I’ve been ironing… paper

The paper gets curly from all that wet paint, and the iron isn’t being used for anything else anyway….

Odd story about this iron.  It’s new and shiny and even has a teflon plate, but I didn’t buy it.  Back a few months ago when I was messing with the mending (gasp!) and sewing, I was using my old iron as a helpful adjunct to sewing.   I kept noticing this weird sticky stuff on the fabric or the ironing board cover.  Turns out the feet in the heel plate were melting!

Upon writing to the Sunbeam people to ask whatthehell politely, they said:

  • it appeared the product was not operating as designed.  (!)
  • they’d send me a new iron!

Which they did.  Forthwith!  Amazing customer service!  No muss, no fuss, no telling me what an idiot consumer I was.  What a great experience!

So, anyway, there it sat not being used for ironing clothing….

acrylic abstract 14x17 inches

acrylic abstract 14×17 inches

The triangles come from a stamp I made out of foam core–the stuff that often backs framed art or photos.

It occurs to me that with abstract painting, it would be good to not frame the thing until purchased, and then frame it according to the customer’s vision.  Wouldn’t that be a gas?  (As it is, when I was working on the thing, I had it turned 180 degrees so the triangles were pointing down.)

We are amused at the audacious use of the word “purchased.”

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:10:21

    Hey YOU! Us quiet ones, flatliners as you say and a word I love with respect to NOT blogging, have got all chatty! Can you imagine that?
    I like your abstract!
    ~~We are amused at the audacious use of the word “purchased.”~~
    It could easily happen. Maybe you should find a name for it instead of “the Thing” you will be giving it some kind of complex.

    Reply

  2. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:19:27

    I just came upstairs to my office to find this lovely post, dear L. And wouldn’t you know, I had just been absently fingering a delicious art stamp made with string and foam core (one of my favorite gifts last season). I was attempting to see if I could lift the stamp (it is less than 1/4 inch thick) back up with my fingertips after having pressed it down onto paint. Haven’t actually dirtied the stamp with actual color yet, mind you. Just in the hover my big toe above the water before dunking my whole body in the river stage.

    I love, love, love this painting. Great layered background, thin lines, thick lines, bold orange, scarlet and aqua. My eyes keep roving round and round… Thanks for posting.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:29:39

      ah, go ahead and get paint on that stamp–I hope it’s not acting like a blank canvas!! I think I’m able to lift my stamps, girl… but I’m always so painty that I don’t think about it. hee hee

      that was a great last sentence in the first paragraph! made me laugh as I held my breath coming to the cold plunge at the end.

      thank you for kind words about The Thing. It all came together one morning last week….

      which reminds me: when will we see YOUR art on your blog?! yeah, yeah, I know you’re busy…. <:-D

      EVERYBODY! This is the artist who came over with books and inspiration last October. For me, my own self.

      Reply

  3. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:18:04

    I love this art you’re showing us!!! Plus I’m having a good laugh about imagining you ironing paper… I had never heard of that, but it makes perfect sense.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 10:33:43

      Thank you, Ivy. I have been busy two hours a day or so since November; imagine how many pages that could be! hee hee!

      As I iron, I keep looking at the teflon pad, sure I’m ruining it. I *know* I should put fabric between it and the painting, even if I am ironing on the unpainted side, but can’t be arsed (thank you to heretherebespiders for passing on those wholly wonderful 3 words of an Irish saying!).

      Reply

  4. Dianda
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:04:40

    I like this! Full of color and life!

    Reply

  5. Jude
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:07:38

    I definitely agree with the girls comments above – the *thing* needs a more respectable name! It did make me think of Pigs in Deep Space for a minute – something to do with the orange and red circles and the little wings! :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 14:14:42

      OK, will now have to turn it back the other way! Pigs in Deep Space! hahahahahaha!

      Here: hold your computer upside down — now do you have any other ideas for a name? <:-D

      Reply

      • Jude
        Jan 22, 2013 @ 03:51:40

        Now you’ll laugh. I just downloaded your pic and turned it upside down and the first thing I saw was this gorgeous bouquet of flowers and out jumped the name: ‘Roses Are Not Always Red! It’s totally different the other way up! If you flip it sideways so the triangles are on the right, or on the left it’s The Three Fishes! Pretty darned clever to have created three different pictures in one! :) :) :) Picasso would be dead jealous!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 22, 2013 @ 06:08:41

          whew! you have allowed me to recover my artist-ly dignity! Didn’t the Muppets do episodes of “Pi-i-i-i-i-i-gs in Sp-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-ace” starring Miss Piggy?

          now I can sell it three times, huh? frame it a different way and voila–new art! hahahahaahah!

          I did laugh–because you used the high-tech method to change the viewing…. and I was busy thinking about turning my laptop this way and that.

          Reply

  6. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 16:29:00

    I was about to suggest JoY or EnJOy but then I saw the happy pig face. Guess it could still be JOY. Now I see a second pig……..

    Reply

  7. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 21:51:43

    I’m great with “Happy Pigs in Space,” if you are… You aahhhr the Aaaaartist, after all.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 06:11:45

      well… I’ve been so deadly serious for so long now that it’s actually difficult to imagine a comic title.

      I like Jude’s new interpretation–the bouquet of flowers. If I’d only taken the picture showing it the way I’d painted it…. sigh…. (I’m going to re-post the painting!)

      Reply

  8. IsobelandCat
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:14:57

    I wonder if they would have been so ready to replace it if you had said how you intended to use it!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:21:37

      Very good point, Isobel! Like going to an estate sale, finding some chipped china of grandma’s, then having Big Mister smilingly sing out–she’s going to smash those with a hammer and make mosaics!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

