errata: could use cheering up: got jokes?

It took me two days after posting the jokes to understand why I had such trouble with one of them as I was typing.  Couldn’t quite figure it out, but tried and thought I had succeeded.

Q:  What do you call a thrown stick that won’t come back?

A:  A boomerang.

It was sposta be:

Q: What do you call a boomerang that won’t come back?

A:  A stick.

This is a rough go, coming on the finish of the second month of being out of action, never mind going to Italy.   I’m a tough cookie and can take a lot before I start screaming.  The myriad physical parts to recovery I can take.  But really, this confusion that springs up on me unexpectedly gets me down.  If I were confused all the time, the way I was for the first several weeks out of hospital, it would not be notable.

Nowhere in the discharge instructions were there comments about how “you may experience confusion, memory loss, difficulty concentrating, and we sure as hell don’t know how long that will go on, but good luck and don’t let the door hit you in the bum on the way out.”

I sound bitter.  It really isn’t anyone’s fault, but I guess it would be easier if I had some sort of knowledgeable medico to help me along.  Since I’m so leery of medicos, that doesn’t help me either.  But my judgement is way off because of the dampened thinking abilities, so I don’t trust myself.

Waaah waaaah waaaah!

I’m still reading good books, and oddly enough, I’ve been able to work with re-creating Roman geometric mosaic patterns.  These things are complex, but the author,  Robert Field, has given great direction.  A pleasant result has been that I wrote to Mr. Field and we have had a couple of exchanges.  He lives in the UK and is an artist and practicing mosaicist and a lovely person, to boot!

Robert Field, Geometric Patterns from Roman Mosaics

I really don’t get how I can understand the complexities of geometric figures right now when I forget what Big and I have been talking about mid-conversation.  Sigh…

Make us all laugh!  Whatcha got?!  >:-D

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. IsobelandCat
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 12:54:13

    You know, I think what you are saying is a common experience. Medics work with other medics and paramedics. Things which seem so obvious to them as to not be worth mentioning are the same things that throw the rest of us. And it is always after you have left hat you realise what you should have asked.
    Take time, body and mind need to recover. Maybe the patterns are working on a visual level, for you. Could Big communicate with you in cartoons? :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:08:13

      Isobel, I think you’re right about ALL: taking the ride, no matter the pieces. Probably everyone responds differently to heavy-duty drugs and heavy-duty leaning toward death. On an intellectual level, I understand that my body went through hell and needs time to regain equilibrium. On an emotional and “I didn’t go to Italy as planned” level, I’m not as accepting, apparently!

      I want to take this ride with acceptance and grace. Mostly it’s working. … Just talking about it is good for me–I do tend to stumble along by myself, often not telling Big what’s really going on. Sigh….

      I’m highly visual, so I bet you’re right–at least my brain is working well here and there, so I’ll just do stuff I can do until I can do stuff I hadn’t been able to do. If you follow….

      Big has been making cartoon faces and noises at me, which I just love, so yes, he is communicating! He is also the soul of patience and reminds me calmly what we were just talking about!

      Reply

  2. nadbugs
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 13:54:59

    Horse: [walks into a bar]
    Barkeep: Why the long face?

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:09:18

      hhahahaha hahahaha haahhha! excellent! I will not tell you how old I was before I actually understood that joke. I got caught up in the horse being in a bar and the fact that he seemed sad.

      Reply

      • nadbugs
        Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:51:18

        That’s because you’re all heart. (Your response is a case in point. Not — oh groan that old chestnut! Nope. You’ve got way too much class to be that uncaring of my tender feelings. I want you to know: YOU ARE APPRECIATED.)

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 07, 2012 @ 15:29:58

          Apparently, to me there was nothing weird about a horse being in a bar. hmmm… maybe I’m not correct in my assumption that my brain is cloudy now! It always has had different neural pathways, which is why I’m horrible at idioms in any language. >:-D

          Thank you, Bean, for your kind words!

