making stamps

Sounds like “making book,” but I haven’t been doing any gambling.  Well, not with money, anyway.

The art world is generous in the extreme in sharing knowledge.  I learned some of these stamp-making techniques from Approachable Art by Judi Hurwitt (mixed media and textile artist).

String, apparently, we’ve been using since we were kids to make stamps.  Except I didn’t, so it’s new to me.  The bright green squiggles and squares are 3D paint I had leftover from some art attempt in the dark ages.

That painted blue page has imprints of other string and 3D paint stamps I’d made (poking out from under the easel).

stamps

It must be a sign of true love, BuddyBoop:

stamps

This pic makes me think of Wazeau and her beautiful crochet pieces that her cats insist on sitting on!

Always helping, but more in a revolving-door fashion.  Here I was cutting out a stamp and stencil and Calpurrnia held down the cardboard for me, the sharp x-acto knife by her bum notwithstanding.

DSCN0005

Buddy came along after I’d finished with the knife.  That piece on the easel is where I’d used the 3D paint stamp of squares.

DSCN0006

That is all.  Kinda talkative for a Blurt and Run.  I’ll try harder next time.  <:-D

 

 

 

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 10:35:30

    Well, I’m not going to click on this post a hundred and thirty-something times, but I did enjoy it! ;-)
    Your cats are adorable and stamps sound really cool. It’s also great to see your humor shine through!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 19, 2013 @ 10:43:37

      Ivy! Welcome back!

      I *didn’t know* my humor was showing. I’m generally so far removed from it–how do I say–*unaware* of it, stashed in my brain fog…. If you were with me, you’d see a generally flat affect, but I do laugh here and there.

      Those cats are funny and sweet companions, though they do treat me sometimes as if I hadn’t a brain. harrumph!

      Reply

  2. teeceecounsel
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 10:37:10

    You got me smiling! Lovely post!

    Reply

  3. Wazeau
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 11:08:04

    Very cool crafting space! Made more awesome of course by the cats!

    Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 04:26:54

    Aww those kitties. I can see how much help they are to you.. ; ) I love your Blurt n Runs especially when you get wordy. You know L. your comment section is sometimes a party of happy words! I like looking at your table, makes me want to do that sort of thing and get my mind some place artsy but creative I am not. Sunday, my favorite day of the week. I’m gonna make it mine and make it count!!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 20, 2013 @ 06:24:32

      I keep thinking of Wordless Wednesdays over at your place, Pix! You kept a lid on the words for the longest time, then BOOM it was off to the races! We loved it, didn’t all of us, when you’d post on Wednesdays!?

      Pix, you may not recognize your own creativity or perhaps you are defining creativity too narrowly. I see creativity from you *whenever* you post and certainly in that picture of your feet! I heartily recommend that you clear a small space, grab whatever stuff you want to play with, then see what happens.

      I could write a wordy BnR all about just doing with no intent, and certainly no idea whatthehell I was doing! And how it has taken me away, for a couple of hours a day, from a hellish reality.

      Did you have eggs and mushrooms? (Oh crap–that was 5 minutes ago that I read over on Isobel’s your intent to have breakfast, now I’ve forgotten what the menu was!)

      Reply

  5. Dianda
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 04:28:05

    I love it when I’m busy and the kitties want to help!

    Reply

  6. Jude
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 10:49:36

    You are one super creative lady! And I love all the puddy-tats and how keen they are to help their mum! :)

    Reply

  7. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 09:27:12

    Thanks for sharing the links, L. This is great stuff. Makes me want to play with string and other stuff.

    Reply

  8. IsobelandCat
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:17:58

    I’m so impressed. These look gorgeous, and I am not only talking about the cats.
    You are a very busy and creative bee.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 08:26:05

      My innate curiosity was not destroyed by injury, so even if I’m a little foggy, I still wonder “What would happen if I….”. Thank goodness and all that is sacred.

      And truly, I begin make discoveries that can apply to mosaics. Hmmmm…. With mosaics being so time-intensive, I cannot begin to imagine how many pieces I would have had to create in order to see how I see now.

      Thank goodness I listened to my artist friends who advised me to leave aside the mosaics and try something else!!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

