Tuesday is better

I have 15 lb of floooofy cat sitting on me, I’m drinking a cup of coffee (which I missed yesterday), and the sun is shining in the window.

Feeling better today.  I guess I forgot that I could get regular sick!

Your concern and good wishes carried me through a scary day.  I realized this morning that my fear was the first powerful somatic remembering of that awful day in February that profoundly changed my sense of me.

Maybe now that that is outta my system, the remembering, I can have another cup of coffee and look around for breakfast.  Or feel feisty.  Or post about another book.  Maybe all of ’em!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neowatercolour
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:39:58

    All of them, L, especially the feisty one ! Glad you’re on the mend, V xx

    Reply

  2. Wazeau
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 12:44:35

    How can one not feel better with a cat on one’s lap!

    Reply

  3. jacquiefioramonti
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 13:00:57

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. I was just thinking of how you’re doing when this came thru but was in a residents meeting.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 13:06:19

      Thank you, Jacquie.

      Your residents meeting doesn’t have anything to do with Liberty Life and its despicable construction noise does it?! Bunch-a big idjits!

      Reply

  4. heretherebespiders
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 13:19:38

    I find I’m paying extra attention to my ills since knowing what you went through. As someone who also has unusual health issues, I sure as hell would have been freaking out myself yesterday if I WERE you! Actually, I want to ask about something you said once about dizzy spells. I have an infected tooth, confirmed today – and I’ve not been right for a while. Glands swollen, the ear on the other side hurt for a few days, and a cold sore visitation (o joy). But what bothered me was a couple of ‘whooo, wheee’ spells at my desk – I seem to recall you had something similar before the manure hit the air-con? I was going to ask for anti-b’s tomorrow, as my wait for a root canal is over a month! But now I don’t know if it’s a good idea or not. I will, but wonder what the hell else might befall me?

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 14:26:08

      I don’t know much, but I’m pretty sure the infected jaw is what ’bout killed me.

      If I were in your clogs, I’d talk to a doctor about getting some antiBs. Tell the doc what your concerns are–every damn one of ’em. If you don’t feel good about the answers, you MUST go somewhere else.

      An untreated infection is not good. AntiBs are a miracle drug–three of ’em saved my life. It’s a great tool.

      I would certainly get the anitBs while you wait for the root canal appt. The trick is to get a NOT broad-spectrum; rather you want a drug that has a narrower scope of the bacteria it kills. (I had broad-spectrum and it killed all the good stuff, too, which led to disaster.)

      Any doctor-type you talk to should understand this. If not, go elsewhere. We have physician’s assistants and nurse practitioners here; do you? Those folks tend to have social skills (gasp!), which I have found easier to deal with.

      Yep, vertigo is a likely reaction to an infection so close to your jaw–my (good) dentist allowed that the infection might NOT stay localized–that’s where trouble happens. The infection gets carried prolly in the bloodstream… which makes it a systemic issue. Remember, I am making educated guesses about what went on with me.

      Vertigo is highly misunderstood, but to me it is a huge marker that something is wrong. After all, the vertigo is showing that our balance system is not working right–kind of a basic thingie if we want to stay upright and not puke a lot.

      Swollen glands tells me your body is fighting hard.

      Oh Spiders, I wish I had the answers. Bottom line: talk in person to a doc-type, share your concerns in whatever shape they are, stay in touch with the doc if you get the antiBs–you’re allowed to be scared or nervous or unsure. Medicine is a crap-shoot, but you get to have a medical partner.

      Lordy, I’ve gone on and on again. I’m here, girl. Don’t be es-scared.

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Oct 16, 2012 @ 15:28:07

        Not going on at all, I asked and I knew you’d have good advice! It might explain my serious lack of perkiness lately. I don’t get infections in cuts, etc – just teeth and lungs. Oh, and ears, for years, when I was a kid. So yeah, gooky stuff in my actual head worries me a bit more of late. I will ring the dentist tomorrow, and I might have to visit my GP but I have no friggin clue how things work here.

        Vertigo is minimal, maybe 1-2 seconds once or twice a day. I’m surprised I even noticed it – and might not have, ‘cept for your mentioning it. Ok off to bed, see how it goes on the morrow!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Oct 16, 2012 @ 15:54:20

          I was just thinking that not 10 minutes ago–your energy levels would of course be affected by even a low-grade infection. Which of course takes the perky with it!

          Please let me/us know what you do next.

          I learned something from a rehab/PT guy about vertigo–get your head back to neutral as quickly as possible, so that your brain knows which way is up–a sort of rewiring. I’ve been doing that–lotsa vertigo for a while now–and I think it helps.

          More things I’ve learned: if you can have an advocate-type person with you at the doc, it eases the strain and sometimes they can serve as auxiliary brain. It’s HARD to be completely present when you’re the one feeling like crap.

          Also, this is YOUR show–you are paying for a service, so you get to ask for what you want. You may not get it, but asking is 3/4 of the battle, methinks!

          And, DO write down your questions and concerns, and sit there with the doc until YOU’RE done askin’. Tough noogies if that’s not what they’re used to.

          I’ll go with you in spirit. (Don’t even bother me people; you have no idea…)

          Reply

  5. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 15:24:13

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing better. Also, I’ll repeat your own sentence to you: “you’re allowed to be scared or nervous or unsure”. Especially with everything you went through. Just keep looking for the positive things once the scare is gone!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 15:45:31

      Gee, Ivy, you are so right–and it really did feel correct to feel so upset and scared. The best part was telling other people and not dealing with all if it alone.

      Back to the positive and certainly the calm. Thanks for being here, Ivy.

      Reply

  6. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 16:59:36

    Great that you’re back to the positive!! It’s good to be here :-)

    Reply

  7. Kathryn McCullough
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 17:24:39

    So glad you’re feeling better. Must be the feline 15! LOL
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 17:32:30

      haahahhaah The Feline 15! hahahahaa

      BuddyBoop has been sleeping on the back of the couch and this afternoon he rolled right off and thunked into me. With nary a blink, he was moving into my lap! Like he meant to do that! hahahahha

      Reply

  8. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 17:36:36

    Sliding in here to say I am so happy you are feeling better and feisty too!!.. :)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