          Reply

  3. minlit
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:00:47

    So sorry, Can’t read past joke correction laughuuing so much.. .back soon, when no tears….

    Reply

  4. minlit
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:04:17

    ok, Sorta calm now. Look, I had this level of confusion post-partum, and I’ve never fully recovered. It’s purely down to a level of exhaustion that takes you on a cellular level. You’ll be fine. Don’t stress about it. Honestly, I can string a sentence together most days, but I still have trip-like relapses. It’s like when you learn to see/do in mirror form, you can have flashbacks forever after. The brain can learn, but not unlearn. It will come back.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:14:37

      Thank you, minlit! Apparently I keep needing to hear that I’m not going to feel forever like a dunderhead with a cotton-lined brain pan!

      I was just talking to Big about my past life training in emergency medicine and biology, and that surely that horrible slump toward non functioning parts o’ me had to be on a cellular level. Especially the dehydration.

      Glad I could bring you to tears, dearie!

      Reply

  5. minlit
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:05:31

    Oh, and my joke for the day. Made it up myself.
    Tourists in Turkey being advised not to buy any souvenir jewellery, cos Istanbul’s not constant in opals.
    Are you crying now?…..

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 14:16:40

      Very very good! Excellent! My face is frozen into a grin!

      Here’s something I saw on a reader board outside a pharmacy (don’t get the connection, but it was funny!):

      To make the Van Gogh,
      You have to give it De-gas!

      Reply

  6. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 16:22:04

    OMG–how funny! How fucking funny!

    At the same time, I have to say that during the times when I have been most confused, I’ve always been able to draw complex geometric designs, I have absolutely NO idea why, but it could be something similar to you and mosaic. Weird, isn’t it?

    Hang in there, sweetie!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  7. littlemiao
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 09:29:49

    The Miao Brothers and Miaolings send you lots of furry snuggles and purrs.

    Reply

  8. nadbugs
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 20:08:09

    Thought of you; couldn’t resist. Do you have a favorite? Mine might be the thesaurus.

    I don’t enjoy computer jokes; not one bit.
    I changed my iPod’s name to Titanic. It’s syncing now.
    When chemists die, they barium.
    Jokes about German sausage are the wurst.
    I know a guy who’s addicted to brake fluid. He says he can stop any time.
    How does Moses make his tea? Hebrews it.
    I stayed up all night to see where the sun went. Then it dawned on me.
    This girl said she recognized me from the vegetarian club, but I’d never met herbivore.
    I’m reading a book about anti-gravity. I just can’t put it down.
    I did a theatrical performance about puns. It was a play on words.
    They told me I had type-A blood, but it was a Type-O.
    PMS jokes aren’t funny; period.
    We’re going on a class trip to the Coca-Cola factory. I hope there’s no pop quiz.
    I didn’t like my beard at first. Then it grew on me.
    Did you hear about the cross-eyed teacher who lost her job because she couldn’t control her pupils?
    When you get a bladder infection urine trouble.
    Broken pencils are pointless.
    I tried to catch some fog, but I mist.
    What do you call a dinosaur with an extensive vocabulary? A thesaurus.
    England has no kidney bank, but it does have a Liverpool.
    I used to be a banker, but then I lost interest.
    I dropped out of communism class because of lousy Marx.
    All the toilets in New York’s police stations have been stolen. The police have nothing to go on.
    I got a job at a bakery because I kneaded dough.
    Haunted French pancakes give me the crêpes.
    Velcro — what a rip off!
    A cartoonist was found dead in his home. Details are sketchy.
    Venison for dinner again? Oh deer!
    The earthquake in Washington obviously was the government’s fault.
    Be kind to your dentist. He has fillings, too.

    Reply

  9. lahgitana
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 08:40:48

    Very nice! Moses making tea–I like especially!

    Reply

  10. Trackback: what I did on my brain-vacation « Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

