Cupid stops in: An Odd Ode to Big Mister

Cupid:  Hello you, two.  Since you’re so comfortable together, surely your first fabulous meeting 14 years ago would be a good story to tell.  You met when you were in your 40s, correct?

Him and Her:  Uh, yeah.

Cupid:   So, tell us!  We’re excited to hear!

Him:  My friend Robin, the 70 y.o. Master of the tugboat Joe had met her recently.  One day during the annual Maritime Fest, she came into the 100+ y.o. wheat warehouse that housed the local working waterfront maritime center, and Robin and I happened to be standing together.  He nudged me.

Robin:  She has a kayak.

Him:  I introduced myself to her.

Her:  Can’t remember a thing.  It was the morphine, I think.

Cupid:  Uh,  OK.   What happened next?

Her:   I was attending volunteer meetings at that 100-y.o. dock building.  He had been volunteering for eons and was at those meetings.  I was definitely put off by him because  at every damn volunteer meeting, he was a crab-ass and smelled of beer.  I ignored him successfully for six months.

Him:  She didn’t talk to me and seemed pretty crabby.  I remember that she was always wearing those long skirts with those long sweaters over them and I wondered what she had on under there.

Her:  You did?!   Sheesh!  It was cold in there!

Him:  Oh yeah….

Cupid:   OK, OK, enough of that.  Did you actually talk?

Her:  Not when I could avoid it, and I was good at that!  I didn’t talk much back then–I’d just uprooted my life of 16 years, plus I was on the morphine, so I wasn’t interested in talking particularly.

One time he came into the only warm room in the whole giant building, a teeny pilot house–maybe 8 feet by 10 feet.  I was there keeping warm, getting ready to go home after my volunteer shift.  It went something like this:

To Herself:  Oh crap.  Why’s he coming in here?   I don’t want to be trapped in here with him.  Can I snake outta here first?  Nope.

I was sure he was going to be rude and surly because that’s how he was in those volunteer meetings.  Believe me, I didn’t have anywhere near enough morphine on-board to fend that off.

Him:   [looking perplexed and a little hurt]  I just wanted to ask you what you thought about Casey [a pseudonym for another volunteer].

Her:  Oh, yeah, I finally figured that out.  I held my breath for the first few minutes you were in that tiny space with me, wondering when you’d say something tart.   I kept wondering how long I had to stay in order to seem polite.  Then, you quite reasonably started talking about your frustration with Casey.

Him:  Yeah, I really needed to talk [about her].

Her:   Yep, you did.  It was then that I realized that in those meetings you were crabby because of her and you fortified yourself with beer before the meetings hoping that would help.  But I still got outta there as fast as I could.

Cupid:   Hoo-boy.  I can’t believe you two got together at all.  How on earth did you even have a date?  I shoulda stayed around to be sure the arrows actually pierced those thick hides of yours.

Him and Her:   Harrumph!

Him:   She had to go to her storeroom and really dreaded it.  It was really hard for her to see her life all packed up like that.  So, I volunteered to go with her.  And she said YES!

Her:   Oh yes, he was good company.  On the way back, we stopped for dinner at his favorite Vietnamese restaurant that he’d been going to for at least 10 years, probably more.  We agreed much later that it was a date, the first date.

Him:   Yes, she was a tough cookie back then.  Well…  still is… but, I mean, well, er.  Never mind.

Cupid:   OK, that was going pretty well.  Tell us more.  Let me get this straight:  you finally had a first date six months after you met because you both were tetchy types.  That about cover it?

Him and Her:  Uh, yeah.  [throat clearing and shifting around in chairs]

Her:   You invited me to take a walk in one of your favorite parks, my kind of place because it was unimproved.  As we walked single-file along a narrow trail, we started talking.  You kept saying amazing things:  it was apparent that you observed the world and actually thought about things.  After that day in the park, it was all downhill from there.  We were relaxed together.

Him:  I kept asking her to go do things and she kept saying yes!  I liked showing her my favorite places.

Her:   I was so dense that I completely missed that he was showing me his favorite places!  Duh.

Him:   Oh well.

Her:   Other people have always commented on our relaxed companionship.  Said they liked to be around us as a couple.  Nice, huh?

Cupid:  Very nice.  [big frikkin’ miracle if you ask me, but you weren’t asking, but still!!! …]

Cupid:   I’m wondering how you remember the date of your first meeting 14 years ago when clearly one of you wasn’t all there and the other one was looking at, uh, you know, her clothing.

Him and Her:    We met during Maritime Fest, even have the poster from the event.  It has the date on it [smugly stated].

