arrrggggh I did it to him again…

Yesterday, I took a tumble off a ladder to the concrete floor in the garage.   I fell into about the only blank place on the garage floor except for smacking one arm into the giant steel scooter carrier.

steel scooter carrier (L); steel motorcycle engine (center); cast iron sink (R)
I only hit the scooter carrier. How is that possible?

I was extremely lucky:  the only reason I didn’t break my arm when it hit the thing is that the arm smacked parallel to the long lines of the thing.  The bruises are coming along nicely.

pretty colors!
Using forensic evidence, I deduce that I flattened my twisted arm against the scooter carrier. Can’t believe I didn’t break it. Or my head!

I didn’t even hit my head; I’m a little disappointed:  maybe it would have shaken up some of the fog and forced it out my ears.

I also didn’t break the heavy-duty electric stapler, which I’d left at the top of the ladder.  Thank-the-whole-Universe that it wasn’t in my hand!  Can you imagine the plunk-plunk-plunk-plunkety-plunk of an out of control electric stapler?!

I learned something:  I do scream spontaneously at the top of my lungs when I’m falling uncontrolled to a hard concrete floor and wondering what garage stuff I’m about to slam into.

Big Mister learned something, too:   From all the way in the house, he can hear me scream!

Sorry ’bout that, Big.  I’m so sorry you had to find me in a heap on the garage floor, preceded by hearing the screaming.  Egad.  (Happy 14 years!  Look, I didn’t screw it up:  I’m alive!  Again!  Bonus points!)

Well, back I go to the garage in a few minutes, where I will stay, feet on the ground and look at pretty pictures or somethin’ safe!

For more pretty colors, go see Kathy McCullough’s post about her tumbling down the narrow, steep stairs in her 100-year-old house.  She made those stairs into art.  I could mosaic the floor in some way…  hmmmm….  Maybe just sidewalk chalk drawings!  I know!  A chalk-person outline!  har har har!

 

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 18:10:35

    I love your sense of humor! I’m afraid I have to confess that I laughed out loud. I’m relieved you’re alive and hit only the scooter carrier… too bad about the fog though. I’m hoping some other less-threatening event can bring relief to the fog in time… Maybe? I did notice that the bruises are getting very purple, kind of in a supporting theme to your blog. :P
    Sending you healing hugs, may your arm feel better soon!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 26, 2012 @ 18:30:48

      hahahahahaha! I’m glad you laughed. It wasn’t the disaster it could have been, so we can laugh. And yes, I briefly considered changing the name of the blog to Rockin’ the Purple and Black and Blue!

      Time is the only cure for the brain fog, I’m afraid. I assume. I’m sure as hell not goin’ back to the medical world to get advice. Feeling a good bit burned by them/it.

      The fog has improved, so I just keep hanging out…. waiting for more improvement. Or, the full acceptance that I have changed and I’d better get used to it! >:-D

      Reply

  2. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 22:55:08

    Geesh! I hit the Like button but you know it wasn’t that I liked you took a splat to the concrete floor! I’d say you can be pretty sure you have strong bones. You are sporting some lovely colors there, you know rockin’ the purple and yellow.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:25:58

      I DID think of changing the blog name temporarily! You must be right, Pix, about the strong bones. After I “landed” I was sure my arm was broken because I knew what I had hit.

      It’s true I’ve been having new and enhanced brain challenges and this was the second big thing in only a few days, driving a car being the other. I just suggested to another blogger (actually, Kathy, mentioned above!) that it was time for quiet.

      Duh.

      So happy you stopped in, Pix.

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:42:00

        Ladders are evil. Gots minds of their own.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:45:47

          It’s time to make a horror movie about ladders: it reaching out one foot and tripping the unwary, or dropping tools from its little platform onto a monkey-head… etdamncetra!

          Reply

          • sweetdaysundertheoaks
            Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:51:19

            It’s those leanin’ ones that are the most evil. Ours forced CH to climb up it and get on the smaller roof on the East of the house. CH couldn’t get back down. It wouldn’t let him climb back on. He sat up there almost an hour while I tried to talk him down. CH has a fear of heights and the ladder knew it. Evil is what they are.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:58:53

            oh dear, I can’t stop laughing, but it’s so wrong! BAD ladder! Poor CH.

            I did that one time and Big had to talk ME down. Damn ladder. I think if I were to look at the ladder upside down, I’d see an evil, grinning face.

            Reply

  3. Debra Kolkka
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 00:29:28

    I’m glad you are OK

    Reply

  4. leamn
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:44:28

    Oh my! I had bruises a long time ago because of an accident. At first it was greenish, then red, then violet, and then brown. Get well soon!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 07:48:10

      Hey, nice to see you here, Lea! I saw your post this morning about the working military dogs, but have to go back and read it properly.

      I’ve never heard the explanation for the greenish tinge to healing contusions–got one?! >:-D

      Thanks, will be taking it easy today. sigh….

      Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 14:27:40

    Goodness, Laurel. Sounds scary Thank God you didn’t hurt yourself. ANd thanks, as well, for the shout out, my friend! Apparently, we both tougher than we thought!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 27, 2012 @ 14:44:04

      I’m finding that it’s pretty tough to kill me off! >:-D

      And–you should know from scary. Suddenly I appreciated your description of going ass-over-teakettle down your stairs…. and of Sara…. arrrgggh!

      Feel better your own self, girl.

      Reply

  6. margieinitaly
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 09:19:49

    At least you haven’t lost your sense of humor!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Oct 20, 2012 @ 09:22:47

      I know! Some days I wonder, then I find something to laugh about again.

      Thanks for stopping in, Margie! I have an Italy category because I had a trip planned for last February, but landed in hospital instead, and have been recovering ever since. I’ll still go…. just don’t know when!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

