Press This: gardenhistorygirl: Words with a Garden History: Favela

It’s a short bit about words and gardens.  What’s a better combination?!  And we get to learn about Brazil!

gardenhistorygirl: Words with a Garden History: Favela.

She says:  “What is your favorite word with an unexpected or forgotten garden meaning?  Mine is vignette, which means something short enough to be written on a vine leaf.”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 13:13:25

    Oh, wow, so much to say… so little time! I’m honored that you’d want to learn about Brazil! :-)
    I’m not particularly proud of this part of my country, but it is a huge country and each region is different. I live in Sao Paulo, the financial and industrial center. I’m far from Rio and I don’t really know much about favelas. I didn’t even know the word ‘favela’ was originally a plant! O.o
    I have my doubts that thigs will be done in time for the events in 2014 and 2016. One can hope, right?
    Thanks for the mention of my country!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

