Spicy Peanut Sauce from the Joy of Cooking

This is for Kathy, in particular, because on her site we were gabbing about homemade gifts.   Go see her beautiful ornaments!

I use another peanut sauce recipe usually, but as I looked at it, I realized that I hardly EVER follow it!  This looks good, though!  Lots of variation anyway, so what’s a change here and there?  I can’t believe Sara is finding a Thai Street Food class in Kentucky!  (So many assumptions on my part!)

Herewith:

Spicy Peanut Sauce
(from Joy of Cooking, 1997)

In a food processor, blend:
2 cups unsalted, smooth peanut butter
½ cup rice or white vinegar
¼ cup light soy sauce
2 t dark soy sauce
2 T small pieces garlic
2- to 6 serrano or other fresh chili peppers, in pieces
3 T sugar
2 t salt

Remove mixture to bowl.

Stir in:
½ cup toasted sesame oil
2 T chili oil

Stir in until smooth:
1 cup freshly brewed black tea

Keeps for 1-2 days in the fridge.  Bring to room temp before use.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 16:25:04

    Cool. I will pass this along to Sara. Thanks so much for sharing it.

    I know what you mean about Kentucky stereotypes. We even have an openly gay mayor in Lexington–not as back-woods as you might think–at least not in our town! I will let you know how Sara’s class goes.

    Thanks again!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 16:34:38

      Thank ALL the gods that the world is changing, albeit verrrrry slowly!

      Enjoy and do let me know how you like the sauce. I saw another recipe with a couple of tablespoons of fresh lime juice! Yum! My dinner of cheese and crackers is sounding very poor indeed!

      Reply

  2. littlemiao
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 17:24:36

    Mmmm, I love peanut sauce, the spicier the better. this looks delicious!

    Reply

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 18:45:54

    You had me a Spicy…. :)

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:16:14

    I LOVE SPICY PEANUT SAUCE!!!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:33:18

      It’s what I’m making and mailing for Christmas! Along with candied orange peel dredged in dark chocolate. Hope there’s some left of both by the time mailing comes around!

      OH, crap. I shoulda mailed already! But it is the Christmas SEASON, so I have lots of (legal) time!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

