friends in the studio

I have officially beaten the crap outta myself finishing the organization of the studio.

Some while back I posted a photo of the studio where I was pleased to see I captioned it “part” of the organized studio.  The mess was behind me, outta camera view and outta my eyeline when I worked.  (Now here’s a funny:  that photo showed up in a Google image search for “organized mosaics studio”!!  Am I going to have to ‘fess up?)

Since I love industrial stuff, a lot of it was heavy!!  (“la la la, I have the industrial disease!”)  Think:  many 3-gal buckets o’ cement, sand, and thinset (= mortar); sheets of steel lath, re-bar (ferchrissakes!), and at least a ton of tile (it felt like a ton as I moved it and organized it, and even brushed off the dust!).  (‘Nother post:  will post pics soon-ish.)

So, I’m not there, but here.  I took pics of the company I keep in there — before all the lifting, ladder-ing, heaving, and hammering.

This post was inspired by Pix, who posted a picture of her nearly 61-year-old teddy bear!  I, too, have had mine since birth, so it’s about 55 now.  He looks 195:  Pix had nicer siblings and no dogs as a child, I can tell!

(what can I possibly say?!)  I know:  that is NOT a 1980s legwarmer; it is a sock to keep his leg attached to his foot!

And then there is BuddyBoop who wandered in and started looking around.   Why is it that he tried–twice–to stand on the mosaic in process?  Oh.  He’s a cat.  I moved him over here so he could peruse the library shelves.

BuddyBoop in the studio–the organized part!
“Hmmm… Oh Monkey-Girl, perhaps something in these hot orange ceramic tiles?”

Finally, a beginning to a mosaic, with company that makes me laugh!

Red and glitter! hee hee hee!

 

 

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neowatercolour
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 11:19:46

    Loved seeing BuddyBoop, very nonchalent :-)
    Labelled containers – totally impressed !
    You’ve “just” got to keep the organised part under control now, L, very best, V xx

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 21, 2012 @ 11:30:15

      Yes: “just”!! It’ll be MUCH easier now that everything has a place. That was the trouble before: piles o’ sh&t don’t qualify as places!

      The labels are great because I don’t have to try to remember anything when I go to re-order or “what was that color I used?”!! (I LOVE my label-maker!)

      Nice to see you around and about, V!

      Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 14:39:03

    Love it! All, and every bit. Buddy is gorgeous, of course! I have some of my mom’s old stuffed animals – she was born in 1940, but isn’t around to ask when she got them.
    HOORAY for sparkly toes! I still have my rainbows on, but the season is over here.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 21, 2012 @ 14:42:43

      The season seems to be about over here, too. Last week, we had temps in the high 70s and low 80s–unhappy camper was I. Today it is cold in the house!

      Would your Dad or other family know about the stuffies?

      Happy Friday! Hope your week as the trouble-shooter (OH, that’s where that word came from!) went well.

      Reply

  3. nadbugs
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 17:10:13

    Love seeing the Boopster! (What is with all these cat names starting with “B”?)

    Reply

  4. jacquiefioramonti
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 03:17:08

    I love the inventive way of keeping foot attached to leg! What a wonderful treasure you have in that old bear. .. and Buddy Boop too… of course:-)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 06:43:27

      Hi Jacquie–yes it was certainly time to give him a home. I”ve had him stashed in a closet for years. Buddy is pretty darned kitten-cute! >:-D

      Reply

  5. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 04:39:28

    Laurel! That bear is so dang cute and full of character!!! I love that bear, you better hang on to him. If he goes missin’ you might know where to look for him. Do you know by chance who made him. Could he still have a tag on his butt? Love your toe paint!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 06:46:44

      He doesn’t have much butt left! hahahahaha He may be a Steig (?). I will check him to see if any identifying marks remain….

      His straw stuffing may tell us something.

      I’ve long wanted to have him repaired, but have never followed through to see who/how.

      Reply

  6. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 04:42:58

    Love the Booper too. I am cat person, how could I forget a mention of a beautiful kitty?!

    Reply

  7. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 04:45:55

    Laurel, I had no siblings. I was an only and loved every dang minute of it!!! We did have dogs but they seemed to prefer chewing my Dad’s favorite green chair and the woodwork!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 06:54:26

      If you’d had an older brother, he would have swung the bear by one little arm round and round, over your head out of your reach, while you watched the little furry body get hurt. (I DO not need therapy. I’m fine!)

