Addendum to Diatribe Against the National Defense Authorization Act

First:  the indefinite detention is only a part of the Act.  Much of the Act goes to defense spending, including paying our armed services.  Don’t get me started on a kajillion-dollar we-have-more-killer-weapons-than-anyone budget line item.

This clarification doesn’t change the policy embedded in the defense spending bill.  Something I did know that made the suspending of due process a terrifying policy is that Sen. Dianne Feinstein (CA) actually felt the pressing need to propose a lil ole stand-alone codicil to that worrisome suspending of due process entitled Due Process Guarantee Act of 2011.  The summary statement is this:

“To clarify that an authorization to use military force, a
declaration of war, or any similar authority shall not
authorize the detention without charge or trial of a citizen
or lawful permanent resident of the United States
and for other purposes.”

OK, clarification stated.

I have done more reading this morning and discover, as flippin’ usual, that obfuscation and just-damn-made-up-on-the-spot is in full swing–with all who have anything to say about the policy of indefinite detention.

Why can’t I have clear information on which to base my opinions?  I’m not sure of the method by which I could get that clarity, but I have an inkling that working as if everything were an emergency lends speed but not the willingness to spend time to find that way to disseminate information.  The complexities of our governing system seem to make accurate information-sharing impossible.  Think:  internet news.  Agggggghhhhhh!

We are quite busy trying to survive, thank you very much, and cannot take the painstaking time that good research requires.  Help me out here, Folks in High Places.

This reminds me of a recent moment at my husband’s workplace, which is union.  On the day they were to vote on their contract, the union steward was ready to get the voting underway and was mighty surprised and inconvenienced when my husband had the gall to say he wasn’t going to vote on the contract because he hadn’t even seen it!  Damn fools.

The stupid continued–you [Ed. note:  singular “you”] can take the contract home tonight and we can vote tomorrow, but we normally don’t like the contract to leave our hands.  Wait!  What?!  Pressure to vote for conditions he and the rest will be laboring under without being privy to the conditions?

The patriarchal head rears and shows all three rows of its teeth:  pat, pat, pat; there, there; we’ll take care of everything for you; just sign here; trust us.  We know what’s best and it’s all just too complicated and that’s why you elected me [shop steward][president][senator][city councilmember].

My indignation, humiliation, and upset have not changed since yesterday’s diatribe.  The new feeling is one of helplessness at my inability to act like a participating citizen.

I’m gonna go bake cookies and bury my head in happy stuff.  Just gotta live my life.  If the bad time comes, I’ll go hide-and-guerilla-fight until they come to get me.  Ain’t goin’ without a large noise.   If you’re taking names, get mine straight because I will be one of the leaders.

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JustI
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:22:39

    Lovin’ your diatribe and I share your frustration. New government slogan, “Trust us”. Yeah, right! I’m going to the firing range right after I finish laundry.

    Reply

  2. lahgitana
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:38:40

    Yikes, the firing range? Feeling frustrated, are we?! >:-D

    Baking is my therapy along with art.

    Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:47:41

    I hope he’s just boning up for if/when he needs to be a good shot. I can’t even have guns, hold on to those bad boys as long as you can.
    Let’s see, it’s the holidays; everyone is in dire financial straits; financial woes and protestors and the Middle East are talking up most of the news… Perfect time to ram-rod through some horrifying bill!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:58:36

      Yes, that is the saddest part, E, the ramrodding….

      Great choice of word, here, ramrod, considering Justl’s plan for the day that follows washing his undies! <:-D

      Reply

  4. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 12:20:41

    Does the cookie baking help? It it does I’m going to bury my head in some dough–lots and lots of it!
    Hugs from a fellow baker,
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 14:00:52

      Yes, Kathy, it does help. It brings me back to the life I love. And, I have control over the butter and baking time!

      Hugs to you, too, here in our difficult world.

      –Laurel

      Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 15:40:01

    Certainty is the province of dictators.
    Keep doubting.
    Keep questioning.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

