poppies got hats!

caught this poppy before its petals popped open and drooped over.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    May 18, 2012 @ 03:07:28

    I LOVE poppies

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    May 18, 2012 @ 06:21:08

    Ha! They DO look like hats. Poppies are gorgeous–one of my favorite flowers.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    May 18, 2012 @ 10:33:25

    I’m growing some from seed, if they ever get heat and warmth! I like yours with their green berets on :) Warrior Poppies!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 18, 2012 @ 10:47:02

      warrior poppies, indeed!

      have your seeds sprouted?

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        May 18, 2012 @ 11:35:15

        Ye-ee-sss but they are really thin stemmed and I have no idea how I’m going to replant them. Guess I should have planted where I wanted them to stay. That’s the California poppies, the others I’ve forgotten where there are in the tray.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          May 18, 2012 @ 12:20:57

          I wonder: could you plant the whole tray outdoors–if the weather wants ’em out there–and then transplant when they’re sturdier? (I do know that you can’t kill California poppies here!)

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            May 18, 2012 @ 12:24:43

            It’s an idea – but there’s another issue we have! Slugs. Bastards eat everything. The rudbeckia Sled warned against seems to be particularly tasty. Sigh. I got hubby to get me slug killer, but he went as green and gentle as possible and it doesn’t work. Need some serious poison…

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            May 18, 2012 @ 12:33:38

            weird slug solutions: dishes of beer! M put out blobs of [crap! I can’t remember! but will ask him when he gets home] on tin foil.

            copper wire around plantings, tho’ I have my doubts.

            salt?

            garrrr, I hate killing things, but I don’t know where the dividing line is sometimes. I often toss a slog away over a fence–surely that kills it on the fall to earth?! agggghh!

            see if this does anything for you: http://eartheasy.com/grow_nat_slug_cntrl.htm.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            May 18, 2012 @ 12:39:34

            I’ve seen TWO recommendations for seaweed and I know you have a source! >:-D

            Reply

            • heretherebespiders
              May 18, 2012 @ 13:17:38

              The year we didn’t have a dog, I went around the garden every eve with a salt shaker. I got over a thousand in a few months! I’m not leaving corpses for her to step on/eat, though. It’s BAD. Some of them are the size of my thumb. And I got big hands :) I totally don’t mind killing the bastards. Yes, they love beer, but then you have a slimy beer muck thing to clean out :( The seaweed wasn’t that close to home, but I did bring home some sand to use in my potting, and it’s still salty…

          • lahgitana
            May 18, 2012 @ 18:25:01

            salty sand sounds like a deterrent to me! share your efforts!

            Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

