Joss Whedon and politics

Don’t think this is only about the US, people.  You have been warned!

Joss Whedon On Romney

Joss Whedon is responsible for Buffy the Vampire Slayer; Angel; Firefly; Dollhouse; and, most recently, The Avengers.   His brain is weirdly wonderful!

 

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 01:45:35

    I have very little interest in politics, but I was sharing this everywhich way yesterday. Who needs spin doctors with a force like Whedon on your side :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 30, 2012 @ 06:37:53

      10 minutes after I posted it, my college roomie sent me the link! I shoulda known you’d-a already seen the video.

      Gotta love that Whedon take on life! I want to plaster it on the wall facing the street and have it play in a loop.

      And, I almost missed the end!!!! But I’m a credits freak, so got the last little bit!

      Politics is just public relations in a suit.

      Reply

    • Dianda
      Oct 31, 2012 @ 07:44:14

      Do you know the new shows called ‘Grimm’? On the internet he says he was directing it, but but on most of the movie/series website it says he doesn’t. :(

      Reply

      • minlit
        Oct 31, 2012 @ 08:33:42

        No, I like my television to be 3-6 years out of date….Remember I only started watching True Blood a couple of months ago. I still have Firefly and Dollhouse to watch!

        Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 03:11:18

    OMG–that’s good, Lauren! Zomney–I swear, this is too good!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 04:25:10

    Well, at least it’s very funny!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 30, 2012 @ 06:41:15

      Ivy, I don’t know if you’re familiar with his work, but that unexpected, twisted humor is his hallmark.

      Romney scares the pants off me! He does want to control the world and shape it in his narrow view. The effects would be experienced worldwide. agggggghhhh!

      Reply

      • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
        Oct 30, 2012 @ 17:30:58

        You’re absolutely right about that, L., the effects will be felt worldwide. I agree 100% with the opinions you have expressed about “Zomney”, even in the other comments. I just avoid saying this on the blogsosphere because people could say to me: “that’s none of your business, you don’t live here”. They would be right, cause I don’t live there. Tee hee! But, yeah, I can discern both options and do prefer to avoid “Zomney” as the leader of the US of A.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Oct 30, 2012 @ 17:46:59

          Your sensitivity and courtesy are lovely, Ivy.

          Our world has become interconnected in a way never before experienced. Our political people make decisions that directly affect other countries (think food aid). Or, my personal horror, we send special troops to murder other world leaders.

          I believe that no matter where we live, it’s essential for us to comment on the world. There are people who do it without the sensitivity and tact you display and in doing so, their voices are just a part of a muddle of noise. But the way you comment, Ivy, allows other people to *think*, to consider, to wonder, and finally, to learn. And then they pass it on.

          We can learn about our own little corner of the world from our international community, I’m convinced.

          Thanks for being here!

          Reply

          • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
            Oct 30, 2012 @ 18:02:08

            Awww….. Thank you so much for saying that, L. I’ll take it as encouragement to keep speaking up! We are very interconnected, I agree. Moreover, I think part of the reason I like to keep talking to people around the world is exactly so I can learn from them too. I like being here! :-)

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Oct 30, 2012 @ 19:09:01

            Yaaaay! Ivy, meet Spiders! Spiders, this is Ivy–she’s from Brazil!

            Reply

        • heretherebespiders
          Oct 30, 2012 @ 18:18:22

          Hi Ivy! I’m American but live in Ireland, and have no interest in moving back to the US. Americans have no idea how much their economy influences the world – it really is everyone’s business and and everyone’s interest! Ireland wouldn’t be in such a mess if the US banks hadn’t collapsed. I wish we could recover as fast as Obama helped America to do.

          I hate it, I wish the mistakes made in another country didn’t mess up mine – but that is the ultimate definition of a superpower. And it isn’t because they are ‘super-fantastic.’ Just wish the voters realised that.

          Reply

          • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
            Oct 31, 2012 @ 05:51:44

            Hi Spiders, nice to meet you! :-D

            It’s great that you shared your opinion as an American living abroad, thank you!
            Yes, I agree. Most Americans don’t know how much they affect the rest of the world… That’s too bad, but then again, I am always hopeful for better days! Let’s see what happens on Nov. 6th, right?

            Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Nov 02, 2012 @ 14:52:34

            Fingers and toes and cat-tails are crossed. I’m positive – but then again I was SHOCKED when Bush got a second term. And even if O gets back in, I bet the Republican Party gets someone of their choice in the next go – 4 years isn’t long enough to make a difference. My other thought is that the R party wants Obama in again – they have tied him up so tight via Congress and Senate he cannot actually get a thing done that he wants to do. I feel sorry for Obama – he’s got the worst job in America.

            Reply

  4. nadbugs
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 05:24:54

    Hysterical. [I can’t tell which kind.]

    Reply

  5. Dianda
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 12:49:52

    And he’s directing/created a new tv show!

    Reply

  6. heretherebespiders
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 13:14:03

    I’m totally ready. Unfortunately the hubby will be one of the first to die. It’s a shame, but that’s the way it’ll roll.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 30, 2012 @ 14:58:42

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! {poor hubby; is he aware of this?!}

      Me too, one of the first to go. I’m gonna start savin’ the special drugs when the time starts looking iffy. Oh, say, if Romney-I-Actually-DO-Hate-Women-thanksforasking gets elected. Oh please, America, don’t do that to us.

      I don’t want to be around for our disintegration.

      Have you read (or seen the movie) “The Road”?

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Oct 30, 2012 @ 16:05:17

        Oh yes, and read it – I love end-of-the-world stories! Because I’d be well able for it :) I’m pretty sure he thinks he’d survive, but…ah, bless ‘im, no. He’d be lost without electricity. And useless if he had to kill something to eat it.

        I think it’s totally honourable to save the ‘special stuff’ for yourself, to save others from danger by being slowed down, if you really believe that would be the case.

        I can only take comfort in the fact that most female people I know are too wise or too young to get in a bad situation over the next potential 8 years. After then is when I’ll start worrying for my nieces, genetic and otherwise.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Oct 30, 2012 @ 16:14:02

          Alrighty then. Have you seen “Melancholia”? {muhahahahhahaa}

          It isn’t that I’d think I’d slow anyone down. It’s that the fight I have left in me doesn’t include fighting off someone who wants to chain me in a basement for later leg-gnawing. I really don’t want to know about that stuff first-hand. Cuz we are a horrible species….

          What scares me about zomney is that he is likely the sort of person who was the puppetmaster of GWBush; now he is out in front with the power. I don’t trust anyone who would think the divine/god would say that women should do as they’re told. Oh yeah?! I might have fight left in my for *him*.

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Oct 30, 2012 @ 17:44:22

            Oh oh oh I just confessed to him about this conversation – he says he was a Scout leader so he’d be great! I held up the electronic fire-lighter that HE can’t refill and said nothing… he would freeze to death because he can’t use the tin of butane to refill it and matches defeat him. Ah, bless his little cotton socks.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Oct 30, 2012 @ 17:50:43

            Ah cmon, you’d miss him and his cotton socks, girl! Start stockpiling warm socks for him and get him to re-learn rubbing two sticks together to make fire!

            Matches, huh? Well, on second thought, maybe save some special drugs for him.

            Reply

            • heretherebespiders
              Oct 30, 2012 @ 18:12:03

              Ha! Watching Sandy news, and some English news reporter eejit asked the tired, stressed gov of NJ ‘what do you tell the children when something like this is on their doorstep?’

              I shouted ‘RUN!!!!’

              He got mad. I just made him about wet himself. No chance for that one at all.

          • lahgitana
            Oct 30, 2012 @ 19:11:04

            I’d have been shouting at the TV with you! hahahahahahaa!

            THAT kind of stoooooopid idjit stuff is why I don’t miss the news! New world’s record for me: coming on 9 months without!

            Reply

  7. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 02:39:17

    Are we all happy with the results today? Well, I am!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 07:34:28

      I’m more relieved than happy. VERY relieved.

      I don’t understand the huge number of people who voted for Romney, most of whom fall into his disgusting characterization of the 47 percent of Americans. What is wrong with those people? Don’t they get angry or insulted? Don’t they THINK?!!!

      Ah, of course not. Too much effort to think; easier to let someone else tell how to think, feel, behave.

      Glad you’re happy, Ivy! This was an urgent moment….

      Reply

  8. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Nov 07, 2012 @ 09:12:52

    I understand what you’re saying. I also have a hard time understanding the people who voted for Romney. I’m relieved, too, as I believe Obama is better at foreign policy than the alternative. The moment CNN called it, I immediately thought of coming here to comment… hee hee…

    Reply

  9. IsobelandCat
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 06:05:56

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

