what happened on McHale’s Navy?

Oh somebody help me get well.  FAST!

Yeah, yeah.  I’m leaving on a quite fabulous trip in about 12 days and do not wish to be sick for the flight or for the fun upon landing.

The worst part about being sick is that my brain takes a vacation, leaving me in the lurch, relegated to the simplest tasks:  a solitaire game, making breakfast, and operating the TV with the remote.

Funny thing with us, we really don’t watch TV and don’t have cable.  We watch movies from Netflix.  I used to watch a soap opera, but that wasn’t my fault–when I was 16, my new friend and neighbor sat me down to watch and watch I did over the years until it was cancelled recently.  I remember my paternal grandmother, a non-fuzzy-warm kind of old lady, who would visit us occasionally.  When she did, she commandeered the best rocker and watched her shows.   I can’t remember any conversation with her, just tension in the house.

So, brainless me is all alone in the house except for the cats who show up to ask for something or just land on my stretched-out self on the sofa, scaring the pants off me and them.   I have a bunch of old movies and I’ll play one or two, but man, that much TV is tough.

TV has gotten easier, however, over the last month of lingering illness.  I discovered a broadcast channel that plays McHale’s Navy!    The Big Mister is used to me being ill–I have some chronic dreaded unknown disease (!) that occasionally strikes me flat with deep fatigue.  This month’s fun is the respiratory stuff, so I’m just regular sick.

For the last two days, we’ve dispensed quickly with the how-are-yous after he’s gotten home from work.  I croak at him and he asks, “What happened on McHale’s Navy today?”

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 03:10:18

    I don’t know what happened on McHale’s Navy but I sure do hope you get to feeling better for your fantastical trip!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 08:55:11

      You are so lucky that the headache pill kicked in last night because I might have TOLD you what happened on McHale’s Navy!

      Thank you for well-wishes. I’m sick of this! This was not how I envisioned the run-up to my trip! Patience, schmatience!

      Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 06:33:00

    I don’t know either, but I’m with sweetdaysundertheoaks. I hope you are feeling way better very soon! It sucks to be sick, and sucks even more to travel while sick.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 08:56:56

      Kudos to you for that line full of alliteration! Or is it assonance with all those Ss?!

      Any minute now I won’t know what happened on McHale’s Navy! Thank you, Kathy, for adding healing wishes to my corner of the Universe.

      Reply

  3. Dorcas
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 20:29:31

    Hmmm! I see you boarding the plane, laughing with your seatmate about how sick you were. You are even bragging about how you managed to get over the flu before you went overseas on your journey! “Why yes, you’ll say, I brewed my own sassafras tea with a spot of barley honey. Just the thing to get rid of snot.”

    You smart woman, you.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 21:22:30

      hahahhahha! Thank you. That is the vision I have in my head–except for talking to the seatmate because, well, my social skills, ahem, make me forget I’ll be sleeping next to a stranger!

      “why yes, today I made whiskey, honey, lemon, and ginger tea and sat in a hot bath, sweating out the germs. And snot.”

      Reply

  4. IsobelandCat
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 05:08:06

    Let’s hope the enforced rest leaves you full of energy. Maybe your body just wants you to shut down for a while in preparation for your trip. Try not to fret.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 08:24:32

      Perfect way to look at this, Isobel: recharging for the demanding days of travel to come.

      Back to McHale’s Navy until I’m ready to get about.

      Last night I did pack my tiny suitcase just to see how things were going to work, so at least there is forward progress. sigh….

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

