…Launching U.S.A…(Yes, its Usyaka ! !) …by Neo Watercolour

Victoria Butterell over at NeoWatercolour has captured Usyaka the Cat in watercolor!  Here’s a perfect rendering of that little cat sharpening her nose based on a photo by Alexandra, Usyaka’s human!    I just love looking at this photo–makes me grin!  And now we have an evocative watercolor, my repeated views of which may have driven the stats crazy!

Victoria is helping Alexandra to raise funds for cat-care using this painting!   Usyaka and her humans live in Montenegro (see map below) and as Victoria says: “… there are no official shelters or welfare facilities for cats.”

We can help, too!  Victoria’s post (link at end) will give more information about how we can do that.

Montenegro (see the orange arrow; click picture to enlarge.)

Interactive Google Map of Montenegro here.

Here is Victoria’s post.  Be sure to click to enlarge her photos so you can see the detail of the painting:

….Launching U.S.A……..(Yes, its Usyaka ! !)…… | Neo Watercolour.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 16:40:35

    Laurel as soon as my brain and clicking finger got the links all worked out and who was who I smiled too. I love that watercolor kitty and the real kitty too! Thanks for introducing me to two new blogs. Fun for me tonight while CH watches DWTS!

    Reply

  2. FeyGirl
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 03:02:46

    So wonderful… I read about her plight awhile ago! Thanks so much for sharing with the world! And how wonderful of this artist. Can’t wait to investigate. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 25, 2012 @ 07:20:02

      These two folks are reasons why I have come to love blogging. If it’s all I can do, share the news, then I’m happy. I DO want for Alexandra to have an easy way to deal with money/donations/purchases, but apparently it’s not easy in Montenegro. Maybe someone here in blogworld will know just how that could work (other than CafePress). ??

      Usyaka is compelling and Alexandra captures her personality, and pointy bits, so very well!

      Victoria’s art makes me look closely to see the detail. Wait till you see the “garden-variety giraffe”!

      Reply

  3. 10000hourstobe
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 11:56:40

    Of course, I immediately had to investigate the story and the art. Loved both. I love art with a sense of humor (smile).

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

