innards of the marionberry tart

It really isn’t my fault; I was mindin’ my own bidness reading email this a.m.  Under the Oaks mentioned in a comment about the first posting of the tart that it looked good for breakfast.   Sooooo, I’m breaking with long habit and having pie for breakfast with my coffee!

Thanks Oaks, for the great idea!  Sorry no cream!

slice o’ heaven!
for breakfast!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nadbugs
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 09:14:46

    Brutal. You are brutal.

    Reply

  2. mydearbakes
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 09:23:17

    You make very gorgeous bakes, lovely! =)

    Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 12:05:06

    Damn, that looks divine. You know how to surgically assault a tart! Talk about wanting something in the mail! You can keep the rain. Send me the damn plate!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  4. jacquiefioramonti
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 12:35:44

    That looks so yummy. I’d never heard of a marionberry – I learn something new every day here in the blogoshpere. Thanks for sharing that.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 14:55:23

      You’re welcome! Me, too–always learn something from someone here in blog-world! Oh, like those computer classes you do on Saturdays to introduce folks to computers to help them succeed! Made me think of the One Laptop Per Child folks. Good on you!

      Reply

  5. minlit
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 13:24:58

    You have tart for breakfast? Damn, that’s a fine idea. I’ve got a box of blackcurrants and gooseberries sitting on the table. might have to do something . Oh, no. Can’t. Just remembered, life’s too short to make pastry. :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 20, 2012 @ 14:56:47

      I did this a.m., though I usually prefer something a little less sugary and buttery!

      Try the shortbread dough–easy as pie! hahah ahahahaha! And then post pics of whatever you do!

      Hey girl! Welcome back from Slovenia! You have been sorely missed around here!

      Reply

  6. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 04:49:11

    I am glad to assist in the joyous consumption of that beautiful berry pie! And pie gets better the longer it sits. All those delicious berry juices mingle with that crust and then you add the cream and it gets all gooey wonderful and geesh I am going to have to make me a cherry pie or at least pick one up at Schnucks! Your pie reminds me of that Razzleberry pie that Marie Callender cooks up for those of us that are too lazy to do anything but pour the cream over the slice. One hour till breakfast Laurel here in MissouREE!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 21, 2012 @ 09:26:37

      Pick up a pie at a pie-making place that has a gigantic vent fan to take away the 425 degree oven heat! Perhaps Schnucks has cream?

      I’m was late arising this a.m.–how’d breakfast go? Cereal or PIE?!

      Mrs. Rombauer claimed that the tart should be eaten the day it is made. Silly lady. Really, your comment about the tart for breakfast stuck the idea in my head. It sounded so fun that I HAD to break out of my dull(ard) routine and live a little!

      The time stamp on your comment said 4:49 a.m.–were you really up that early?! Probably the only cool moments in the day, huh?

      Reply

  7. IsobelandCat
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 01:53:12

    Looks delicious. Now I need to find out what we call marioneberries, and if we have them…

    Reply

  8. Linda
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 21:37:34

    Thanks Loris. This inspired me to make a triple berry crisp with raspberries from my garden in addition to blueberries and marionberries from the local farmers market. Delicious!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

