Happy Solstice, Earthlings!

The quality of daylight starts changing as of right-now-ish.  When I lived in Alaska, I gave Solstice parties, but I was the only one mourning the return of the light.  Don’t know why, but the dark is where I thrive.  All my friends toasted the coming light….

Happy Solstice, All You Earthlings!  And, OK, you too, you lurking beings from off-planet, you cut-ups who turn my jammies inside-out in the middle of the night, who zapped my brain, and who love rock ‘n’ roll.  There’s one thing we did right, huh, rock ‘n’ roll?  I know it’s not enough right for you to want to colonize our planet.  We’ve wrecked Earth all to hell, so no, no, no no colonizing!  (I’ve seen the movies; I know how it works!)

Oh, and isn’t the word put together beautifully by those early French (based on Latin roots)!  (You may sense my linguistics minor in school!)

solstice Look up solstice at Dictionary.com
mid-13c., from O.Fr. solstice, from L. solstitium “point at which the sun seems to stand still,” from sol “sun” (see sol) + pp. stem of sistere “to come to a stop, make stand still” (see assist).
 
(Citation:  The Sciolist, and what an interesting intro page!  I may have to go back and see what else he’s talking about.  Anyone who puts together an etymology dictionary is a good kind of oddball!)
© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 13:28:31

    I studied my fair share of linguistics. Why does it not surprise me you have done the same? Happy Solstice, sister!
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:05:19

      Linguistics opens the door to human experience! I loved it! I’d-a kept on, but I just had to finish school and get the doggone hell out!

      Happy Solstice to you and Sara, Kathy!

      Reply

  2. IsobelandCat
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:00:39

    “I thrive at night” hmm. Tell me about your teeth. How ae you with garlic? Silver? Church crosses?

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:08:55

      Excellent teeth. [showing teeth like you’re lookin’ at a horse!]
      Love garlic. [breathing in your general direction!]
      Wear mostly silver. [shining my bracelet in your direction: bing!]
      Church crosses: don’t have a one, but they don’t scare me unless someone is wielding one instead of hosting it.

      Harumph! I’m sure I don’t know what you mean! Didja just get back from your bottle o’ wine at the Red Cow?!

      Happy Solstice, Isobel and Cat, and assorted hangers-on.

      Reply

  3. nadbugs
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:10:00

    The sun stands still? Whoo. Something biblical about that. Joshua, I think? Too limp to look it up.

    Reply

  4. IsobelandCat
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:22:57

    That was Sunday! It isn’t that distant…

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:23:28

    I’m more of a sun girl, but still, I like reading your blog…go figure. Happy holidays to you!

    Reply

  6. heretherebespiders
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:53:40

    Hiiiii! I’ve been drinkin, what a sur-prise :) Oirish Tirsday! I love sunshine, and look younger with a dose or five. O’course I adore a bit of word play, and garlic, and silver… Ah, it’s a good eve, as long as it is!

    Reply

  7. littlemiao
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 17:47:48

    Happy Solstice! I’ve been counting down to today since the end of daylight savings time.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:05:21

      You prefer the lighted-up world! Your Sprockers and Chun are so handsome in their seasonal finery! Looking forward to seeing the dragon stuff!

      Reply

      • littlemiao
        Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:10:41

        I admit I do prefer light. Dark in moderation is just fine, but sunshine makes me happy. It also makes for better photos in this house.

        I’ve always been fascinated by people who live in the dark for half the year. I want to try it out, but not for good, just for the experience.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:13:15

          Yes, that does sound like something to try. Living in Anchorage, we got down to 5-1/ hours of daylight in the winter, but in summer it was 19-1/2!! That’s crazy light in my opinion–gardening at midnight is silly, but happens! When I worked north of the Arctic Circle, we had 24 hours of daylight and it was usually sunny! Really hard to sleep when the sun is streaming in the tent late at night!

          Reply

  8. Fluffy Tufts
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 09:57:44

    I’m afriad I am one of those who is celebrating the return of the light!! The solstice is one of my favourite days of the year as it fills me with hope and anticipation

    Reply

  9. lahgitana
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 10:43:23

    Welcome and thank you for stopping by AND commenting!

    Most people do prefer the light; I’m just weird!

    Did you actively celebrate the solstice? Or nod to it with a big grin!

    Reply

  10. minlit
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 13:53:18

    I’m just catching up….Randomly. But you know, it’s dark here from 3 in the afternoon until about 8am in winter. However, our midsummer nights are almost non-existent. Not quite Anchorage, but then again, what is!

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

