BnR*: tearing paper

Get on out to your toolbox in the garage and steal that hacksaw blade you only use twice a year.  At least now you’ll know where it is.  Probably.

hacksaw blade

Canson Mix Media, 98 lb (160 g), 14 x 17 inches (35,5 x 43,1 cm).

Banged-up hacksaw blade.

In the background we have, unrelated but curiously useful, household supplies:  isopropyl alcohol to speckle and distort acrylic paint and spackling compound to apply an inexpensive texture to a page.

Also, an art journal I sewed together from embellished pages–you can just make out ripple-cut edges–from a Fiskar’s rotary cutter leftover from sewing days.

(Thankfully, I have been curious all my life because all that past-life stuff is sitting around me now.  Including beads, buttons, wire, string, drywall tape, and hacksaw blades!)

(Oh, and if you really enlarge the pic, on the far back left you’ll see a damn purchased cat toy that the damn cat damn well plays with!  The other damn cat will deign to eat cat cookies from it if hand-fed.  Sigh…)

Here’s a close-up of the tear marks when tearing two sheets stacked.  Bonus stencil for free!

hacksaw results plus bonus stencil!

PS.  I just used the hacksaw to cut up a hair comb to be used as a texture tool.  (I don’t need no stinkin’ comb for my hairdo!)

*BnR = Blurt and Run

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 15:35:37

    Yaaay! I love wierd stuff coming together to “enrich” the world of art! You are a meistro, an inspiration to the world…OK, OK, you’re just you–darn clever! But, I love it. Please share the strange and wonderful work when it is complete.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 16:54:01

      hee hee! you make me grin and laugh! I’m making a book of techniques– backgrounds, etc. I can’t keep renewing the instruction books at the library–don’t want to get paint on ’em! And I need the reminders all in one place. I’ll show you what I have so far.

      Reply

  2. 10000hourstobe
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 15:37:22

    Hmmm. Maybe that was a bit over the top. Just reread and noted I had 3 exclamation points. It’s hard to rein myself in when I see a true ARTIST at work. Oops, that was all caps, wasn’t it.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 16:56:51

      hahahahhaha!

      Even the Big Mister appreciates that you got me started in this weird and wonderful art form! I don’t have to worry about concentration and attending to anything–I get to skip around as madly as I wish.

      Reply

  3. writeovertheedge
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 14:48:29

    Your post made me laugh out loud, Laurel – such a mad collection of things and only YOU know what you’re going to create with them! But rummaging around, trying to remember where something got put away, fishing it all out, an idea slowly taking shape… It all reminds me of someone – ?
    Oh yes – ME!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 19:27:49

      Oh that’s grand, Lorely, that it all reminded you of you! hahahahahahaa!

      I’ve just been waiting to do mixed media, apparently! Had to collect all kinds of stuff first so I’d be well prepared.

      Rummaging around is a perfect description–it’s a nice speed: rummage, rummage, rummage…. poke… poke… shift…. !!

      Reply

  4. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 13:26:54

    Happy 2013, L!!

    Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 00:00:34

    Good to see you back in a creative whirl, Laurel.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

