the root of it all

In an hour, I will have a root canal, a repeat from 2009 of kill-that tooth-dead-and-rip-out-its-life-giving-roots.  I will also be drugged to the gills, thank you very much.  Have to take the meds in 1/2 hour, so I’ve got to write fast before I become lu-lu again.

A couple of months ago I went to have my teeth cleaned in anticipation of leaving any minute now for Italy.  I wanted to be shiny!  That tooth had been bothering me a little since 2009, but I figured I was clenching my jaw at night.  X-rays that day showed differently, that there was something going on under the tooth, in the jaw, and it showed in mottled black, which was unlovely.

My dentist told me that if there were an infection, which would only happen if bacteria remained after the root canal, the professional thinking was mixed, that the infection could stay localized.  That it probably didn’t cause the sinus infections and ear problems I’d been experiencing for a couple of years.  Just co-ink-ee-dink that the problematic ear was on the same side as that lower-jaw molar.

When I returned to the endodontist six weeks ago, at the office of which I’d had the original root canal, he said No way that the infection in my jaw would cause other problems, that it would stay localized.  Even in my half-witted state, it sounded ridiculous that an infection would stay localized.

Back in January I developed a sinus infection that wouldn’t go away.  In early February I went to my physician’s assistant to get antibiotics for same so I’d be healthy for my long-awaited extended solo trip to Italy.   At the time, the PA gave me a sinus-infection lecture I’ve never heard from a medic, the crux of which is that untreated, a simple sinus infection really isn’t that simple.  The sinuses are very close to the brain and medics are concerned with infections that close to the brain.  Gimmee the drugs, man.

A week later, I was in the hospital with systemic infection that was threatening my life.

Afterwards, nobody seemed willing to put these things together.  Were they afraid of blame and doorsteps?  Or is it the juxtaposition of the noisy shininess of modern medicine with the huge unknowns of our body’s processes?  Ever feel like a pincushion or guinea pig?  It’s because the docs don’t know what the hell is going on, but have enough training to try to find out.

Dang, ran out of time and have had to take the meds.  Hope I don’t sound like the half-wit I fear I have become.  The good news is that I’ve improved since the hospitalization and am no longer a complete idiot!  >:-D

Ooo-ooo!  The sedative I’m taking is called Halcion.  Hmmm… sounds just like “halcyon,” which means Denoting a period of time in the past that was idyllically happy and peaceful!  Gotta love big pharma!  The drug causes problems with short-term memory, so the theory goes that I won’t remember what went on.

I love that theory and the reassurance it offers, but I’m pretty sure that memory is created on cellular levels, too, so I’ll prolly hafta go through some weird-ass PTSD episode to get this out of my system, too.  But I choose to be drugged enough to not care.  I just hope I don’t try to speak French after the two-hour  procedure like I did to the original endodontist, who was French.  !!  I sure as hell remember that!

Lu-lu-lu!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 07:52:41

    Brutal…I have an uncomfortable tooth, it’s been bothering me for a little while. Think I’ll follow your lead and get it taken care of quick.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 28, 2012 @ 10:52:28

      and i recoommendd the pre-meds sedatives…. wheeee! all done!

      yes, that lesson i have learned –keep on rtaking care of my teeth, no mater the cost.

      Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 13:14:38

    Good luck with the root canal, dear Laurel! I hate dental work!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 28, 2012 @ 15:13:47

      Hi Kathy! Back and much less stoned now. Have that happy moment between the heavy druggedness and the pain beginning!

      Yeah, Kathy, in the last 5 to 10 years, I even ask for nitrous for cavities, of which I have few fortunately.

      Nice to have you back in blog world, dear!

      Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 13:57:41

    Ugh… ‘Yes, you have a persistent infection in your head, but it’ll play nice and just stay where it is.’ Sigh.
    Hope what you remember went well :) I’ve had several, never a problem.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 28, 2012 @ 15:21:07

      I think it DID go well. Prolly helped that they encouraged me to take all 3 little pills instead of only 2 for the grand re-opening last month! No French, but on the way to the bathroom, I may have told the assistant that all my muscles were glued together and it was making me walk funny.

      Yeah, I thought the first root canal was fine. I have no blame for anyone. Please?! They missed a bacterium? Well, those suckers are tiny and resilient!

      “Ugh” “Sigh” yes, you captured that well. Kinda leaves me speechless at that kind of circling-the-wagons, close-mouthed (hahahahahaha! Look, Spiders, I punned!) attitude).

      (I just saw my reply to Sharon–I’d only been home 1/2 hour or so! hahahahahah!)

      Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 16:45:24

    Hi! I am glad all is good with your tooth. I got me the giggles over your comment back to Sharon. I can’t type tonight and I haven’t had any kind of drugs not even a glass of wine! I have had to correct so much I am giving up and wishing you good tooth recovery wishes!

    Reply

  5. Jude
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 11:19:57

    You’ve really been having a wonderful time with the old health issues! :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 11:23:50

      Yep! I may have aged a few years over the last few months! Since I was feeling like crapola anyway, it seemed like a good time to add extra crap-ness now instead of enduring it when I’m finally feeling better.

      Reply

  6. nadbugs
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 17:13:58

    Oh man oh man. Well — better out than in . . .

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 17:17:54

      I wonder if I could start to match up episodes with intrusions–like this:

      “agggggh, screaming now! [that one’s for the spinal puncture!]”

      “breathe, breathe! [that one’s for the right-arm-IV.]”

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