      It may have only been one dog to chew him to smithereens–wish I’d kept the ear. But his velvety feet-bottoms are still there….

      I also had a dog that chewed furniture! Yikes–how come they pick “Dad’s” favorite chair? There was a message there–“play with me” “I’m bored-whatareYOUdoing?!”

      I know you’re pretty private on your blog, but Pix if you ever think of a story that would be OK to tell about being an only, I’d love to read it!

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:04:21

        Ida kicked him in his boy bits, the brother not the bear and then Ida bent his arm not natural behind his back till he screamed like a little girl. The brother not the bear. I probably needed anger management as a child. As an adult too. I have spent some time being therapied. Probably good I was an only! I had an imaginary friend. Oh I have lots of stories about being an only.. :)

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:12:29

          I wish I’d had YOU as my “encouraging” friend all those years ago! hahahahaha! Excellent description.

          Well, then, tell us about your imaginary friend! It was too crowded in my house (people and emotions) to have the space for an imaginary friend. I might be a little envious!

          Ooooo, ooooo! Another “theme” post: imaginary friends!

          hahahaaha: “bent his arm not natural behind his back till he screamed like a little girl”

          (Oh brother, if you read this, know that I have tough-cookie friends! muhahahahaha)

          Reply

          • sweetdaysundertheoaks
            Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:16:21

            It was a little crowded at my house emotionally too. My parents had issues. I had to learn to deal. Laurel you and I need to sit down and talk. I think there might be a whole lotta laughing and some crying too!

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:30:16

            Funny you should say that about sitting down for a talk! I have been letting my mind wander around the idea of spending my Italy money on domestic travel–then I was wondering–how FAR is IT to *drive* to Missouri?!

            I will come when it is cold, rainy, snowy, dark, and miserable. Please don’t invite me for 109 degrees and humidity. You’d have to check me in somewhere, if you get my drift!

            I like wine. A lot. Well, not *too* much.

            Reply

  8. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 04:46:45

    I’m done. I think. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 06:57:05

      Please don’t be done! Your post about your bear(s) really struck a nerve.

      Maybe “we” should make a NEW photo challenge: childhood stuffies and blankies! I still have my blue-blankie, too, though it is also a bit rough!

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:10:27

        I think that is a great idea for a challenge but it would just be you and me and maybe Isobel. She has a bear her godparents gave her when she was born. People never want to do those challenges, sadly. I don’t have my old blankie that my mother sewed new corners on all the time because I rubbed the corners of the fabric between my fingers until they were threadbare. I have a blankie now though. I know. Strange. But it comforts me and keeps me warm for those afternoon naps. Need a picture of your blue blankie.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:24:17

          I didn’t know that the challenges weren’t popular. I seem to see them a lot, but then I don’t see a lot of blogs! (We could call it something else: childhood memorabilia…. I dunno, something funnier or catchier than that!

          Three is a reasonable crowd! I’ll drag out my blankie…. and I’ll be sure to show the burn mark where as a child I used to put it over a lamp to quiet the light. Bad smell, that, of burning blankie!

          I think it’s smart and just right to have things to comfort us as adults. The older I get the more I realize that I’m just a kid in an adult-suit!

          You could take a pic of *air* to showcase your imaginary friend. (ruh-roh–is the imaginary friend still around and now is gonna beat me up?!)

          Reply

          • sweetdaysundertheoaks
            Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:27:54

            No the imaginary friend is long gone. I actually made friends, real ones in school and then I had my horses to turn to. I think it is a plus in this screwed up but also wonderful world to be a kid in and adult suit. I think it is helping you recover Laurel.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:38:04

            I know someone else who took great comfort in being around horses and all the work of tending them.

            That’s an intriguing thought–recovery coming from the child within. Have to ponder that. Tho’ I suppose it’s pretty obvious that I like silly stuff, and whimsy lights up my brain cells.

            If you have any further thoughts about kid in adult suit and recovery, I’d like to hear them. As we all know, I get perspective HERE and healing HERE, not in the medical world.

            My neighbor was just asking me about my recovery: “What do *they* {medicos} say?” I was hard-pressed to keep my reply to my statement about how *they* sent me home with no hint of what could come, so I haven’t bothered to see them. Besides, what can they do?

            Reply

  9. FeyGirl
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:32:49

    GASP! I love it..! I love seeing artists’ spaces!!! WONDERFUL!

