1 dollar and 29 cents!

Our VCR finally quit, so we went in search of a new one:  Amazon; pawn shop; and, a music equipment store (they don’t even sell them anymore!).

We scored at Goodwill (for you outta-towners, it’s a junk store that earns $$$ for charity).  We paid $1.29!  No foolin’!

My life is now complete.  >:-D

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:19:25

    Wow. I feel a bit old :) I had to leave mine behind in the US as it wouldn’t work here – I sold it for more than $1.29 tho!

    Reply

  2. IsobelandCat
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:28:53

    Brilliant! I still have mine, but hardly ever use it. But I am clinging onto some old tapes, so while I have those, it’ll stay. They get offered and taken quite a lot on the local free cycle sites.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 16:34:12

      That’s the way I feel Isobel–keep it until we don’t have tapes anymore. The tapes do tend to break and are kinda fuzzy, but why buy DVDs since the tapes still work?!

      Reply

      • IsobelandCat
        Apr 03, 2012 @ 01:09:28

        Space! They take up less room and I live in a small flat. :) I have a DVD player with my tv, but have bought only a couple of discs.i borrow from the library. Most of my tapes are recordings from tv, and things I can’t get again.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Apr 03, 2012 @ 10:06:57

          Us, too–tiny house. We put up shelves close to the ceiling in the spare room where the TV lives, so it’s colorful by the ceiling with all those movie containers!

          Reply

  3. minlit
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:29:03

    Gotta love the old skool tech!
    Actually, no. I really don’t like VCRs. Happy to see them go. But glad you got a bargain! We’re doing a mac clear out here, and we reckon we can get £15 for our G3 and £85 for our G5. Seems bizarre considering how high spec they were such a short time ago.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 16:36:22

      Hmmm…. I have a Mac SE and a G3 (plus the just-fine G4 and G5!). I found the purchase receipt some time ago and I cringe at the cost of the G3!

      Don’t know what to do with them, but we MUST clear them out. Any hints? How do you sell yours?

      Reply

      • minlit
        Apr 03, 2012 @ 03:15:26

        For the newer ones, we generally have people who want them because of the amount of software we have loaded on them. G3…dunno. Give it to the kids’ school? They’re kinda pre-historic in IT terms, so a G3 would probabably be fairly cutting edge! Otherwise, ebay, I guess.

        Reply

  4. Kathryn McCullough
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:34:57

    Great deal, my friend! I’m glad you were able to find one–and it worked. It does work, doesn’t it?
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  5. nadbugs
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 18:19:39

    The best. Something useful at a give-away price. Love it.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

