shade inside the pergola

The backyard pergola quickly became an outdoor room that I could adorn however I wanted!  All I required was an entrance, scented plants, and interesting shade possibilities.  Herewith:

entry into pergola–the entry is to the left side of the picture. there’s my jasmine right smack in front and just beginning to bloom!

jasmine! (it’s fuzzy, but I’m too lazy to go back outside)

Shade, how to cast shade?  I had a shade sail over it last year, but my goal was to have a flora-ific effect that would cast shade.  I got a Chinese wisteria this year and hope it will spread!  For now, here are baskets o’ fuchsias.

shade inside the pergola cast by baskets and fuchsias

Closer to the fuchsias:

wasn’t sure the fuchsias would get enough shade, but they seem to be very happy!

shade-loving fuchsia overhead seems to be working!

I even hung up a kite!

casting shade inside the pergola

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 17:17:32

    Oh, how lovely Laurel. I especially love the shadows cast my the boards overhead. What a beautiful place to relax. No wonder you love it.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 17:21:17

      Thanks, Kathy. I always sigh a big breath when I go out there…. !! The shadows have been a bonus! They even cast themselves on the garage wall behind and on the sidewalk next to.

      Reply

  2. Jude
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 01:32:51

    It’s lovely – you are an artist!

    Reply

  3. jacquiefioramonti
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 12:48:11

    I love fuschias, besides the fact that they are so colourful and pretty they remind me of one my favourite Aunts, now passed. She grew the most amazing fuschias.

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 16:47:32

    Your Chinese wisteria will spread! They are so beautiful in bloom. Alan has threatened to cut mine down because they go so crazy. Let him try ;)

    Reply

  5. nadbugs
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 05:51:23

    I love everything you do.

    Reply

  6. heretherebespiders
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 13:14:11

    I really, really, really want a Wisteria! No place for it here, and I’ve scared the hubby with stories about how they can pull the chimney right off your house! I showed him your first photo and he said ‘It looks like us!’ Best compliment ever, I think! He loves your lanterns and the tin-can robot :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 14:33:40

      happy Friday, E! I will take his comment as a compliment, too! >:-D Hi hubby!

      Yes, building many pergolas has allowed me to have a wisteria because no way we were going to attach it to the house! 6×6 wood is a good start to keep the pergola intact with wisteria around. but maybe it’ll destroy the top bits. yikes!

      The lanterns are solar so in the evenings I get to see them lighted up. I could have 50 solar lanterns and be quite happy!

      Reply

  7. IsobelandCat
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 13:53:30

    In Greece one of the things I love is when they grow grape vines over these spaces. You could try that. :)

    Reply

  8. ShimonZ
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 05:01:15

    It is a great pleasure to have a place like that… both inside and outside… close to nature.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

