the REST of the drawings!

It ain’t easy being me.

I posted a collection of geometric mosaic drawings on my room wall and here.  Occasionally, afterwards, I would see a pattern in a book that seemed familiar:  hadn’t I drawn that?  is it on the wall?  No?  OK, I guess I didn’t draw it.

Here are the drawings I had secreted away (from myself!) that began it all!  I did do all the patterns in Robert Field’s book.  I’m still unclear how my brain could parse these designs then reproduce them while I could hardly think one thought completely through.  There’s probably research out there, but I guess I don’t care.  It just was.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IsobelandCat
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:47:06

    Have you thought eabout pebble mosaics? There is an amazing artist here called Maggy Howarth. She has a website. http://www.maggyhowarth.co.uk/

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 02, 2012 @ 11:18:05

      I have quite frequently thought of pebble mosaics. They seem too hard to me! My vision is that all those pebbles are the same color and all look alike. Rather like a jigsaw puzzle that is a close-up of the wing of an aircraft!

      Thanks for link. Will go look. Do you do pebble work?

      Reply

      • IsobelandCat
        May 02, 2012 @ 11:19:04

        No, but I’d like to. I am having a break from mosaics. I’ve lost my mojo…

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          May 02, 2012 @ 11:23:25

          aw, rats, I hate when the mojo goes on vacation. hope the pathways clear up soon so the mojo can get through….

          I just clicked the link and gasped at the photos! I’m such a fool–all look alike–definitely not! my goodness!

          I now have two places in Britain where i want to take classes. Yikes!

          Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:25:14

    Wow! Amazing such order can come when one’s mnd feels disordered. Maybe I need art-therapy too!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 02, 2012 @ 16:51:23

      I have been thinking that very thing–art therapy. Keeps me calm, uses my brain, and makes me happy because I get to think about mosaics.

      Do your ART, Spiders!!!! Brush Mr. Smith in that graveyard; he’s a sad man. Tell your stories with your art, which I can tell brings you joy!

      Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    May 02, 2012 @ 16:56:42

    God, I love these. I love that you are doing them. I love it all. I also wonder about pebble mosaics. They are so damn cool.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 02, 2012 @ 17:05:27

      Ooo, Kathy! Go to that link! There are some bold designs I bet you’d love!

      Re: these designs. The author has written other books about designs–next I want the one about Islamic geometric patterns! >:-D

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

