missing mosaic mojo; welcome mixed-media messing-about

I had to stop working in the mosaics studio at the end of October–misplacing my mojo was just too distressing.  An artist friend told me to take a break or I’d start hating what I was doing.  She was right.

Here are a couple of pieces, the green one of which is a wedding present for a couple who married 1-1/2 years ago.  Ooops, I missed the “polite” deadline for a gift.   They’re both finished, bar grouting.

stone guilloche

knot

knot

Yet another artist friend came over to help me get started in mixed media art, collage particularly.  About which I knew nothing.  She brought books and some lovely watercolor paper, plus a kind of liquid medium that is used as both an additive to acrylic paints and for protecting stuff.

Trust me!

Trust me!

Mixed media is quite the artform.  Turns out that if it weren’t so pleasurable to buy art supplies, I wouldn’t have needed to buy any.  Apparently, over the years, I’ve been collecting mixed media art supplies unbeknownst to myself!

I found two kinds of acrylic paints–artist and craft, inks for a roller (plus the brayer, carving tools and carving block), all my drawing stuff from the school effort, and tons of beads, buttons, and whatnot.  Plus, of course, sparkly crayons!

I spent three weeks out in the studio messing about, during which time I discovered that the cold was killing me — me, the lover of winter, who thrived in the cold.

Packed it all up before Thanksgiving and came indoors where I commandeered part of the living room right next to a window so I now have natural light!

Mixed media is a blessing for folk who save something because it has an interesting shape, texture, or color.  Or to be honest, just because it’s cool, who cares why!  <:-D

A more direct description of mixed media art could be mixed technique art.

Digression:  creativity comes when disparate objects and/or thoughts come together in a new form.

My first completed piece was an expression (ahem) of the last 10 months.  My mother pointed to a part of it and said it would give her nightmares.  I started to cry.  Nuff said.

I didn’t know whatthehell I was doing, and could not understand the books.  (Words and images move around on a page, so I cannot “see” the instructions.)  But in a kind of desperation of wanting to play, I kept at it.  Found another book that had instructions I could come to understand (mixed-media artist Claudine Hellmuth’s book).

People are so creative!  This artist uses all kinds of stuff to create texture on a page–like tissue paper over paint, paint over masking tape(!), and plastic wrap smooshed paint.

Perhaps a couple of examples, then later I’ll stop in for a Blurt and Run.

This is tie-dyed paper toweling!  (kitchen roll for you outta-towners)…. !!  Once it has the acrylic medium added over the paint, the texture becomes like starched lightweight burlap.

paper toweling!

This is an instruction out of Claudine Hellmuth’s book.  She’s smooshing tissue paper over acrylic paint on the canvas.  The blue bit is paint over masking tape.

Boating Trip, by Claudine Hellmuth

Boating Trip, by Claudine Hellmuth

Despite wanting to make a cheery, red polka-dotted boat, here’s what came outta mah haid:

Boating Trip:  my interpretation

Boating Trip: my interpretation

Lastly, the only other finished piece (again based on Claudine Hellmuth’s work), a birthday gift for Big Mister.  On the back was the announcement of a subscription to Asimov’s Science Fiction monthly.

Starry Girl

Starry Girl

That is all.  For now.  Oozing along.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 12:21:35

    I TOTALLY like your version better! How fun! Glad you found something new.

    Reply

  2. nadbugs
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 12:32:22

    Wow. Creativity alive and better-than-well! Love it!!

    Reply

  3. neowatercolour
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 12:33:15

    Keep Oozing L, and am waiting on edge of my seat for yournext “blurt & run”, V :-)

    Reply

  4. Jude
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 12:37:05

    I think you deserve a medal for patience for making those mosaics! Making collages sounds much freer. Keep up the good work! :)

    Reply

  5. 10000hourstobe
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 15:32:07

    Love your piece. Hooray. It’s wonderful. Sometimes I schedule a 15-minute blurt and run in the morning, just so the day doesn’t get away from me without having lifted a paint color or brush. Glad you are “doing”.

