Dear Word Press,

You’re killin’ me here.

Quit messing with commenting.  You guys have taken great pains to advertise your happiness over connecting us to one another —>

Oh, wanna get more views?!  Comment on other blogs! 

[Trust us,] Comments I’ve Made  will follow your comments across Word Press [aren’t we magically helpful?!] so you can see when someone replies to your comments!

I am old and crotchety and have lived long enough to know that nothing is free.  Not even free blogging on Word Press.  Using WP comes with a price, which most of us are willing to pay because of the blogging capabilities.  Some folks blog for their small businesses, some for travel adventures, and some just because they want to.

The idea of blogging is community, isn’t it?  Well, I happen to have grown delightedly accustomed to the community of which I have become a part.   I’ve also come to depend on this community because of serious illness. Blogging has given me a social connection during these last 4-plus months, which has kept the spark of my shattered life glowing.

You tweak the code because you can and it really is upsetting.

You’ve tweaked the code also to make pages load to infinity.  Infinity and beyond was cute and fun for Toy Story and that space-guy, but it has added complexity and frustration.  You have brought out the man behind the curtain and placed him center-stage on each blog so we have to pay attention to each pull of the lever and spouting of smoke.

You might try asking the blogging community what blogging means to them.  Charge money for the software if you’re going to tweak major functions.  I shudder to think that your Happiness Engineers are refugees from Microsoft-World and are only happy now because the meds make them calm.

You might try communicating to the users about changes a-comin’!  Communication.  Just sayin’.

Remember recently when you guys thought it would be genius to make another huge change in commenting?  You received feedback, you said, and I’m guessing it was from about 12 people, and all 12 thought it would be swell to have an email every damn time they commented on a post.  Did you even do a test run to see how many emails would fill your own damn email-box?!

You reversed that not well-thought-out decision.  Thank god.

But now, the Notifications and Comments I’ve Made features seem to be old school and are defunct, or have been malfunctioning for weeks.  Thanks, Microsoft for doing my thinking for me again.  So you win.  I’ve had to check that damn box just so I can stay a part of my community.

There is something I’ve been wondering:  why do you offer WP blogging for free?  What is your payoff?  Speak up, don’t be shy.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 13:01:18

    Darlin’, the next time you feel as if your brains aren’t fully operational remember this: I haven’t even noticed a change yet. Maybe I haven’t been posting enough or looking at my stats daily like I useta… Ok I know I’m not doing either as much! My brain just feels…full. I used the blog to make room and I didn’t do it for a while and now it’s like I have a logjam of thoughts and words and none of it seems important enough when it’s already 9pm and I have to go to bed in two hours but dinner isn’t made and stuff isn’t done… Sorry. I just used your comments as a place to rant!

    Reply

  2. Jude
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 13:12:45

    I hadn’t noticed any changes – but then I go blythely on in a little world of my own! I shall keep a sharp eye from now on.

    Reply

  3. Debra Kolkka
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 03:31:55

    I’m glad they reversed that awful comment thing….that drove me nuts.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 09:04:23

      Oh Debra, with all the folks who comment on your blog(s), you must have groaned every time you looked at your email!

      Wasn’t that comment thing awful?! I went searching in their help pages to see what was up–late in the game I found their “oh gee, all 12 people loved the idea” blither!

      Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 04:37:26

    OhMyGosh I am loving this!!! I just spent three days with the Happiness Engineers trying to get my blog from sliding off the left side of the page after they added Infinite Misery to my blog theme and then added a little blue “load more posts” button. I asked them to put it back the way it was and it is. For now. And they must have heard you Laurel cause my notifications button is behaving quite well this morning!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 09:07:29

      Glad to be of service! Now if they’d just fix the letter-writer’s Notifications! grrrr…

      Weren’t you and Isobel talking about this very thing–**someone** said that if you have something in your footer, Infinite Misery couldn’t happen. Luckily, I’d placed my Creative Commons thingie there, so I missed THAT bit of code tweak!

      So glad your notifications are working again, Pix. For a while, Tweeter must have seemed mighty attractive!

      Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 18:23:21

    I, too, am glad that changed that ridiculous comment policy. It was crazy. Sorry to hear you continue to face commenting issues, my friend. And sorry to have been away all week. Tomorrow’s post should explain my absence. I’ve missed reading you, dear Laurel!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 06, 2012 @ 09:57:06

      Welcome back, though bruised and battered you may be! Hope your temps moderate–that’s awfully hot that you were describing.

      The commenting issues have to be a part of the Universe re-working my world and forcing me to let go. Just sayin’. Doesn’t make it easier because I LIKE it here!

      Reply

  6. ShimonZ
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 05:16:16

    Yes, I found the infinite scroll down a little irritating too. But I do appreciate the service we’ve been getting here on WordPress. I have used other platforms in the past, and this is my favorite, so far. Still, it’s very important to do what you want to do… and not let others hype you with their agenda.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 18, 2012 @ 08:35:11

      Hidden agendas give me the willies. (Do you know that expression? Makes shivers of dread travel my spine.)

      This is my first blogging experience and it has been seamless for most of this year that I’ve been on WP. That must be my greatest frustration–seeing the wizard behind the curtain and wondering what he’s gonna do next!!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

