legions that haunt

Finally.  I have dreamt of the legions in my head that have been haunting me since the hospitalization.  Even now, more than 12 hours after waking, I can see the pictures of that which dwells within still.  I have seen their faces.

The germ, the crux, the bit to pay attention to is all me:  wanting to make cookies.   But every time I found an empty kitchen surface upon which to work, a fast-moving someone in the boisterous crowd would come along and stack all kinds of unrecognizable stuff on it, making the work surface at first uneven and then precariously unstable.

In my dream I decided to stop trying.  Folded up my toys and let the legions howl around me, in their ways, knowing that seeking a spot wasn’t working and that I would have to wait for cleared space.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 23:55:56

    Wow…creepy. And quite the metaphor for what was going on with you physically, and still is. Very strange what our brains do when we aren’t looking.

    Reply

  2. Jude
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 23:59:14

    Well written Laurie. Love the way you paint a picture with words!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 30, 2012 @ 09:38:19

      Jude–thank you! (I musta signed one time as “Laurie” because it is deeply ingrained having been used by my family for aeons! I forget sometimes… and am on auto-pilot!)

      Hey, your very tiny ultralight doesn’t have auto-pilot except for the handsome guy at the controls, yes?!

      Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 06:30:38

    It will clear!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 30, 2012 @ 09:39:27

      Pix, I hope so. I’m having a little bit of a bad time with the rather large pain following the root canal and my mood is “when the hell will this end?!”. Thank you so much for stopping by! >:-D

      Reply

  4. nadbugs
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 19:05:43

    The waiting can be so hard, can’t it. But sounds like your unconscious is doing a splendid job of being philosophical. Which, after all, is what it takes, my opinion. Taking the longer view. That kind of (discouraging but still necessary) character-building sh*t.

    But really, does it not seem you’ve got to the root of the matter? (A pun worthy of minlit, if I say so myself . . . ) And that being so, can the healing begin for real? Let us hope.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jul 02, 2012 @ 16:46:40

      My character is gi-normous. Just sayin’!

      I want to just BE rather than wait, if that makes sense.

      (And where is that punster minlit, anyway?! You did fine there Bean! Minlit would be proud!)

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

