turns out, Christmas is near

Thank you, retailers, for putting out Christmas decorations back in October.  I might otherwise have forgotten that Christmas is coming.    Grrrrrr….

In the car, pressing that steering wheel-mounted button that changes radio stations.  (Now, if that ain’t a miracle of technology!!)

Accidentally land on the “easy listening” station.

Someone is singing in that laid-back, gonna-lull-you-into-listening way:

Angels we have heard on high,
Singing sweetly through the night...”

Me:  “Jesus Christ!

Me:  “hahahahahhahahahahaa [realizing unintentional pun] hahahahahaha I’m hilarious!

© No Stealing!  That’s what the little c in the circle means!
© lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to lahgitana and Rockin’ the Purple with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minlit
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:32:20

    L, did you write this earlier and forget to post it? You do know we’re nearly at the end of Nov, don’t you? Lost month? I hate premature retail Christmas too…

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:37:07

      D–No, just reliving the idiocy of October… But it’s fair to wonder if I’ve lost a month!

      I have a memory story to add from last weekend, that weekend I was bemoaning my forgetting of Irish history. But first I have to go shopping for Thanksgiving foodstuffs–this Hallmark holiday kind of snuck up on us. Will not buy lettuce–in your honor!

      Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 08:22:36

      (Thanks for your questions–my editor added one tiny word that should clear that up!)

      Reply

  2. nadbugs
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:44:48

    I want you guys to taste some lettuce my friend just picked out of the ground and gave me. It has dark red ruffles on top, fade to spring green at the stem. It is — heavenly. I repose in excellent saladness, in your honor.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 08:21:10

      Minlit states clearly that she doesn’t like lettuce! (Have you seen her statement?)

      I love lettuce! How did you get lettuce out of the ground in November???!!!

      Reply

    • minlit
      Nov 23, 2011 @ 14:28:23

      Despite the insanity below, I’d probably like your lettuce. Is it lollo rosso? I have been known to eat that in a squeeze.

      Reply

  3. heretherebespiders
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 12:14:48

    We don’t even have Thanksgiving as a break between Halloween and Christmas, so we’ve been bombarded starting in September. Yuck.

    Reply

  4. minlit
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 13:41:23

    Lettuce not get carried away with talk of like and dislike. Spray, listen to my case and it may leaf you better informed:
    I like leaves – lamb’s leaf, herbs, rocket.
    Lettuce….It’s a bit like anchovies. I’ll probably like it when I’m a grown up. Esp Iceberg

    Reply

  5. heretherebespiders
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 14:30:33

    Yes, now that we’ve been insalted and all. Sniffle.

    Reply

  6. lahgitana
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 08:59:35

    Spiders: I cry “Uncle!” You and minlit are killin’ me!

    Reply

  7. minlit
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 09:29:48

    anyone who dies laughing is just collateral damage – friendly fire.

    Reply

  8. heretherebespiders
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:26:50

    Hahah! Punning was a family affair at my house. After dinner we’d pick a theme and run with it. Being the youngest, mine were always the weakest. I have to try to make up for it now :)

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 12:34:48

      we punned about everything too, but we weren’t as organized as you!

      Reply

    • minlit
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 12:55:34

      Huh, it wasn’t really given much credence as a skill where I came from, but I did it anyway, and now, well, I make a living at it! So I can never go home ;)
      PS Happy American Big Holiday!

      Reply

      • lahgitana
        Nov 24, 2011 @ 13:01:53

        Hey! How’d you get to be PAID to pun?! (Oh yeah, your great cards!) I need a job and I’d be good at that!

        I often muse about my ability to shelve part of me when I’m doing editing of technical stuff. It’s like holding my breath… for years…. Mosaics is better and the gooshiness of cement is even better!

        Do I have to be gracious about the well wishes for the Big Holiday?! Yes. You nailed it: ANOTHER American Big Holiday. Happy to you for missing it!

        Have you heard of Black Friday from over here?

        Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

