quietly popular for 10-1/2 minutes

Woke up shortly after falling asleep and have retired to my recuperation room, a place where I don’t bother Big while he tries to rest up from his full week of work.

When I got in here, Calpurrnia was crashed on the sofa, so I wrapped myself into the available space and we hung out.  Then BuddyBoop came into the room in his enthusiastic “I love everybody and everybody loves me” way.  He used the sofa as the launching pad to the scratching post by the window; he knows to not linger by the tiny girl kitty who is so grouchy to him.

He lay on the post, facing the room and here we all were.  For 10-1/2 minutes.

Then Calpurrnia left to get a snack and BuddyBoop followed her.  He loves to follow her to see what she’s doing even though she’d like him to go back out the kitty door and never come back thank you very much.

Later, it will be Calpurrnia sleeping between our heads, purring loudly, and BuddyBoop squished at my feet.

It’s a funny little family and I love being a part of it.  Each of them makes me feel like they love having me here, too.   How nice is that?!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 01:49:48

    That’s what cats do best. Apart from the yogic arse licking.

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 04:03:44

    Ha, love the idea of your curling into the “available space.” Amazing the pretzels we twist ourselves into to prevent displacing our pets.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. Jude
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 04:28:22

    Love the name ‘Calpurrnia’! The ‘purrr’ bit being very cat-like! Hope you recuperated a bit.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 21, 2012 @ 08:31:41

      We rescued her from death row–really really death row: when we had finished fussing over her in the Humane Society cold metal cage, we took the card with her particulars to the front desk to hand over $$$ and take her home. They were most apologetic: “Oh, I’m so sorry. She has already been euthanized.” Big Mister (husband) was insistent: “Well, she looks pretty good to us, so we want her.”

      We pondered her name for a couple of weeks, then started talking about cats’ relationships to their humans. Their innate imperious nature suggested Caesar, but she’s a girl, so we named her after Caesar’s wife, Calpurnia, “who must be above reproach.” The “purr” seemed appropriate!

      My emotions are steadier now after having written that post about Mom. This really has been a trial (since Feb.) and some days it gets to me, apparently. Big went to see Mom yesterday and she was doing OK. So, proxy works for me. Thanks for good wishes, Jude–I take them to heart.

      I hope you hang around so you’ll see the lovely nut-balls who haunt this place and the fun we usually have. –Laurel

      Reply

      • Jude
        Apr 22, 2012 @ 02:45:41

        Well I had no idea what Ceaser’s wife’s name was, but what a purrrfect name for a cat. And so glad you rescued her. Now you have to rescue you and be as good as new again. :)

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 22, 2012 @ 06:39:39

          If I remember correctly, Calpurnia was “set aside” because she was NOT above reproach even though she may not have done anything worthy of reproach. I forget who came after her!

          Jude, yes, I am in rescue-self mode, which I discovered is not as easy as it sounds. I’ve learned just how many pulls there are on my attentions because I’ve had to let them go. sigh…. Ommmmm!

          Reply

  4. nadbugs
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 14:56:48

    Extremely, extremely nice. Especially your reply to Jude.

    Reply

  5. Jude
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 06:29:14

    I just tagged you!
    If you want to play that game, hit the link!
    http://thewriterinthewoods.wordpress.com/2012/04/22/i-got-tagged/

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

