descending

It’s not necessarily a bad thing to be brought to one’s knees.

It’s a moment to be below the level of the swirling debris field, and so get hit with less of the detritus.

It’s an acceptance that it’s all too much and there simply is not room for more.

It’s a letting go and allowing oneself to be carried along instead of doing all the paddling with those aching arms.

It makes space for good stuff.

That is all.

Except:  thank you for being along on this ride.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 15:57:39

    :-( Wishing you better days…

    Reply

  2. nadbugs
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 15:59:28

    Wow, Lahgitana. I love this one! Wonder where we’re going to go next.

    Funny thing, BTW. The ad vid I see along with this post has a woman looking away from the camera out a (new)car window, sipping some liquid in an extremely trendy travel cup. We could do worse, I’m thinking.

    Reply

  3. jacquiefioramonti
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 05:24:59

    When I went white water rafting they taught us that if you get thrown out the raft, you should not struggle against the current but to go into a sitting position with legs straight out front and let the rapids take you to calmer waters or where you can get onto a rock or branch. I fell out a number of times, and came out fine – except for my dignity when a man about a third of my size insisted on pulling me up into his raft :-) My advice to you, assume the sitting position, legs out front and go with the flow until you get to calmer waters.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 09, 2012 @ 06:07:42

      I have assumed the position! And I remember that also from white water kayaking, Jacquie. Perfect. It used to scare the hell out of me and I’m a water-baby. All those rocks, my head…. the extremely cold water. No wonder I changed over to ocean kayaking!

      Thank you, Jacquie. A lot.

      Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 05:36:52

    I think I like jacquiefioramonti’s advice.. :)
    Good Morning L.!

    Reply

  5. minlit
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 06:02:29

    Apparently rock bottom is a perfectly strong foundation to build on.

    Reply

  6. IsobelandCat
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 01:45:18

    Very philosophical. And keeping with the water analogies, I am imagining you with breathing apparatus enjoying the quiet things on the seabed, ready to rise gently through the waters to th surface when you it is time and allowing yourself to be buoyed up by the waves.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 10, 2012 @ 05:19:05

      Oh Isobel, how perfect. I learned to dive eons ago and was so at home underwater that I never wanted to surface.

      I look forward to my seabed tour–I’m a great tourist! So, bubbling along….

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

