never mind; I’m used to the other way

Big Mister, swell Big Mister, has been giving me a boatload of his time.  He works hard at his job 5 days a week, makes the drive to visit my mother one evening a week, does 98% of the cooking, fixes my shoulder when it goes bad, and just generally is a delightful companion.

Today, he was helping me to extend the shelving in the studio.  My idea about construction is:  I just want two shelves right there, only about 4 feet long, so it should be fast.  No. No. No.  Poor patient guy.  He does manage to show me the error of my ways like so:

“Here, hold this.”

“Do you want to hold this up or go fetch?”  (I chose “fetch,” but he made me be the holder-upper.)

“Help me tighten the clamps, then you won’t have to hold the wood while I use the saw because it makes you cry.”

I’m willing, so start to twist the screw thingie to get the clamp to meet the boards.   I don’t even bother to think:  lefty-lucy, righty-tighty because it’s never what I expect.  I’m pretty sure the guys what put the threaded things together were actually standing upside down, and that’s why sometimes it’s left-tighty, righty-lucy, like the camper windows.  Why why why?!  So I’m helpin’ by tightening the screw thingie and he says:

“Wait!  Stop!  Oh, never mind.  It’s OK; I’m just used to the other way.”  (The other way meaning:  he almost always has to correct the direction I’ve chosen.)

I barked with laughter.  How could I not?  How could I argue or feel offended?!

Shelving is coming along.  !!  Yaaaaaaaay!

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nadbugs
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 17:59:41

    What a guy you have. One in a million. I am happy to contemplate this.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Sep 16, 2012 @ 18:02:34

      Yes, it’s true, A-Bean. I am very lucky and quite relieved that he was persistent!

      I NEVER agree with people when they say that all the good ones are taken. That says more about the speaker than about anything else in the cosmos!

      Reply

  2. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 05:25:24

    Keeps life interestin’!

    Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 07:49:50

    Love that you are always interestin’! By the way, even on my good days when my brain cells are all firing I can never tell which way to turn the screwie thingies.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

