fraility and pink mohawks

Ah, a long, sometimes sad few days.  How wrenching it is to see my elderly injured Mom coping with the long life she has been granted and the indignities that follow one on another.  She gallops toward 87 and assures me that despite these moments she wants to live.

Returning from the hospital on Sunday with me, the Big Mister heard that a friend had died.  This serious motorcyclist had a helmet with a pink mohawk glued to it!

We’re a little subdued and a lot tired, but oozing along anyway.  I am thankful for all this time I’ve had with my Mom–she’s a kick in the pantalones (to quote my sister!) and a fine addition to the Universe!

Thank you, Universe, for bringing me what and whom I need.

Here’s a post that poked me to remember my power and my happiness despite the challenges:    What if you only have 365 days left?

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weelilwimsy
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:15:20

    Sounds like you are a chip off the ol’ block :)

    I wanted to let you know that I have nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please see this post for more information about the award: http://weelilwimsy.com/2012/01/11/oh-my-surprise/

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 03:35:40

      Thank you–I DO believe I AM a chip off her block! I often tell Mom that “the nut doesn’t fall far from the tree!”

      Thank you for your lovely words on your blog, Jeni.

      Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 23:12:04

    Oh no, what happened to your mom? I know she’s been such a great positive influence on you from the many lovely things you’ve said about her on here.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 03:38:53

      She took a couple of falls–the frailties of old age. I saw her yesterday and they keep her so busy in the rehab place that I was tired just being there!

      Thanks, Spiders. You can imagine that I’ve been distracted and have missed being here. Trying to let my mind return to that open, creative space, which it seems to be doing apace! >:-D

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Jan 11, 2012 @ 13:31:26

        It sounds as if she makes rehab a brighter place just by being there. That speaks volumes about her, and you – because anyone who loves and respects her mum as much as you clearly do can’t help but do her best to never let mum down. I’ve missed you here! At the same time, I barely have time to do a damn thing before suddenly it is time for bed :(

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Jan 12, 2012 @ 09:05:43

          You are right, Spiders! I respect my Mom particularly because she has continued to evolve even with some pretty tough stuff behind her. With our family history, she could have disappeared into herself as my father did, leaving us behind as if we didn’t exist, but she has stuck it out and has NOT disappeared!

          I wish you could hear the nursing staff squealing her name as they recognize her! She recognizes them, too, and clearly relaxes in a safe environment.

          Yes, I want to do right by Mom and it’s an internal battle sometimes–doing too much and tiring myself. But I learn to back off and let other people step in….

          As for you, working for other people blows! (I think that may have been rude!) I know how hard it is to have only those 3 hours after work to have your own life, which has NEVER made sense to me.

          Reply

  3. nadbugs
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 06:48:51

    Oozing is still movement. Where there’s movement, there’s life. You go, lahgitana.

    Reply

  4. IsobelandCat
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 12:41:37

    Long may she enjoy her life, and when she stops enjoying it, may the end be swift.
    It is a huge strain on you I am sure; constant fear and worry for her. I hope the rehab place does her proud.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 12:47:12

      Yes, I hope for that, too, Isobel, that she enjoys every moment until she’s done.

      And you are right about the fear she carries and the strain… She knows a ton of the workers at rehab and they greet her by name joyfully, and she in turn greets them by name with a big smile!

      Thanks for stopping in, Isobel. :-D

      Reply

  5. Kathryn McCullough
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 14:25:55

    Your mom sounds like a total hoot! Sorry to hear she hasn’t been feeling well.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Reply

  6. littlemiao
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:31:35

    Wishing your mom a speedy recovery!

    Reply

  7. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:17:01

    I am here to send healing wishes your Mom’s way too! And I love hearing that you two have such a lovely relationship :) So you are chip off the old block, I am finding that I am much like my Mom. More than I could have ever thought. Sounds like for sure you share that wonderful sense of funny that I found in Isobel’s comments and got me clicking to here!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:37:16

      We do have a lovely relationship. It took some doing through some rough years, but that only meant we each had to be stubborn and persevere! We’ve been to Attu together–at HER invitation! She’s driven the Al-Can (Alaska-Canada Hwy) with me, rockin’ out to Jethro Tull and The Traveling Wilburys. !!

      She’s darn funny, too, and I’m greatful to carry on her legacy. She’s not silly–that’s my addition to the funny–but so smart that her witty comments are an intellectual joy! She likes her three kids and we like her! How wonderful is that?!

      Reply

  8. lahgitana
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:39:36

    Thank you, All, for stopping by and leaving good wishes. I got myself tired out after too much intensity and I was sitting here this a.m. feeling overwhelmed.

    Not now, however, after having been here with all of you. I am shaking off that overwhelmed and going forth and conquering once more!

    Whew!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

