Gaslighting

For you regular visitors, you know I’ve been spending a fair bit of time with the TV for company.  McHale’s Navy, Peter Gunn, Rifleman, and movies when I feel like it.  You know also that my brain remains fuzzy from the excitement created by the hospitalization in early February.

For several weeks now, I’ve thought I was truly losing my marbles because the TV has been changing channels spontaneously!   Did I blonk the remote?  Is our TV dying?  Is someone outside the window changing the channel?!  What the heck?!

Hmmm…. I finally figured out it wasn’t me or a helpful neighbor.

The Sun has been dictating my television watching!  Earth has been the target of bursts of intense solar energy.  All the warnings about disruption of electronics are true!

It’s happening now, during a replay of the movie Notting Hill.  There I am keeping an eye on a nice lil ole romance while I read or do something else and I suddenly realize that the TV is showing us how to mix peanut sauce in a food processor.  Usually at the romantic dialogue or meaningful glances…  sigh….  It’s hard enough right now, Mr. Sol.  Gimmee a break!

Glad I’m not flying an aeroplane; the TV is challenge enough!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 15:56:33

    Hmm… Wrap the remote in tinfoil? It works for crazy people :) I have to say – I’d rather the peanut sauce!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 16:08:37

      My buddy at my former workplace made me a tinfoil hat. One day I forgot I had it on in our little cubical area and went off to the potty. Down the hall I went, noticing a staff meeting in progress. The senior engineer stopped talking, stared at me, then spoke to the junior engineer beside him. The junior engineer came over later and told me what he’d been asked: “Why is Laurel wearing a tinfoil hat?”

      Food shows aren’t that interesting to me right now (for some reason!), and it’s a whole lot easier to get lost in a lightweight movie. !!

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Mar 31, 2012 @ 16:22:34

        HAHAHA! I love it, love it! A big hug to you for telling me that story!

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Mar 31, 2012 @ 18:00:28

          Any time I may be of assistance…. >:-D

          Oh! I forgot to tell you about that hat and being laid off: I got a phone call at my desk–could I please join the COO and “Sean” in the COO’s office? I was really busy, but suddenly realized WHY I was being asked! OK, sure, I’ll be there.

          But I wore my aluminum foil hat–Sean was the senior engineer who saw me that day in the hall! Those poor guys didn’t know what to do with me, this employee they had to lay off! wonderful moment!

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Apr 01, 2012 @ 01:12:35

            *snort* At least they didn’t have to let you go because you ‘weren’t taking your duties seriously enough’!

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Apr 01, 2012 @ 08:14:36

            *snort*! My buddy had written on the hat too–something about ADA protection (can’t fire me because I’m “special”!) and on the front–Alien Protection.! I had it pinned to my hair with paper clips! hahahahaha!

            Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 16:03:39

    Damn sun!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  3. JustI
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 17:04:16

    My disturbance (although not solar) was with the garage door opener. I would close the garage door as I backed out of the driveway, and next thing the door would be going up. It didn’t happen all the time, but I got to the point that I would sit in the driveway and watch the door for 5 minutes to see if it was going to stay closed. Or I would close the door at night and the next thing it was going up again. I thought the neighbors were screwing with me or on my frequency. Finally, I mentioned the door to the hubs and he said, “Oh, it just needs to be adjusted.” He actually fixed it for me without having to give him the ‘stink eye’! :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 18:12:38

      hahahhahhaa! “The reason I was late to work was…!!”

      It prolly was the neighbors or worse, those danged teen-agers with too much time on their hands!

      But nice of hubby to “adjust” the door. Um, you might ask him if he knows what gaslighting is and to be particular about telling HIM that YOU know what it is!

      What is the magic “adjustment” anyway? OK, I’m suspicious! <:-D

      Reply

  4. JustI
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 20:58:41

    Danged if I know what the ‘adjustment’ is. He got out the ladder and turned a screw, so I guess that’s it???

    The hubs hasn’t a clue about gaslighting…lucky for me, I’m out of tin foil! Hahaha

    Reply

  5. minlit
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 05:59:19

    2 things:
    1 – If you are reading AND watching tv in fuzzy brain state, then you don’t really qualify as fuzzy. That’s more than most can do anyway.

    2 – our door bell went a bit bonkers recently. Started responding to the bell across the road. We had phantom callers everytime someone called at No. 3

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Apr 01, 2012 @ 08:17:00

      1– yeah–good point! then I get cocky and think I should damn well go to Italy NOW. THEN I think about trying to understand a train sked… and I go back to my book!

      2– hahahahahahaha! Is the bell electronic?!

      Reply

  6. nadbugs
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 08:57:58

    Peanut sauce . . . romance . . . peanut sauce . . . . peanut sauce . . . . peanut sauce . . . . peanut sauce. Now where’d I put my tinfoil hat? Oh. It’s on my head. Fang? Come over here and put this on. Now, Bugs, you were saying?

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

