please help: geography deficient

Why is Ireland listed this way on the BBC website?  Please splain to me!  Unless it’s a long story and I should do my own damn research!

UK News

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 17:53:47

    It says “Northern Ireland,” as it is not referring to the country of Ireland. Northern Ireland is part of Great Brittain, as opposed to the Republic of Ireland to the south, which is a separate country. At least, this is my understanding. Maybe someone else knows better than I.
    Kathy

    Reply

  2. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 17:54:37

    Sorry. I meant to subscribe to the follow-up comments, but forgot.

    Reply

  3. minlit
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 00:10:21

    Yip. Kathy’s right. Northern Ireland aka The North aka The Six Counties aka Not There (Where I live now, though I’m from the other part – the Republic of Ireland aka The South aka The Free State aka Mexico), is a country within the United Kingdom of Great Britain. Has caused lots of problems over the years. Too many dead people. The separation came in the early 1920s as a concession in the Irish demand for independence from the UK. Northern Ireland (counties Fermanagh, Antrim, Tyrone, Down, Armagh and Derry / Londonderry) , which had a denser Protestant population and a far better economy, was retained by the UK and the rest of the island became what is now known as The Republic.

    Reply

    • lahgitana
      Nov 19, 2011 @ 08:37:11

      ruh-roh, Reorge–gonna have to get my atlas and put it next to your response. It turns out I AM one of those Americans who knows next to nothing about other places.

      Is it just me, or does that all sound crazy-making?!

      Reply

      • minlit
        Nov 19, 2011 @ 08:46:27

        …you have NO idea.
        The mind boggles. It’s a very peculiar place, NI. They’ve had several generations tainted by a deep seated sectarianism, and they’re so insular they thing the world actually gives a..feic. Basically, Bill Clinton did his best with them, and it has been better since that whole campaign, but it still defies belief that people can hate and kill each other for such banal reasons. Still, look at me – an atheist from the catholic south married to a capitalist atheist from the protestant far north (The further north you go, the worse it gets – think it might be to do with the shorter days in winter….) with two kids and five cats who don’t know the meaning of the words catholic or protestant. Entropy. The universal solution. ;)

        Reply

  4. minlit
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 00:34:57

    Also, if you want Republic of Ireland news, you need to look at RTE, the national channel. I can’t recommend it. Enough.

    Reply

  5. lahgitana
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:00:04

    Oh dear. I’m having another “brain was reset when I wasn’t looking” moment. I grew up in the 60s and 70s and paid much attention to the violence in that corner of the world. That very violence informed my beliefs about religions…. So, at one time, I KNEW all this.

    I think I’ll go worry myself to death about this HUGE brain lapse. This isn’t right–I’m only 54.

    Thank you for details–I shall re-educate myself. sigh…. (and thanks for telling me about being an atheist! whew!)

    Reply

  6. heretherebespiders
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:00:18

    I drove up to Derry to buy my Siamese, (because you couldnt get one down here) and the estate I drove into had red white and blue curbs and the red hand flags…I was more than a little nervous in my Mayo reg Mini! It is a huge mess, and it breaks my head too, to think about all these people killing each other over religion and land in this day and age. I just watched a documentary on the Shankill Butchers – truth more horrifying than fiction.

    Reply

    • minlit
      Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:21:21

      Brian watched that. I’m glad I missed it – I can’t take that kind of thing.

      Reply

      • heretherebespiders
        Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:28:01

        I don’t mind gore, so I watch. I also feel the need to educate myself about these things. Of course, anything we watch will likely be shaded toward the republican side as the hubby’s family took some abuse back in the day.

        Reply

        • minlit
          Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:31:30

          Luckily, I’ve never known any involvement at any level. Prior to school age, I wondered should I send the kids to an integrated school, but then I realised that was for people who considered it important….

          Reply

  7. heretherebespiders
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 09:58:04

    Got me. I do know if anyone said my car was a ‘Protestant cat’ they’d get one hell of a lecture. Stolen from Dawkins, of course :)

    Reply

  8. Kathryn McCullough
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 11:31:33

    Lordy, lordy–some serious conversation I’ve miseed here today. I’m 49, and my memory is failing, as well. I’m not an athiest, but my religiously fanatical family (Christian) probably thinks I am, by comparison–raging leftist liberal that I am.
    Kathy

    Reply

  9. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 14:03:16

    Looks like everyone else pretty much nailed the answer.

    Reply

Go ahead! Share!

Creative Commons License

