Saturday Sharesday

Note from the Editor who has a better memory than the writer:  the inspiration for this idea came from reading Kathy’s post, Blogging: The Christmas Gift that Keeps on Giving.   _________Back to our program…… ________

Lots of those blogging awards out there, huh?  “Award” may be not the best noun to use, but at the moment I don’t have a good suggestion.  Something along the lines of a Progressive Supper, where we move from house to house snacking on good food and getting to take away leftovers to enjoy later!

The point of the awards seems to me to be to pass the word about blogs discovered.  (It may also be about advertising WordPress, but I’m a little older and cynical now.  Don’t you wonder why they give this capability for free?  Ah, digression.)  Perhaps we could keep the intent and try:

Saturday Sharesday!

Wherein we bloggers who love to share our discoveries take a moment on a Saturday (or whenever–the days were named a long time ago and the gods maybe won’t mess with us too much if we post on Thor’s Day instead of Saturn’s Day!   And here’s a shocker:  not everyone in the world has the same names for the days!).  I digress.  As usual.

Just link to a blog you’ve discovered–no other requirements.  Do several or 1 or 100!  (It doesn’t have to be a WordPress blog!  Gasp!)

Or, share a funny cartoon!  (Which is my favorite, I confess!)

Or, just make a note of the many places your discovered bloggers live:  international enlightenment.

Or, change your blog’s language to a different language and see what happens!   I’m trying to imagine the hilarious translations!

Think of it this way:   circulating good writing and pictures is good for the world.   And it’s a mighty small world and it needs continued help.

I’ll start (and may be the only one, but heck I’m used to dancing by myself!).  They live in the US, Republic of Ireland, and Canada!

Tranquil Space Designs:  cards with personality, some with painful, funny puns!

Dummy Zero’s Blogpad:  Dedicated to the Flash of Original Genius from Creative Thinkers, Entrepreneurs, Inventors, and Tinkerers.   Time to hear the truth about the For Dummies book concept.

That Is Priceless:  Art’s Greatest Masterpieces, Made Slightly Funnier

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 11:52:32

    Ahhh – you mentioned me again! Thank you! But now I’m confused….Is this an award you’ve started, or been given already?
    Again, some new material to research – you must read a whole lotta blogs!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 12:15:11

      Nah, no award or anythin’, just a suggestion for us bloggers to share the wealth–without having to receive an “award” to get our bums in gear and SHARE! >:-D

      (It was all very clear in my head. sigh…. !!)

      Reply

    • minlit
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 13:51:09

      Ahhhhhhh (this time of light switch going on). Ok, I’m mildly hungover for the first time in a century or so, so bit slow off the blocks today. Normal service will resume shortly. Yes, I think it’s a great idea too. I will follow suit first moment I have time.
      D

      Reply

      • lahgitana
        Dec 03, 2011 @ 15:36:04

        hungover?! hee hee. gee, I cannot remember the last time…. however, if I get too tired, I feel hungover. not nice.

        The Big Mister just suggested adding some apple jack, which he didn’t make himself because that would be illegal in the US, ahem, to the apple cider simmering on the stove!

        Do I have time to run to the whiskey store before I go out to the workshop?

        Reply

  2. nadbugs
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 15:49:58

    Dadgummit, Lahg, I keep trying to subscribe and keep getting thwarted somehow! You are not showing up in my inbox, how about that! I could have missed this, and not thanked you! That would have been very bad! The only reason I got here this time was because you showed up on mine! THANK YOU!! I am buried in work at the moment but I like the way you think and I will attempt to scrape together some time for this worthy project you propose. Next Shrove Tuesday, maybe. Hey you know what? Forget the apple cider. I need me some scrumpie. Never had it? It’s LETHAL.

    Reply

  3. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 16:57:48

    Wow, thanks for the shout-out! Love this idea for Saturday. Another blog I love is called Munira’s Bubble–link on my blogroll. Munira is from Pakistan–incredible artist, fun posts, great person.
    Kathy

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 17:31:33

      You’re welcome. It was such a great post, the way you wanted to share that I knew I had to continue that! Too bad my brain forgot the source there for a minute!

      I will go check Munira’s Bubble.

      One day, we’ll all have a giant party. I’m just sayin’!

      Reply

  4. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 18:42:32

    Lahgitana I got her too late tonight and I think this is a great idea but like minlit I am a little foggy and need to get off this computer. My eyelids feel like bricks. But first I want to thank you so much for including my little old blog :) My poor blog suffers with my procrastination and inconsistent posting. So this would be Saturday Sharesday-I like it and easy enough to do on Saturday morning.

    Reply

  5. IsobelandCat
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 09:59:48

    Nice idea. Finding new blogs is always interesting.

    Reply

  6. littlemiao
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 17:43:35

    Awww, the Miaos thank you for the mention. This is a nice way to share new discoveries. :D

    Reply

  7. Sharon
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:18:56

    There’s so much love in the air! Thank you very much my dear. You’ve been one of my biggest supporters since the beginning! XO

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 14:35:16

      Lovely, Sharon!

      I believe in the interconnectedness of all things, so I figure that the more positive and supportive stuff that goes on, the better for the Universe! (Esp. Earth that needs a whole lotta love!)

      Reply

  8. Trackback: inspiration is all around us « Rockin' the Purple!

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

