Total Eclipse of the Moon

Save the date:  10 Dec 2011!

A whole bunch of us Earthlings will be able to see this lunar eclipse.  (Oh crap, unless you live in the damn cloudy Pacific Northwest, US of A.)

Here’s a fun factoid sheet:  lunar eclipse.

I’m a weirdsmobile and proud of it!

Total Eclipse of the Moon – NASA Science.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 13:56:44

    Oh, wow, I love an eclipse. I will save the date!
    Kathy

    Reply

  2. littlemiao
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 16:52:40

    I don’t want to miss it! Hoping for clear skies…

    Reply

  3. sweetdaysundertheoaks
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 06:05:12

    Have to eat some breakfast, but I am going to check it out! Hope you are able to see it!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 07:30:05

      The PDF is amusing to me because the NASA folks just knew there were geeks out there who would at least look at the pretty graphics!

      Are you likely to have clear skies in mid-December?

      Reply

  4. heretherebespiders
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 10:34:04

    Looks like we will see about the same amount of eclipse – I’m exactly on the U4 line. Should be pretty dark by then too.

    Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 15:45:42

    Thanks! Yes, I’m off to bed now, it is pumpkin time :(

    Poof!

    Dammit! I waited too long, how the hell am I to get up those stairs…

    Reply

  6. nadbugs
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 15:57:21

    Super-cool! Thanks for the heads-up. Dar. Literally. Oh well, I amuse myself at any rate.

    Reply

  7. Deborah the Closet Monster
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 19:58:44

    I hail from Eugene, Oregon, so I remember many any evening where I’d wait for an eclipse or meteor shower only to see . . . rain. In my eyeballs. (Now I get a lovely sheet of smog instead–woo-hoo!)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 20:12:19

      Hi! Welcome! So pleased you stopped by!

      Yep, we’ve had clear weather at night for a few nights, but surely by the 10th, the perverse weather will reappear and make me grumble. That’s what NASA-TV is for, though!

      Reply

  8. Sandy
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 00:20:17

    I’m in eastern Washington so will be crossing my fingers. I hated missing recent aurora sightings, so maybe will be lucky!

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 06:35:48

      I hope you do get to see the eclipse! I miss the celestial phenomena that I was usually able to see so easily in wintertime Alaska. Summer, with all the light, was a wash!

      Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

