Celebrate the anniversary of enacting US Bill of Rights with passing of National Defense Authorization Act

Be afraid.  Be very afraid.

Oh, and if you’re an American, stand humiliated once more in the eyes of the world:  our Congress, along with our President, have once more authorized “indefinite detention,” which was first enacted during the GWBush Reign of Terror.  Mr. Obama, I have stood by you, but my support wavers with this and fury replaces admiration.

“Indefinite detention” as defined by the National Defense Authorization Act, means any person only suspected of a terrorist act can be detained (imprisoned) indefinitely.   Any person means YOU, an American citizen.

The National Defense Authorization Act was passed on the 220th anniversary of the enacting of the US Bill of Rights.

The Bill of Rights is composed of the first 10 Amendments to the US Constitution.

Among those rights enumerated in 1789 is Article IV, otherwise known as the 4th Amendment to the Constitution:

“The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.”

“Indefinite detention” is also considered a Human Rights violation.  Do you hear that?!  Do you understand what that means about the state of our country?  We have joined the ranks of the Human Rights violators that we have reviled for years,  have taken action against in our holier-than-though and God-loves-us-best way.  We the People are complicit.

Don’t understand what it means to violate Human Rights?

Think Nazi Germany and the shame of Kristallnacht.

Think of  the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the shame of the rounding up and detaining anyone who resembled the much-feared (see fear-mongering) Japanese, including US citizens.  Those particular detainees were forcibly taken from their homes and “relocated” to internment camps, camps that resemble military barracks with the attributes of a concentration camp.  Go read accounts of those lives destroyed in the name of national defense.

Obfuscation abounds:  I see too many instances of the newly-minted acronym for the National Defense Authorization Act.   National defense?  What a load of hooey.  We are making war on other shores; no war has been declared on American soil.  My government cannot protect me from terrorist acts.  Ask a market-going citizen in a country other than the US whether their government is keeping them safe.

During the GWBush Reign of Terror I was terrorized all right, but only by his Administration’s fear-mongering and secretive dealings.

Please think of yourself if you cannot imagine these actions on a larger, more anonymous scale:  would you want to be left wondering where your father, son, mother, aunt, sister, brother have gone?

Do you see the whittling away of the freedoms we have enjoyed in this country?   What does that make us?  Where are we going?  What next to be codified and controlled in the name of your safety?  When will the restriction of speech and peaceful gatherings begin?  When will the National Guard move into my town?

Thank you to Old Jules for writing about this.  I actually missed this particular news because of the very large noise of the Congressional Clown Show over the budget and a payroll tax cut.   That payroll tax cut means next to nothing to me because I am one of the long-term unemployed.  Thanks for nothing, O Mighty Entitled Ones.

My own country is making me feel unsafe rather than protected.

Go see:  Suspending Habeus Corpus Here, Indefinite Detention, Rip Van Winkleism, and Respecting the Future, and Indefinite detention Act voids US Constitution for Jules’ reveal of the Shenanigans.

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nadbugs
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 09:38:52

    This is a very bitter thing you write about here. I feel a unique combination of sickened, terrified, and incredibly weary. And also gratitude to you. If this is what is, I need to know. And like you, I hadn’t heard.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 17, 2011 @ 10:06:25

      Your words describe me, too, Bean.

      Don’t take my word for it, please–look around and see what other research might be there. Maybe my President actually will veto the bill and I hadn’t heard. Maybe “It’s a Wonderful Life” and I should never have jumped off that bridge into the icy river. (Powerful, ain’t I?)

      Reply

  2. heretherebespiders
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 10:17:43

    I can’t see that he has vetoed it yet, he said he would on the 9th but apparently his issue was not with indefinite detention, and if the issues he had have been corrected then I think he will let it go. So horrifying.
    Property is much cheaper in Ireland than it was 5 years ago… we speak English, drink a lot, swear like sailors, are very friendly and not terribly sexist or racist. The Catholic thing is pretty huge, but…

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 17, 2011 @ 10:28:01

      works for me! and ex-pats get jobs apparently!

      This is so damned depressing. I thought with GDumbya gone, I’d feel safer. He never left, huh?

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:37:41

        He left all of his flunkies behind it seems. I’m not one for conspiracy theories (unlike my man who is heavy into politics worldwide) but it does seem that someone has a bigger picture in mind here. If I win the lottery and buy my own island, you are invited.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:52:05

          Thank you. You can bet I’ll be there! With luggage/baggage! >:-D

          When I win the lottery, you and family, plus dogs and cats are invited to my Italian villa overlooking the ocean!

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:00:07

            Hmm. Might want to rethink Italy. Their economy is about as bad or worse than Ireland, and they are part of the Euro too…oh wait, same situation as here but it gets warm there. I might have to rethink, too! Shame Hawaii is in the US, I heard they have the perfect 70deg temp for me.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Dec 18, 2011 @ 10:54:50

            Nicely done, that! Talking me right into Italy! hee-hee!

            Reply

  3. IsobelandCat
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 10:58:19

    Shades of Thatcher too. Yes very depressing, not what I expected of Obama. Bad bad news.
    With Thatcher, I wanted to hang my head in shame. I had been brought up to love my country; to be proud of its freedoms; and she confused patriotism with nationalism to turn my country into a narrow minded, consciously selfish place.
    Good luck.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:11:38

      Ah, your last paragraph applies to me and to the US, also.

      The wielding of the weapon of patriotism is serious stuff. In the late 1950s, my parents were asked, at their workplace, to sign so-called loyalty oaths. They both refused. This was in the time of Joe McCarthy’s massive hunt for Communists in this country. An ugly chapter that destroyed livelihoods. Bastards. Fear mongers.

      Reply

    • heretherebespiders
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:41:56

      Thatcher had Regan to back her up too – a reason for the US to hang their heads in shame also. Shades of Blair/Bush – though Blair seemed more like a puppet than Thatcher ever could. She seemed her own, if slightly evil, person.

      Reply

  4. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 17:10:34

    Amen, my friend. I had no idea the anniversary was today. Thanks for sharing this. I could not agree with you more!

    Hope you’re having a good weekend, otherwise!

    Kathy

    Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 15:38:07

    I think the muddling of patriotism and nationalism is a scary thing. I love my country. I am a patriot. But I believe that means taking a critical stance. What Thatcher did, and Blair just continued that vein, was to make questioning a nationalistic government unpatriotic.
    Salman Rushdie wrote very clearly about this in Shame.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 18, 2011 @ 16:59:03

      That’s what Bush did, make questioning our country unpatriotic. Our ultra-conservative population is waving flags…. oh, it’s just sickening….

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

