Blurt and Run: making stamp pad inks

This is a Blurt and Run because I’m too tired, etc., to start at the beginning.  And, I only get about 2 hours a day to play.

Here I start somewhere in the middle of the new art form I’ve been dabbling in, mixed media.

making stamp pad inks

If you’ve ever used a fancy carved stamp, you know they’re nice but expensive.

And the stamp pads?!  We used to get ’em at the office supply place for the workplace stamps like DRAFT, CONFIDENTIAL, TOP SECRET, etc.   Whoo, now they’re a huge business, and have been for eons.

We’re minus-broke and while it would be nice to do whatever I want in order to recover, I really want to keep our house.  I’m improvising a lot.  Which is excellent for my poor battered brain.

Today, kids, I made my own damn stamp pads AND the ink!

Used baby wipes and felt as “stamp pads.”  Here’s where I got the ink recipe, which uses RIT dry dyes.

Makes about 1/3 cup.  Store leftovers in baby food jar.

supplies: making stamp pad ink

final product

The cloth seemed to hold too much ink so the stamps were too wet.  I put a piece of felt over the cloth.  Better.  (Next time, no baby wipes, I think.)

The dinosaur stamp came in a grab-bag package at the thrift store with that fancy roller stamp, and the print looks horrible; he doesn’t know it yet, but I’m gonna use him as a backing for a stamp I made.  Buh-bye, ugly dino!

I already had a boatload of flavors of RIT because I used to dye my own basket reed.   I KNEW there was a reason to keep all this shite!  <:-D

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 13:28:45

    Now, this is REALLY awesome, Laurel. I need to try this!!!!!! Can’t wait to hear more about how to make stamps.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 17, 2012 @ 13:40:56

      I have a saved place somewhere with some stencil ideas. Would that be of interest?

      I made my own stamps–at least a lifetime ago. The funnest thing I’ve seen recently is to carve on the long side of a bottle cork! (Not sure if I”ll be posting about making stamps…..???)

      Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 14:17:41

    I cut corks (at the ends) to make stamps last year! We don’t have RIT but there’s always strong coffee, wine, etc. And for a temporary stamp, there’s always a potato handy.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 17, 2012 @ 14:21:07

      oooo and berries and tea…. hope Kathy sees your note about potato stamps!

      what did you use the stamps for? nuther words, why’d you make ’em?

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Nov 17, 2012 @ 14:34:28

        I had several tins/cans/cardboardy whatever that used to hold peanuts – and I was saving them to keep eggshells in, for composting. I HATE huge chunks of shell in my home-made soil so I save the broke ones until I have enough to blitz in the food processor. But the tins were ugly, so I painted them – using a stencil I made from one of my step-mom’s Celtic designs. But it needed more and I know my hand isn’t that steady so I did a simple pattern on a cork and used it as a stamp! Wow bet you didn’t expect that long of a story!

        Reply

  3. Dianda
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 03:51:39

    I always used those pencil removers, and carved stamps out of those!

    Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 05:12:07

    I like the fancy roller thingie! Good Morning!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 18, 2012 @ 08:11:08

      good morning to you! I just recently read about those and then there was a package at Value Village (thrift) with THREE of them! They *do* make a pretty running pattern.

      Nice to play, even if no specific reason.

      Reply

  5. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 06:14:29

    You have my uttermost admiration, as this is an area I have no talent whatsoever. It looks really fun, but considering the busy schedule and my lack of ability, I’ll probably never get around to trying that. I appreciate your sharing it, though. :-)
    Have a great Sunday, L!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 18, 2012 @ 08:17:23

      <:-O I probably wouldn't be bothered with making ink if I had an income!

      But it was interesting to try and especially nice to use those dyes I've been carrying around for eons!

      However, why did I not think of wearing gloves?! hahahahahahhaa!

      You have a great Sunday, too, Ivy.

      Reply

  6. IsobelandCat
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 23:45:34

    Wow, no worries about the creative functions of your brain.
    Go girl.
    What is RIT?
    Slightly curious as to why you would have baby food jars…

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 19, 2012 @ 06:37:38

      I’ve missed your encouragement, Isobel!

      The creativity I miss is that special seeing that allows a putting together of disparate ideas. I do see some of that returning now that I’m am trying mixed media, so my little kernel of hope remains.

      RIT is the name of a dye manufacturer: http://www.ritdye.com/store/powder-dyes. They’ve been around for 100 years! (I think me spelling it in all caps is a cultural memory… ?????)

      Baby food jars: hee hee, first. About 6 years ago our next door neighbor had a baby and offered the jars for canning jams. We took a bunch!

      Small amounts of jam for gifts–just perfect for those jars. Also, Big Mister made oil and wick lights using the jars. Quite pretty.

      Reply

  7. writeovertheedge
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 08:46:04

    Hi there Ms Purple!
    (My favourite colour)
    I love the stamp pad idea. In cheapo shops over here you can always buy thin strips of (coloured) not foam, but something a bit more robust, for kids crafts. Those might be ideal, you could make lots of different stamps from one small pack and they would be less absorbent than baby wipes! It would help if I could remember what they’re called! I’ll check it out and get back to you!

    I know just what you mean about having to improvise when you aren’t earning!

    So glad to see you on my page and please do re-blog my post! I’d like lots of people to find out about Talentui Organics, and to think about what they put on their faces every morning!

    Here’s the link!
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.ie/2012/11/the-goddess-of-plenty.html

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 20, 2012 @ 08:54:08

      Delighted to have you visit, Lorely!

      I have some of that foam stuff–here I think it’s called, well, Foamie! {:-D

      I did make a stamp from that, but I’m not very good at how much paint to put on it! Of course, I did use acrylic paint instead of ink…. either way, always too much.

      I haven’t tried the foamie as a stamp PAD–that I will do! The felt worked really well too.

      I hope my visitors become your visitors. I got to you because you visit Isobel!

      –Laurel

      Reply

  8. Trackback: missing mosaic mojo; welcome mixed-media messing-about « Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

