“Ciao, Professore!” (movie); Io speriamo che me la cavo (the book)

“Ciao, Professore!” is a charming, laugh-out-loud movie, by Lina Wertmüller, released in 1993.  Next to the title in parentheses were these words:  Io speriamo che me la cavo.  Here’s the Netflix blurb:

In director Lina Wertmüller’s upbeat comedy, Marco Sperelli (Paolo Villaggio) — a priggish upper-class teacher from northern Italy — is mistakenly assigned to a tumbledown school in an impoverished village near Naples. But upon arriving, he finds most of his students hustling on the streets to earn money for their families — and before you can say “school of hard knocks,” Sperelli becomes the pupil as the kids tutor him about life’s realities.

I don’t speak Italian, so the English subtitles could be accurate that translated the very, very rude language of the 3rd graders.  Somehow it worked, those little children hollering some terrible language.  It probably worked because it was coming out of the mouths of little children.  Laughed and laughed till I couldn’t breathe!

The parenthetical title in Netflix was in little tiny letters and got me curious.  (Thank you Google.)  The movie is based on the book, released in 1990, Io speriamo che me la cavo (I did not know there was a book!).

Apparently, the book is a collection of the real essays written by children going to school in Arzano near Naples.  At that link there is a sample of the humor and is well worth reading.  I remember this passage well in the film and it was hilarious!  Still funny!  Now I want to read the essays…. !!  Better get studying!

The real reason I started this post was to quote a particular piece of wisdom in the movie.  But I digressed. (gasp!)  I’ll tell anyway:

Q:  Why is LIFE like chicken coop stairs?

A:  Because it’s short and shitty.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:54:03

    Sounds like a great movie, Laurel. I think I’m back in the blogosphere again. About time, right? LOL
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  2. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 16:31:24

    CH is looking this movie up as I type.
    Short and shitty!!! Dying here.
    I

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 24, 2012 @ 17:17:26

      Fabulous, huh?! Did you read the essay at the link? That one made me BARK with laughter!

      (Can never have too many I’s!!)

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Sep 24, 2012 @ 17:21:02

        No I didn’t click that link because the TV that CH has on is driving me to distraction. I will wait for some quiet!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 24, 2012 @ 17:24:02

          Believe me, you could be standing under a jet engine and still get that! It is oh-so-fabulous! Still laughing! Tell me when you read that kid-essay, Pix.

          Time to get those noise-canceling headphones. I use ’em for just that and not with music or TV! The Bose ones work!

          Reply

          • sweetdaysundertheoaks
            Sep 24, 2012 @ 17:26:39

            Oh I have Bose headphones I am just too lazy to get up and get them. I think CH should put on the headphones to listen to TV. I was here first. Do you see a little childish fit emerging here? Not pretty, I know.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 24, 2012 @ 17:30:49

            I have to agree with you. Mike doesn’t watch TV except with me, so when he’s around, I do wear mine. I’ve also worn them when he has been dealing with my mother’s life — and boy does that help me with the unexpected anxiety.

            Get up off your Missoooooorreeee bum, wear the phones, and reduce the het-up-ness. (Takes one to know one!) Have a pleasant discussion with CH at another time, but relax now and go laugh at 3rd graders being incredibly, unintentionally funny!

            Oh and exhale, girl, the het-up-ness–perhaps in his general direction! hee hee wicked me.

            Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 16:32:40

    Don’t know what the ding dang heck that ‘I’ is doing up there.

    Reply

  4. writeovertheedge
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 08:48:58

    I’d love to see it! It sounds wonderful. Must keep an eye out.

    Reply

  5. writeovertheedge
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 08:50:51

    PS I love the short and shitty, too!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

