, 2013 @ 12:45:13

        they seemed rather expensive but fun for special occasion. my hair is just stubborn to take color in general but loved my fuschia i was sporting for awhile! :) loved neowatercolour too….thanks for sharing! x

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 13:10:43

          I got mine at a beauty supply–about $10. I never used very much at a time…

          my hair seems to hang on and on to color–blue, purple, raccoon stripes, orange!

          Reply

  3. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 11:24:56

    Great post, L. Love your saucy expression in the photo. Orange looks amazing on you.

    Reply

  4. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 12:11:13

    LOL – What’s not to love about this post? Wonderful!
    I really like orange too and I definitely want to see your orange hair next week! ;-)

    Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 12:16:09

    Oh lots of things come to mind with this one! Let’s see – my sister has synesthesia and says my name is orange for her! I was a bit disappointed as it isn’t my favourite colour, but at least I’m not yellow. Second: our mom was a natural red-head and her hair was ORANGE. Not ‘red.’ I dyed mine red for over a decade after she died, but the Irish dye their red hair some other colour and I can’t buy real, orange hair dye here. So I stopped dying it and am in LOVE with my grey streak! Yer man was a brave soul, risking Knives and Blood like that, to pay what he didn’t even know was a compliment!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 13:07:39

      Oh me too, the synesthesia! But I hear odors! I was just talking this a.m. to an artist who has the color-synesthesia. So you’re orange….

      I always wondered about orange-heads being called redheads. why not just say orange?

      Apparently, the guy was willing to dodge the knives! Big Mister said the man was flirting with me, but naturally, I missed that entirely.

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Jan 25, 2013 @ 16:00:02

        Oh oh oh I am FASCINATED by synesthesia! I’m unclear – do you smell something when you hear, or hear something when you smell?

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 16:15:28

          it’s like this: if there is a strong smell, I have been known to clap my hands over my ears and say, Oh that stinks!

          I’ll email you a link to the artist I was talking about. You will be amazed!

          Reply

  6. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:10:09

    Cool! I think I love the guy in the thrift shop. Ding and dang, I can’t put any pretty colors in my hair cause it is brown brown boring brown but I am pretty damn happy to have it at all after it kept falling out all summer thru Fall because it couldn’t take the boat load of worrying I did! I am ready for a picture of you, no hat!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:20:45

      Oh me too! We’d been in the truck for a couple of hours and I was well beyond my limit for stimulation, about 1 hour and 50 minutes beyond. But he made me laugh!

      Oh dear, you’ve had a rough go of it, dear Pix. Look above for a comment about brush-on color, which is fun! And not damaging.

      Can’t believe I’ve set myself up for another picture. sigh…. !!

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:25:20

        I know!!! I know! I hate when I get myself all in a kerfuffle over saying I will do something in a post and then I PROcrastinate. I’m not worried about damaging my falling out hairs, I can’t put any color on that would show up on dark brown.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:36:40

          Yep, I’m going to skip the kerfuffle and get to the pic if I do…. it’s not as if anyone will be nagging me to post a picture! <:-D

          oh yeah–you need reverse highlights–how about silver?! dang, I was white/silver/etc by the time I was in my 30s. I remember having brown hair, though! Have your hairs begun to behave and stick with you now? That musta added to the distress.

          Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:44:51

          you can dye those gray ones! hahahahaha! a little o’ this and a little o’ that color! then clomp around in your Sorel’s and DARE anyone to say anything to you!

          Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:53:11

          The boots are beautemous! Pictures, girl! What fun to look forward to your boots on Monday.

          And yes, dye your hairs to match your boots. hee hee!

          Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 26, 2013 @ 07:11:49

          I had been watching Lovejoy, the 1980s BBC series based on the books by Jonathan Gash. I LOVE those books. A light mystery series based on antiques. He lives in East Anglia (UK), I think, about which I now know more because of Isobel!

          I LOVE Victoria’s cars! She had a red (?) Fiat 500 for a long time apparently…. Also, I like to imagine that that is her in her header painting! I know she has yellow hair!

          Reply

  7. FeyGirl
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 05:30:20

    hahahha!! i love it. fantastic. :)

    from sept – dec, i had bright BLUE (well, technically turquoise) in my hair!! i’ve been dying to get it back…. i’m convinced it helps my brain and creativity. now you’ve inspired me to get it done….ASAP!

    Reply

  8. Jude
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 12:37:17

    Love that pic of you. It’s full of fun and cheekiness – and go for orange girl! :)

    Reply

  9. IsobelandCat
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:12:34

    “my thought balloon dripping knives and blood”. it’s the way you tell ’em Laurel.
    For some reason I am not getting notifications when you post again, so will see what I have missed.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

