it really would have cost much less to go to Italy! For 3 months!

In a previous post, I ranted and raved about wanting health care and not health insurance.  Thanks to this hospital, I got health care and am alive to be my own strange self!

I’m in a weird mood, so….

If I had insurance, the portion that the insurance company would have paid would still have left me hurting financially. The hospital may be writing off this cost–apparently, they’re doing that A LOT these days!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IsobelandCat
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 14:56:25

    I admit, I don’t really understand this. Do you have to pay or not? And is there really a charge of $230 to be discharged from hospital.
    Thank goodness for the NHS! For all it’s faults, we don’t have this.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:00:05

      I don’t know yet whether the hospital has granted me financial aid, though judging by their income guidelines, I do qualify for 100%!

      That was impressive, wasn’t it, the $230 to be discharged. That must have been the 7 minutes the discharge doc spent with me, encouraging me to postpone my trip for two weeks. Thanks, buddy, for that info! grrrr…

      I don’t know anything about NHS, Isobel. All we get to hear is that there are long queues to get in to see a doc.

      Reply

  2. IsobelandCat
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:16:37

    Scaremongering! Yes, we have to wait sometimes, but not in emergencies. For all its faults it is a fantastic service. My mother nursed prior to the NHS, during its introduction and once it was established and she rated it highly. I have grown up with it, so have never known anything else, but it is threatened by our current government.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:26:25

      Yes, I had figured that the populace wouldn’t put up with a horrible system! Very nice to know that it is a health care service that works. Now, if only the US would quit bowing to the insurance companies–oh, don’t get me going!

      And I realized I may not have answered your question above–yes, that amount is what I owe and will have to pay unless the hospital grants me financial aid (= writing it off as a tax break!).

      Reply

  3. IsobelandCat
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 15:42:35

    That is an awful lot of money!

    Reply

  4. nadbugs
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 20:22:01

    Listen, I’m just glad you’re alive. And that we don’t have debtor’s prison.

    Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 14:57:39

    HFSOMGWTFBBQ!!!! I’m…I’m… I gotta pee.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 15:06:50

      BBQ sounds good! The rest of it has to be the best swearing I ever did hear!

      Hope your pee came out OK!

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Apr 17, 2012 @ 15:17:54

        I was trying to say this bill made me have to relieve myself… if it were mine, I’d laugh until I had to wash my shorts.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 17, 2012 @ 15:20:32

          Part of the deal with the financial aid office was to arrange with the hospital business office to make payments. I was willing to at least ask…. The guy I talked to said, well we can push this out for 12 months, but that would make your payment $1,800 a month! I barked a laugh and he stifled one!

          Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

