What part of the 99 Percenters?

I have followed the growth of the entity of protesters, the 99%, the Occupy [fill in city, port, street] Movement.  The growing presence of people willing to gather under a banner of Let’s All Share makes me watch the movement a little more closely.

The one coherent mission I have been able to get from the Occupy Movement is their request that the Supreme Court reverse its decision declaring Corporations akin to individuals, Corporate Personhood.  (And that’s a weird constructed-word; it’s good education for those who are bound to separate the women from the men into a less-worthy pile just by dint of gender.  But, man, let’s lighten up a little.  I digress.)

The rest of the Movement seems like so much noise to me.  I keep thinking I could add my name to the ranks of the active 99 Percenters, but I cannot because I can’t make out their message.  Peace, love, and beansprouts is great, but I can stay home and practice those things.

I think about the chants about unshared wealth–and they seem to be talking about greenbacks, which are just pretty paper not backed by gold; Oh, no wonder they’re not called goldbacks!

But I can’t join them because of the wealth I feel in my own existence that has nothing to do with currency.   Especially here in the US, we are wealthy beyond understanding for other parts of the world.  Our democratic system still limps along, allowing any one of us to speak up and not get shot dead.

Oh, this has been bothering me since President Kennedy in 1963, so can I just ask:  How many sharing, caring folks have been killers of speakers who tell their truth?  Or have presidents in their gunsights?  In what part of our culture have they built a reality that says it’s OK to kill a president they don’t agree with?  What kind of person does that?   Is that person able to see beyond today?   What is a possible political affiliation of those willing killers?

That aside is wrapped up in my appreciation of where and how I live.  Wealthy with love and peace, roof over my head, enough to eat.  Cooperation and sharing.  Sheesh.  Where were some folks in kindergarten?

A new bother relates to the howling of the 99 Percenters who want other folks to share their monetary riches:  Who is crowding the parking lots at the giant shopping malls?   Who are the folks who are willing to be rude and actually violent in order to score a thing?

I’m pretty sure most of those 99 Percenters, the protesters themselves, are not the folks circling parking lots at those shiny come-hither malls, but I’m not completely sure.

I feel ill when I see those driving-room-only mall parking lots.  I thought a bunch of us were more limited financially than the evidence there suggests.     I assume not a one of those shoppers is in financial difficulties and does not spend any time complaining about how much they don’t have.

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heretherebespiders
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 13:11:07

    Hmm, are you reading the new Stephen King book?
    I guess I should be one of the 99%, if there were any protests taking place in my country that didn’t involve driving three hours, I would. It I can’t afford the petrol, or the parking! Train? No, have to drive 20 mins to catch a train, too…

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:30:39

      No… should I read it?

      What would you like to be/do at a protest, E? I’d like to hear. My husband goes fairly regularly to the marches. It is pleasant in our town–no violence and other unrelated stuff that I’ve heard of.

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Dec 15, 2011 @ 09:00:51

        11.22.63 – it’s alternate history where someone gets the chance to stop the Kennedy assassination. I started it yesterday.
        I’m a peaceful protester, I suppose I’d just be another body to fill the ranks. I’ve only ever done a march once – about 10 years ago in DC with about a million other women. Funny how it didn’t make the news much.

        Reply

        • lahgitana
          Dec 15, 2011 @ 09:22:31

          Oh, I think I’d like to read that!

          10 years ago: what was the march for? Me, too, a peaceful protester. …

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Dec 15, 2011 @ 09:36:15

            March for women’s lives, basically a pro-choice event. I had to Google it, I thought it was 2001 but it was 2004. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/March_for_Women's_Lives The organisers counted us, and never double counted us, so their estimate of over a million is more accurate than 800,000. Annoying. I almost beat a Christian with my protest sign at the end – he thought two ‘girls’ on their own going home would be easy game. I had to remind him I was the one with a stick in my hand…

            Reply

        • lahgitana
          Dec 15, 2011 @ 09:44:52

          Don’t get me going on good Christians! Actions in the name of ANY religion make my gut burn with fury. Why do the religious kill one another? I’m unclear, completely, on that concept. (I see a Baptist church reader board on the way to my Mom’s that makes me want to spit at their audacity of indicating they are the only ones who count: “There is nothing higher than a Christian on his knees.” gggrrrrrr agggghhhh… must not hit them with their own sign!)

          My first career assessment in high school showed me that I was fit to be a nun, which has always been interesting to me since I did not indicate a god or religion in my answers. It confused me for the longest time, until I learned that spirituality and religion are NOT synonymous!

          Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Dec 15, 2011 @ 13:15:58

            Yep. I saw a comment feed recently that was ‘Christians’ commenting on an atheist – they were saying “kill them, kill them all, beat them, hurt them”. I really, really am shocked that they can feel that strongly and be 100% wrong about what they are defending.

            Reply

          • lahgitana
            Dec 15, 2011 @ 15:14:59

            Wow. I don’t listen to so-called talk radio because it seems they all shout and hate. But, to hear what you heard is distressing. They are the people who carry guns, I bet, and use ’em in the name of god or right or whateverthehell they shout the loudest.

            Those folks, especially in groups, become the gangs that will force me out of the US. I can’t live with that hatred.

            Reply

          • heretherebespiders
            Dec 15, 2011 @ 16:13:32

            Unfortunately, it was in writing on FB. People willing to say it, and let others see it was them saying such horrible things.
            When can I get my own island?

            Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:08:25

    I don’t know what to make of the Occupy movement either, to be honest. I am proud to say, I haven’t been in mall in at least a year, maybe two or three. Let’s put it this way, I can’t remember the last time I darkened the door of one–though I was in few in Vietnam a couple of years ago. Does that count?
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:31:40

      Nope, doesn’t count! Arbitrary, ain’t I?!

      Malls are my least favorite place: hordes of too-many people in too small a space. Bad combo for my personal wiring!

      Reply

  3. nadbugs
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 19:30:09

    What really kills me is on a small scale, but still . . . . I know this wealthy trust-fund baby who owns a house in town and a retreat center in the country and spends her time singing and dancing and doing yoga and wintering with Buddhists in Thailand — and she has a sign in her front yard saying “We are the 99%.” Wonder which Bankster she stashes her assets in. No comment on the movement — just this gal gets my personal knickers in a twist. There. I’ve said it. Thank you LG. I feel much better now.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 19:50:15

      hahahhaaa! that’s hilarious! what chutzpah! she should have a “Vacant” sign in her front yard instead!

      Glad to be of assistance, Bean.

      Reply

    • heretherebespiders
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 13:13:53

      Wow, that’s a good example of entitled thinking right there. She’s got so much – even by US standards, and think she deserves more. Cricket, I’ve been to northern AR and the visual poverty broke my heart. My husband still tells people here about what he saw in SC and OH – the real America that Irish tourists never see.

      Reply

      • lahgitana
        Dec 15, 2011 @ 15:16:50

        Yes, if we each would spend hours being thankful and being willing to see… oh, I become inarticulate with rage with vacant people like that 99% + 1% woman. And then I get sad, followed by hopeless, followed by doing art or something positive and distracting.

        Reply

      • nadbugs
        Dec 15, 2011 @ 16:20:41

        You know, with her what I think it is, is this: I may have a sh*t-load more $$ than any of you poor suckers will ever have in your natural lives, but that doesn’t make me a bad person. See? I am one of you at heart. I am just so wonderful in every way. [insert sound of gnashing teeth from Nadbugs]

        Reply

  4. isobelandcat
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:38:01

    Keep happy.
    I have nominated you for this award.
    http://wp.me/pMKim-Vh

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

