planning and planning…

I’m going to be in Italy for a month and have plans for only the first 10 days.  The rest will fall into place!  This is the area I’ll concentrate on…  but who knows what could happen?!

After landing in Bologna, I’ll hop a train and bus to stay with a blogging pal in a tiny village in Tuscany.

 

A couple of days later, I’ll take the train to Ravenna where I’ll take a 5-day mosaics class that teaches the traditional methods.  I will also celebrate my 55th birthday there!  I’ll be staying in a small B&B right in the historical district and will quite likely ride a bicycle to class!

I’m hoping to apprentice in a mosaics workshop, which would require that I stay in Italy for longer than a month.  If I still have money, I may do that!

that is mosaics!

  Then, since Venice is just up the road, I’ll probably head there.  How could I miss Venice?!  Burano or Murano?

Siena?!   I have a guidebook that belonged to my uncle who visited there on a break from North Africa during WWII.    I’ve long wanted to see Siena….  but it’s south of that purply highlighted area!    hmmmm….  what to do?  what to do?

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Seòras
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 21:23:34

    I hope the weather improves before you get there! It has been pretty nasty over the last week or so.
    http://photoblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/02/06/10332402-ice-clogs-the-canals-of-venice-italy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:21:30

      I hope it DOES NOT improve! I love winter! I thrive in the challenge of weather that means business, that forces me to pay attention, because the weather always wins and I am just a paltry participant reacting and reacting.

      But I understand the sentiment! I did see a photo collection of frozen Venice this a.m. and was wishing through all the photos that winter would be there in 3 weeks, but knowing it probably wouldn’t.

      Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:48:32

      Whoopsie! I’m so full of my own travels that I forgot to ask how you are faring with the bitter winter weather! Are you taking pics, I hope?!

      Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 03:27:29

    I’m so happy you are going to see Deb! That’s wonderful–though I have to admit I’m a bit jealous. But, gosh, I can hardly wait to hear about your adventure! It’s all going to be amazing, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • IsobelandCat
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 07:09:27

      I hope you have a brilliant time.
      If you are looking for light reading, you may enjoy Donna Leon. Her stories are all set in Venice, and there is a map of the city at the front of each book.

      Reply

      • lahgitana
        Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:28:56

        Thank you, Isobel. I still don’t have a book for the plane ride and this is the second book you’ve suggested! I’m still thinking about the book with the quote about Rome and driving/parking.

        Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:26:03

      Isn’t it amazing, Kathy, to be meeting someone we know through blogging?! I know you have done that and have glowing stories and photos. She is very generous to offer–I’m still a little amazed! I can’t wait to start telling all about it!

      Reply

  3. Ruby Tuesday
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 03:33:48

    Oh, what a wonderful thing to do! Enjoy your adventure, and have a fantastic birthday!

    Reply

  4. heretherebespiders
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 11:39:32

    A whole month! Somehow I missed that you’d be over for that long. I might have pushed the iPad a bit harder – we have ways of sharing boucoup books online :) Books, maps, music, email, blog, camera, hi-def video, games- all in one place and light as hell! Oh well :) I see I’m going to have to draw a proper Purple Lady OF you, too!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 12:43:28

      i bet Italy sells iPads! For now, with my head swimming with fever and yuck, I won’t think about it, but we’ll see! Esp. if I’m able to stay for THREE months! >:-D

      I love the original drawing–and so do other people! Thank you again!

      Cheap flights from, say, Dublin to Venice? >:-D mwhahahahaaa!

      Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 15:55:53

    Oh, I wish… I’m so damn close but don’t get to see Europe! Hubby always wants to see my family in the US. I understand, but…Italy! Scotland! Anywhere but the east cost USA. What is this about three months?!?

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 19:17:42

      I know: nearby is relative! When I used to fly Outside from Alaska, the Lower 48-ers would ask if I could stop by! hee hee! (“Outside” is an expression peculiar to Alaska that means anywhere but Alaska!)

      East Coast US would be a challenge, but there IS a ton to see!

      Three months: I reeeeeeeeeally want to apprentice in a mosaics studio! For room and board and a small stipend! (This is how things happen: name them and they will come!)

      Reply

  6. JustI
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 17:51:46

    This sounds like such a wonderful trip! I hope you do keep blogging away and share your adventures while in Italy. The picture of the mosaic is great. I wish the detail was easier to see. Again, what a great opportunity!

    Reply

  7. JustI
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 16:56:56

    Wow, that is impressive. The amount of facial and hand detail using mosaics is amazing. Even the shadows. I would never have imagined that would be possible without a picture or photo to use for reference. From 547 A.D., no less!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 17:00:28

      Oh yes! Isn’t it absolutely amazing how the detail shows facial expression, skin tone, and meaning?! I hope to learn enough to be able to do that level of work in some way. (Hence the wish to apprentice in a workshop while I’m there!)

      So happy we have met, JustI!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

