why are chopsticks round?

Standing here at my temp gig looking between my lunch in the microwave and the coffee stir-sticks, which are flat.

Wondering why chopsticks are round?  And slippery?

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dummyzero
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 14:53:45

    Maybe if you try to eat your Chinese food with a pair of coffee stir-sticks you’ll find the long and short answer of it… 8-)P

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 15:10:53

    Hmmm–I think not all chopsticks are the same–that there is, at least, a distinction between Japanese and Chinese ones–I think. I lived in Vietnam for a year. I should be able to respond with more certainty. Sorry.

    Missed you this week. Hope you are doing well!

    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 29, 2011 @ 17:08:12

      I know that the Japanese sticks are pointier–at least I think I know that! But they’re also round! I spent several months in China and Taiwan, but never thought to ask about shape. Some have square-ish finger places, but get down to the food-holder place and it’s skinny and ROUND! No wonder round-eyes can’t do chopsticks! >:-D

      Hey Kathy, all is well–first we were on vacation, then I got called to do a few days of temp work (=$$!), so haven’t had energy to be here. Except for today’s inane musing! >:-D

      Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 04:43:10

    Just came by to say “hello”. The sticks from our fav Chinese place are square-ish all the way to the tip. I think. Hmm, good excuse to go eat Chinese and check out the sticks!

    Reply

  4. littlemiao
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 09:07:58

    I often think about chopsticks. Maybe someone has written a coffee table chopstick book, complete with photos. If they haven’t, they should. There are chopsticks for every occasion. Some are square rather than round but they round out towards the tips, others don’t. In my experience, Japanese chopsticks are pointier and Chinese ones have blunter tips. I prefer pointy short ones (children’s chopsticks) for my hair. Chopsticks make a meal more fun.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

