quantum physics and holistic medicine

I don’t have any stinkin’ answers about any stinkin’ thing.  I will, however, share what I find and you can do some pondering.

If you’ve been following the blog, you know that following my catastrophic personal perfect storm, my brain has taken a hit and I’ve had heretofore never-ever-ever-or-ever-experienced difficulties with reading, writing, and comprehension.

Deirdre, our resident Buddhist, no-worry lady and all-around well-adjusted person, has recommended several books to me.   I have listened and noted the titles, but until now have been unable to comprehend.  One of the books she recommended is The Biology of Belief, by Bruce Lipton, a cell biologist with seemingly radical leanings (oh no, not a radical!).

I’ve made it through about a third of the book and was stopped in my tracks this a.m. by the illustration on page 73.  Herewith:  think about it.  That is all.

page 73

The Biology of Belief

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 10:06:18

    Yay! She readeth!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 10:18:11

      To tell the absolute truth, I am using old college-text skills: read the first sentence of each paragraph, skim to the next new thought, find the review statements, and look at drawings that make it through my intellectual fog. But hell, that is progress, and I *remember* how to do that!

      Thank you, Deirdre, for, uh, I dunno, *being here*! L

      Reply

  2. jacquiefioramonti
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 12:14:11

    Not only does she readeth, she readeth things with the words quantum physics next to each other. I’m very impressed! The only part of the above process you describe to Deirdre, that I can relate to is the pictures part :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 13:46:15

      That IS kind of funny, isn’t it, Jacquie! Quantum physics, indeed.

      He had an illustration in the few pages before this page where he was illustrating an atom.

      For regular physics, it looked like what you’d expect, the ellipses around the nucleus.

      For the quantum physics illustration, it was blank because we can’t actually see the damn thing once we get so close. agggghhhh my brain agggghhh!

      It’s an interesting read anyway. >:-D

      Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 12:15:11

    I empathize, Laurel. Seriously, I couldn’t read for the first year or so after my first psychotic break. It was hell! Guess I literally lost my mind.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  4. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 13:13:17

    Well, the illustration and respective text are confusing, but the cover convinces me, as I do believe that “thoughts control life”. Maybe I should include this book in my wishlist. I’ll keep following what you think of it!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 14, 2012 @ 13:54:29

      First: egad, I have no idea if I’ll be motivated to post about the book again!

      Yes, Deirdre is right to share this book. It calls into question, through methodical research, all that we blindly have believed about biology, including the place of DNA as the Arbiter of Us. Back before Darwin.

      It’s under 200 pages, and he has done a *very good* job writing for the layperson. As a former editor, I can see how he could have fallen flat.

      Also, he does enough review and reminding, that I haven’t had to read every word, which I cannot do because my comprehension is limited. I’m pretty sure a reader could start at page 70-ish and still get the Biology of Belief nuggets!

      I didn’t even read the text following that illustration until after I’d posted the pic! hahahahahaha! I could follow the picture: First pic, Linear. Second pic, Not linear and interrelated.

      Reply

      • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
        Oct 14, 2012 @ 14:23:27

        Oh, do not worry, Laurel. If you don’t say anything else about the book, all that you just wrote in your comment is enough for me. The book just made it to my wishlist. Thanks for the further info! (And I’m laughing out loud at the idea of you only following the 2 pics).

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Oct 14, 2012 @ 14:33:11

          I think I’m entering the working-around-the-stunned-brain time, Ivy, so can figure out HOW to understand something without breaking out into a sweaty headache.

          Glad you laughed–it made me laugh, too, honestly. All that intellectual stuff is complicated and takes time! Pictures: me like! >:-D

          Reply

  5. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 14:40:28

    >:-D

    Reply

  6. IsobelandCat
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 01:17:50

    That you can even attempt to read this confounds me. My mind glazes over the moment I see the diagram…

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 15, 2012 @ 07:33:42

      Hmmmm…. I do have a background in biology…. so I can skim sorta easily for the juicy bits.

      But, hmmmm… it didn’t seem that complex in the way I approached reading–understanding his thesis, skimming for a few corroborating conclusions… the diagram is of course out of context…

      Well, clearly this was clear in my own head! >:-D Hi Isobel!

      Reply

  7. dummyzero
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 08:45:58

    Yes!!! I think his diagram is right on. This is what I’ve been talking about for years. Unfortunately, the diagram is two dimensional. And it’s static. Guess I better read this book asap. Interestingly, I was just talking to a biochemist about the research she’s been involved with that involves quantum theory. Evolutionary to say the least. Thanks for sharing! 8-)P

    Reply

  8. dummyzero
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 08:48:25

    BTW…imagine that diagram as an organic mesh that lives, breathes, and evolves. I’m pretty sure that’s where he was going with it.

    Reply

  9. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 04:19:39

    My brain hasn’t had any scary trauma and that whole picture and physics anything befuddles me. I am so with Ivy in the belief that our thoughts control our life. Everyday I battle my thoughts, think the good thoughts not the bad, think the good thoughts not the bad, think the go………………………………………….

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 09:50:49

      Me, too, that we can make our own reality. Or at least be happy through the crapola. I have another book to recommend that is more pretty pictures and less blahblahblah biology–along the same lines…

      I took that picture out of context, but it made sense in the book. The name of the chapter was “It’s the Environment, Stupid”, which may give sense to the diagrams–the top one allows for only one way for things to happen. The bottom diagram illustrates so well how everything is interrelated and causes effects.

      It made me think of antidepressants–try to treat “C” and all the rest are affected. Same thing for thoughts–they’ll affect it all.

      Reply

  10. Trackback: another book: The Secret Life of Water « Rockin' the Purple!
  11. minlit
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:00:29

    My personal favourite analogy from this book is cellular structure as an olive sandwich.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 11:07:14

      That sandwich was easier to stomach until I saw the HUGE layer of butter that went along with the olives. But that was a great illustration! No scanning electron microscope pics for him!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