Cupid:  How ro-man-tic[Not!  These two are, uh, I dunno.  The date’s on the poster?!   What?!  At least my part was done correctly. Never going back and asking questions in a dreamy-eyed mood.  Never again.   I’ll get squashed flat and I’m not setting myself up for that again!]

Cupid:   Well, that was certainly, uh, um, elucidating.  You two definitely come under the heading of Will Wonders Never Cease?   Good luck!  Gotta run!  Cheers!  [Let me outta here; I hope the door isn’t locked!]

we kept the date to hand! good thing because first I thought it was 14 Sept, then I knew for certain it was 28 Sept. rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, wrong on both counts!

Thank you, Big Mister, for being persistent.

Click on one of these photos to go right to the Foss Waterway Seaport site.

Historic sailing vessels in front of the wheat warehouse. (photo courtesy: http://www.fosswaterwayseaport.org/)

Inside the building with those massive beams–each beam milled from a single tree. Back in the days when we hadn’t cut down all the massive old-growth timber.

The glass front is being added right now! Quite gorgeous so far!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 20:23:37

    This post is absolutely adorable! Love stories are beautiful no matter what. May this love keep you happy for a long, long time! :-)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 26, 2012 @ 06:47:35

      Thank you, Ivy. Glad to have you here! >:-D

      It has been a road of, shall we say, learning, since we were both horribly, definitely set in our ways when we met. !!

      I am grateful for him everyday, especially during the mess over the last almost-year.

      At least I can say now that I truly understand what the old folk mean by “Marriage is hard. You have to work at it.” That statement always annoyed me because it was so damn vague! Ah! Big ole light bulb shinin’ over my head!

      Reply

      • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
        Sep 26, 2012 @ 07:07:19

        Yes, marriage is hard. But if you’re learning from each other, then you’re in the right relationship! LOL I know it sounds bad, but it’s actually good. I’m happy for the both of you. Thanks for the welcome! ;-)

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 26, 2012 @ 07:10:36

          Ivy, I always looked for your supportive comments to AnitaBean, so I’m delighted that you stopped in here!

          I agree; we were able to learn from one another once we broke down the Walls of Jericho AND especially introduced humor–being able to laugh at ourselves–Life got even easier and much more fun cos we weren’t hassling over the stupid stuff. Of which life is rife! >:-D

          Reply

          • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
            Sep 26, 2012 @ 14:15:34

            I don’t know what took me so long to come here, honestly. I always agree with everything you say to AnitaBean. The last post was especially synchronistic – You said all that I wanted to say. So I decided to come check your blog out! I’m happy I did! :-)

            You said something very spot on about relationships – being able to not fuss about the stupid little things… I have to confess I’m still working on that, but I have hope!

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 26, 2012 @ 17:53:49

            Glad you’re here! Lots o’ fun folks too! >:-D

            I saw that you and I had the same notions over at Anita’s place.

            Yep, there is so much that really is unimportant that we manage to get all het up about. It takes a lifetime to get that under control! Someday maybe I’ll be better at letting it go. I’ve had lots of practice recently, the letting go, for which I am grateful. I needed to learn that!

            C’mon back any ole time, Ivy! I saw that you have twitter (I don’t), but was able to see that you have a very full life! Dontcha think you should be blogging about it so we all can share?! >:-D

            –Laurel

            Reply

          • ~ Ivy ~ (@ivyft)
            Sep 26, 2012 @ 18:05:01

            Thank you for the kind words, Laurel! Unfortunately I still haven’t found the proper inspiration to start my own blog. Maybe one day. For now I’ll just keep visiting yours! :-D
            Hugs to you!

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 26, 2012 @ 18:27:01

            That makes me happy, knowing you’ll be visiting, Ivy!

            Reply

  2. minlit
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 06:14:08

    So, hang on, who’s going with the weird magnet….? ;)

    Reply

  3. nadbugs
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 06:37:25

    Adorable. You guys.

    Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 06:54:40

    Oh man I loved this! I love hearing how couples meet. Laurel CH and I had the same like/hate/hate start to our relationship. He was a jerk leading up to and on our first date and I didn’t think much of him cause I was dating a guy that drove a baby blue Corvette-enough said there! I love love love this post. That last picture is beautiful.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 26, 2012 @ 07:07:12

      Hi Pix! So happy you liked. I’ve been writing it in my head for several weeks!

      And you and CH–hahahahahahaah! “like/hate/hate” hahahahahaha. How’d he steal you away from the baby blue Corvette?! Some kind of offer you couldn’t refuse, huh?!

      It is going to be a beautifully restored building–keeping the 100-y.o. structure intact, but modernizing. Good for them. It has also been a very long road for them to get to this point.

      Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 11:12:32

    Awwww! Thanks for sharing :) You’re a cute couple, crabbiness and all!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: lunch to celebrate « Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