    And… I gotta say, at the risk of sounding even stranger than I already am. My aunt made my Bear for me when I was 4 — and I still sleep with him EVERY NIGHT. Oh yes. Stuffed circa 1974 stockings, layers of patches, and all. And my mother has her little bear, but it’s on her nightstand. :) LOVE IT!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:42:01

      Pictures, FeyGirl! Must have pictures! This kind of thing highlights the idea that we’re never grown-up, just taller.

      If you do decide to post pics, please link to me and to Pix so we can spread the happy word. Maybe other bloggers will be inspired to post their pics! It really is a happy topic! >:-D (Have you met Pix–sweetsundayundertheoaks? Lovely lady living in the wilds of Missouri!)

      Reply

      • FeyGirl
        Sep 22, 2012 @ 09:18:48

        No I haven’t met her!! Must send link, please!

        And I will post pics… I promise! I love your bear! LOVE HER (?)! I must honor mine as such… :)

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 22, 2012 @ 09:24:26

          Pix is the one who started this–the link to her blog is in my post, above the teddy bear.

          I think I always said the bear was a “him.” Dunno why!

          Reply

  10. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 07:48:08

    I have run out of replies allowed on my wonderfully appreciated Notification Button so I stampeded over here and saw all your replies! I just think sometimes when we let go of the adultness of ourselves that makes us deal with hard tough things and keeps us a little tied up or trying to act accordingly and we let the kid in us with that wonderful naivete take over occasionally it lets us relax a bit and just be without all the gotta have a stiff upper lip thing.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 22, 2012 @ 08:08:52

      Glad you stampeded! WP can’t keep up!

      I would interpret your thought as meaning we don’t always have to look at every damn hard moment! And sometimes, crying is the ONLY answer! Stamping feet and waving arms with lots of yelling sounds good to me, too.

      I wonder if kids deal with challenges slightly differently–as a general rule. Are they perhaps better at letting go of bad moments (again, very generally speaking), and allow themselves to be distracted by the next shiny thing?

      Thanks, Pix, for taking time to give me a few more words. You have helped me realize that I have been feeling, over these confusing months, very new, perhaps like a child discovering her world. Oh waaaaaah, that makes me cry even though it’s not a bad thing. Just quite a contrast to being an adult…. This es-plains the essential relaxed-ness I have acquired. Hmmmm….

      Reply

      • sweetdaysundertheoaks
        Sep 22, 2012 @ 08:20:01

        I think as kids we don’t know about the bad and we move from moment to moment not knowing how bad the bad can get. And as kids I think fresh hope is always there. Also as kids we unconsciously move to another place emotionally when it is too bad to handle. As adults we force ourselves to deal. Maybe sometimes we need to let ourselves off the hook. I finally had to just say NO to things that stress me out too much. I also finally let CH do some of the worrying about general crap that I had been worrying about. I spent most of our marriage worrying double to make up for the worry he never did… :) We don’t always have to be big old responsible adults, do we? I love that you have acquired essential relaxed-ness. I will be taking a few lessons from you!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Sep 22, 2012 @ 08:43:50

          That’s it, isn’t it–being able to move from moment to moment and not getting mired. Pretty sure the Zen masters have been tryin’ to get through to us!

          Deirdre at Confessions of a Cat Woman, mused some months ago that I had been Zen-ified almost against my will. This brings things full circle–I’ve been re-kid-ified! Yaaaaaay!

          I have a theory about emotion–SOMEONE has to express any emotion that arises. If the person having the emotion doesn’t express it, the emotion travels until SOMEONE ELSE expresses it. !! I’m tellin’ ya, we’re all connected and sometimes it bites us in the bum!

          I have learned enormous, overdue life lessons during this horrible time. The letting go has become almost easy. Quite amazing. Didn’t know I could DO that! The letting go.

          I’m going to send you to a blog that Deirdre has discovered–written by the cat of the Dalai Lama! hahahahahaha! But great wisdom there and a fun book (has to be, with that premise) coming out soon! http://wp.me/p2xa62-x

          We could also re-define “big old responsible adults” to mean “mindin’ our own business” — sometimes we take on too much, taking care of other people, OVER-worrying about their feelings, we assume too much responsibility that we just shouldn’t have.

          Letting go allows relaxation. (Kind of a duh moment, but better late than never!)

          Reply

  11. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 08:06:43

    I edited my post with Teddy to link to this post. Just wanted you to know.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Sunday Stills~Faces « Under The Oaks
  13. 3am Wisdom
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:56:57

    That pic of BuddyBoop cracked me up :)

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