    Reply

  6. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 15:54:11

    I love this post! My favorite art for sure is the card for Big Mister. Don’t know why, just adore it. Keep oozing! :-)

    Reply

  7. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 17:48:39

    Oh, I LOOOOOOOOVE your work, Laurel! How incredibly cool!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  8. FeyGirl
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 04:32:10

    SO agree. I love, love, love your version! It’s WONDERFUL! Your work is just beautiful!!!

    Reply

  9. Wazeau
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 05:43:25

    Much prefer your boat version :)

    Reply

  10. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 06:02:12

    Both the mosaics are lovely. BUT i LOVE your interpretation of Boating Trip. Pretty cool what came outta your haid and thru your fingers!!!! Starry Girl makes me smile. Be lookin’ for your Blurt n Run.

    Reply

  11. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 07:03:12

    It’s the sliver of the moon for me and the bird. And the COLORS! I hope it is a sliver of the moon. If not, that’s what I see.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 07:12:26

      It is indeed a moon…. Thanks, Pix, for telling me what you see. I’m almost befuddled at the responses.

      Of course, there IS the contrast between Claudine Hellmuth’s very light and happy Boating Trip and my, uh, er, darker thingie of a trip! <:-D

      Reply

  12. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 07:17:36

    Odd I know coming from me, but I don’t see it as dark. The colors ARE very bright and pretty and I just see it that Mr. Moon needs a little anger management. Or quite possibly a glass of wine.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 07:32:37

      hahahahahahhaha! the more art I do, the more I enjoy hearing what other people see! hahahaahahaha! let’s give him a big ole glass o’ wine!

      since I intentionally connected the bird with the feather that I added to the lady’s crown, and then with the crown in the depths, I figured it would come across as dark. uh, because that’s how I was feeling…. !!!

      These days, I try to imagine a piece of well-known artwork and the artist behind it. Perhaps one of those wildflower scenes in Impressionism–maybe the artist was thinking “oh crap, the meadow is too damn overgrown again and I gotta get the scythe out, but it’s so damn hot and those mosquitoes will eat me alive!”

      Reply

  13. Dianda
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 12:23:37

    I see things I like!

    Reply

  14. sfmosaic
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 12:54:43

    hi! thanks for visiting my blog – i love your “boating trip” collage, sailing on the moon is a wonderful image.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 13:03:03

      Well hello there! Thank you for the kind words and for stopping in.

      That video you posted made me laugh! HAD to share it!

      I have enjoyed wandering through your art for a little while now. One of the regular visitors here, Confessions of a Cat Woman (Deirdre), also expresses her fascination with mandalas.

      –Laurel

      Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 17:07:00

      ooops should have sent you to A Mandala a Day–that’s also Deirdre’s blog.

      Reply

  15. IsobelandCat
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 01:54:37

    Looks like you are having lots of fun. I too have, temporarily I hope, misplaced my mosaic mojo, so am clearing out lots of the broken china I have accumulated. It feels good! Somehow fits with your red jumper story. Have you been to the Scroobious Pip? She is experimenting with fabric painting, quilting and goodness only now what all on one piece, helped by her cats. http://thescroobiouspip.com/2012/12/17/all-i-want-for-christmas-is-a-wheelchair-lifter/

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 07:38:09

      Oh, I hope that clearing out the old lets something else sneak in. Somehow, I cannot imagine you being without mojo, Isobel.

      I will go along to the Scroobious Pip’s place–thank you!

      Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:49:07

      Oooo, I have spent much time this a.m. wandering through the pip’s site! Love her art! Would love to learn from her.

      Reply

  16. thescroobiouspip
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 13:58:00

    I love your boat piece. Embrace what comes out of your head for it is truly you!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 14:11:29

      hi! thank you for stopping by, Miss Pip!

      those are the best moments, aren’t they, when brain contents come out to play!

      I enjoyed my trip through your art this morning very much. And your partner’s art–he can truly paint hair! <:-D

      Reply

  17. Trackback: Mixed Media Method « the scroobious pip

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

