front yard garden

Lots of action in the perennial garden.  I love being a passive participant this year–worked my bum off in spring 2010 and this is my reward.  This is only about 1/8th of the front yard (street-side) that is dead-on south-facing, so has lots of possibilities.

(I apologize for the weird spacing below.  It’s probably a Buddhist expression of peace and moving slowly.  I’m making that up.  I’m not very good with WP, but I also am not a perfectionist, so there!)

BuddyBoop hung out with me:

He's fluffy, really! By the time he finishes shedding, he won't be a foot wide!

shade garden

I created the shade garden by planting tall ornamental grasses on the south and west sides of the existing Picea spp (spruce tree).  There is bleeding heart (Dicentra spectabilis), several species of hosta, three species of Heuchera, delphinium, columbine (aquilegia spp.) with double, pink, lacy 1-inch flowers, and two species of ferns.

 

 

 

 

the lilac bed

The lilac I placed close to the front door so the heavenly scent would greet me every time I walked to and from the car.

Also in the bed:

perennials–bachelor buttons (Centaurea montana ‘Amethyst Dream’); hosta being shaded by the lilac; grape hyacinths

ornamental grasses–Mexican feather grass (Nassella tenuissima) in pots so they’ll wave above the bed; Japanese Forest Grass (the striped grass) (Hakonechloa macra ‘Aureola’).

shrubs–Euonymus fortunei ‘Emerald ‘n’ Gold’–it’s the yellow blotchy thingie; Weigela (Weigela florida ‘Red Prince’)–wonderful deep red trumpet-shaped flowers.

and rocks!  I LOVE rocks!

 

 

bachelor buttons in the lilac bed

There’s a rose bush to the right of the buttons (the red growth).  It was probably original to the house and had been planted in a peculiar place quite far from the house.

Last year, with a horribly painful shoulder, I dug it out–humongous roots–and put it next to the lilac. I found its tag way down in its roots–it’s called ‘Almost Wild’ and I understand why because it looks more like a wild rose.  And!  It’s scented!

There’s just something amazing about a scented garden being warmed by a south-facing sun… primal and earthy!

 

 

 

 

 

What else do we have here close to the house?

black mondo grass with funny berries, plus columbine leaves

turns out, the lilac does hate me! it only has ONE blossom!

bluebells right near the front door

 

 

Poppy leaves spreading out behind. Hops vines poking into the pic.  To the left of the bluebells is a grand clump of phlox, a pink scented variety.

close-up of the bluebells

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IsobelandCat
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 13:17:03

    Do you have an insect mansion? I really want one!

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 16:34:43

    Strangely enough, we didn’t have a single blossom on our lilac bush this year. Wonder why? Winter just too weird?

    At any rate, your garden is gorgeous, Laurel!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 28, 2012 @ 16:51:28

      I wonder why no blossoms?! Did you do any pruning last summer? I think lilac may bloom on old wood, so if a lilac is pruned late, the new buds will be cut off. In my case, it apparently had an issue with being transplanted–and that was only 2 years ago! But that’s OK; my peony hates me too!

      Thank you, Kathy. I love having this garden. It’s plenty messy here and there, but it is a work in progress, which I do enjoy.

      Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 09:01:11

    Well you haven’t had you “bum” planted on the porch, you been working hard! BuddyBoop is awesome!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:55:22

      this year, definitely mostly bum on porch. a little pottering around that’s all.

      And isn’t that kitty just gorgeous?! He chose us through the cat door and we are so happy he did. He’s a content guy and loves us!

      Reply

  4. heretherebespiders
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 14:59:21

    Showed the hubby Boop just because I knew he would make him smile – I was right! He and I love your garden – he’s jealous of the bowling balls, whereas I have rocks enough to share if you want some :( Again we do have very similar climates, but the only lilac I know of nearby I haven’t had a gander at – will try to remember tomorrow morn to gawk on the way to work!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 16:22:53

      That’s what I call him–Boop! Because he boops along so happy and sweet.

      Thank you Spiders for the kind words. And thank you, Spiders’ hubby! (I love the bowling balls, too.)

      I’d like to hear about that lilac. I can’t believe mine isn’t putting out, so to speak! >:-D It has had 2 years to get over the transplant! Harumph!

      Oh yes, send rocks! Will pay postage! Must have Irish rocks from Spiders’ garden! >:-D

      Reply

  5. Jude
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 03:23:43

    Lovely garden and gorgeous fluffy BuddyBoop! Do you have a herb garden too?

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 30, 2012 @ 06:56:54

      We do: two kinds of sage, rosemary, scallions (well… they’re kind of an herb! sort of!), oregano, thyme, and I can’t remember. But it is in the back near the pergola so that I brush by the rosemary and get that earthy hot-weather scent!

      Do you have an herb garden? You have to–you’re in France! (It must be a law, or so goes my weird thinking!)

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

