domesticated goddess

Ah yes, that’s me.

My favorite gloves got thin and holey and have been living in the mending drawer for two+ years.  I have a little (quiet) time on my hands (so to speak), so have been mending (it has come to this?!).

Before, thin and holey:

they walk all over me all-over!

After, fleece for the fingers:

adding my own warmth!

Fleece finger pads attached with white glue.  After the glue dried, I used a blanket-stitch to make ’em stay.  For each finger, I placed my mother’s mother’s thimble into the end to use as a darning egg.  I don’t own a darning egg because that would imply mending.

Which must mean that my mending drawer is actually a collection of cloth.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:02:49

    You can get eggs that darn? Holy crap. Where??

    Reply

  2. neowatercolour
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:08:46

    eggs that darn, that is soooo funny, I actually LOL (which is saying something for me ). I am impressed with your hidden talents, L. the finger pads do remind me of Charlie Chaplins mustache tho’ . ? A truly inspiring post :-)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:20:06

      ahahahahahahaha! his moustache?! hahahahahaha I do see that now! Which will *keep* me laughing at the gloves, which already made me laugh!

      quite the hidden talent–the not-darning and not-mending!

      Deirdre is a good egg. She cracks me up!

      (I will go now and add the tag “inspiration” to this post! hahahahahah! nOT!)

      Reply

  3. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:14:04

    LOL – Funny comments for a funny post. Adorable gloves!! Totally worth being amended, that’s for sure. Down here it’s spring and summer is coming up…. Gloves just won’t be necessary. At all.
    Finally, not judging your mending drawer lest I be judged for mine. :-P

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 13:21:48

      Ah, Ivy, you have a nice collection of cloth, too, huh?!

      Yes, it’s like that around here, lots of humor and general silliness. Thank goodness.

      Enjoy the coming of summer. We are enjoying the coming down from summer.

      Reply

  4. Kathryn McCullough
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 17:27:56

    How impressive, not only that you mend, but that you have a “mending drawer.” Where can I get my hands on one of them–so to speak?
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 18:11:25

      hahahahahah! Well, it’s easy to get your very own mending drawer. Go to a piece of furniture with drawers. Must have drawers. This piece of furniture should be in a very public place, like the living room.

      Now, fill it up with stuff that’s torn, or “I might use that someday” scraps of torn fabric. Close the drawer. Et voila! A mending drawer that you only open when you’re too tired to do anything else.

      I am available to consult. >:-D

      Reply

  5. Lea
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 01:41:07

    The pawprint design is cute :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 04, 2012 @ 08:26:46

      Yep, had to have ’em! They made me laugh as soon as I saw them, yonks ago!

      Hi Lea–nice to have you here. Lea, I know you changed blog-sites, but I miss your About page. My gawd, what a life you’d had before this moment! I have wandered through that description more than once…. “and I retired at 29.”

      Reply

  6. 10000hourstobe
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 14:01:18

    They look better now than when you started! You improved them.

    Reply

  7. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 16:27:24

    A blanket stitch! They are just like a favorite blankie!!

    Reply

  8. heretherebespiders
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 14:36:20

    OMG a drawer – such a better idea than a pile of socks on my kitchen table, a few more on top of the bookshelf in the living room, a blanket balled up on a chair, and pants and more socks on top of my dresser! Okay I need to just go shopping and toss some of this unfixable crap out. I hate shopping as much as sewing, dammit!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 14:53:08

      uh, glad I could help? >:-D

      do you know Isobel of the ginger cat–she and I thought that old socks should be turned into cat toys–socks stuffed in socks until they’re full!

      yep, my theory is– make room in your life/closet for what you want. this kinda broken-down stuff feels like a weight I carry around… the more crap i get rid of, the easier it is to keep doing it….

      Hi SpiderE! Glad to have you surface! I was getting ready to post The Purple Cricket!

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Oct 09, 2012 @ 15:21:49

        Oh man, I’m not sure making socks into toys is a good idea with a fabric-eating cat in the house! I like all my crap, until I have to dust it. And yeaaah… I’m in an awkward mood lately. hiding again I think, lots to say but none of it fun or funny. Trying, still!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Oct 09, 2012 @ 16:12:08

          OK, no cat toys. garbage receptacle awaits! go, E, go!

          Keep trying, E. It’s all we’ve got some moments. As for hiding–yeah oh yeah. I hope you have a pressure relief valve–someone to tell all the Big Stuff to so you don’t have to carry it alone or try to understand it alone.

          Did you see the link from Anita in a different post? http://www.npr.org/2012/10/08/162514763/standup-comic-tig-notaro?sc=tw

          It’s worth the 28 minutes. Precisely addresses your sentiment “lots to say but none of it fun or funny.”

          Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

