what I did on my brain-vacation

Here is the evidence of the work I did on the Roman mosaic geometric patterns.  It finally occurred to me to post them where I could see them.  Now, hanging out in this blue room, here is the joy of mosaics for me.

One of my goals as a mosaic artist is to design floor mosaics.

Many of these patterns come from mosaic floors in Fishbourne Palace in Britain.  That’s on my list to see some day.   Maybe I’ll start my postponed Italy trip by landing in the UK and seeing what I can see!

(click on any pic to get a slideshow started.)

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:12:06

    It sure did work! The 3D one on the left messed with my head a bit :)

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 17:01:19

    Damn, Laurel. Maybe your brain needs a vacation more frequently. Can’t wait for the floor! However, the comment above made me laugh, as I’d probably fall, as well. I fall all the time anyway.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. Jude
    May 01, 2012 @ 05:40:03

    Blimey Laurel, those patterns would mess with my head for sure! Some can make your eyes go squiffy! Amazing creations though.
    You’d love this part of the world – Roman history all over the place. It’s hubby’s favourite thing. I’ll post a pic for you from Arles.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 01, 2012 @ 07:55:38

      In the midst of a few of those patterns, my eyes definitely went squiffy! And thank you for the necessary addition to my vocabulary! Yes, the geometry involved boggles my mind.

      I DO love that part of the world. Those Ancient Romans have been fascinating to me for yonks. The times I’ve been in Europe, I was not attending to Roman history. But that just means I’ll be back! Which I was planning to do…. >:-D

      Oh yes! Post a pic from Arles! Mayhap my Italy trip is turning into a trip that screams “I lived through all that, so now I’m gonna live big!” so that I add other destinations to my itinerary. It’s only money! >:-D And it’s only monopoly money anyway…. mere paper!

      Has your husband studied the Romans? Any particular parts he loves?

      Reply

  4. IsobelandCat
    May 01, 2012 @ 09:42:43

    Greece. You have to go to Greece.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 01, 2012 @ 10:05:29

      Oh Isobel, Greece has been on my list since I was a child. I keep telling the Big Mister that we have to move to Europe–so much to experience!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: the REST of the drawings! « Rockin' the Purple!
  6. minlit
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:39:22

    It’s like rainman, but without the box of matches. Or maybe you’re like me, an idiot savon – stupid but bubbly :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      May 02, 2012 @ 11:16:04

      oh thank you! I’m an idiot savon! stupid, but bubbly! hahahahahahahaha!

      Or, as in one of my favorite Buffy episodes: “Foamy!”

      of course, I can’t remember the reference to the box of matches. sigh…. hahahahahaha!

      Reply

      • minlit
        May 02, 2012 @ 11:47:42

        You too with the Buffy? On a total revisit these days. Later series and have also started reading the post–tv series in comic formats. Love Joss Whedon.
        Box of matches – Rainman – he can count a box of matches spilled on the floor in a split second, General mathematical genius tendencies.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          May 02, 2012 @ 12:27:16

          Have you yet revisited the episode “Hush”? Scary as hell, but with some of the most memorable hilarity!

          How about Firefly, the Joss Whedon outer space American Western?

          Holy cow, that Rainman sure isn’t me!

          Reply

          • minlit
            May 02, 2012 @ 12:51:55

            Am actually watching Serenity this week – it’s related to Firefly, but I haven’t seen that. Am going to The Avengers though! I LOVED hush, but the Buffy episodes that are really getting me at the moment are Once More With Feeling (the musical episode – got a whole ear wormery there!) and the series six episode Normal Again.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            May 02, 2012 @ 13:01:54

            Oh yes, the movie, Serenity. Good’un. We re-watch it every so often. Whedon’s humor is my kind of unexpected funny!

            I had to go look up Normal Again–barely remember it. The musical episode was hilariously weird and so well done!

            The Avengers? Oh! I didn’t realize that it was Joss! Onto the Netflix list.

            Don’t forget to see Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog!

            Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

